Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com toystl17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 149 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 203 reviews
on May 8, 2015
I loved this movie as a young teenager growing up in the midwest and when I moved to Los Angeles for college in 1980, I made it a point to go dancing at the famous disco called "Oskos" where the movie T.G.I.F. was filmed! Those were the best days, and it was fun to go back in time and see how innocent Los Angeles was...with less traffic, and cars that were actually made out of steel that didn't buckle, hence (the dance scene with Chick Vennera outside of the disco on top of the cars). It was also fun to see a few rising stars before they became mega stars - Jeff Glodblum and Debra Winger. Also seeing two stars from the film Car Wash, Mr. Ray Vitte, who played the DJ Bobby Speed and Mr. Otis Day who played Floyd. But the biggest draw of this film was seeing Ms. Donna Summer! I grew up on her music and loved her performances throughout her life. I actually had a chance to meet both her and her husband at the Hollywood bookstore "Book Soup" for her book signing where the line was around the block! Fortunately, some guys let me cheat in line and I moved from the end of the line to the very front of the line and got her autograph! I was so sad when she passed away, but glad to have had the chance to enjoy her music while she was alive. Finally I'd like to say that this film although a bit corny, is super fun to watch and defines the early 1980's for those who are curious to see why we dressed in polyester and teased our hair so big!! Thank you for allowing me to share!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2016
This movie was like Saturday Night Fever but without the drug or sex references; Donna Summer was great as the singer who wanted to be discovered but this movie makes me forget the world of today and I can be transported back to the "Me Decade" of the Seventies! I liked Disco music and all the actors looked out of place; Terri Nunn was at the disco even though she was under-aged and the acting left something to be desired! It was "okay"! RIP Miss Donna Summer, Queen of Disco!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2017
The setting is the Zoo, a Los Angeles discotheque, and everything in the movie happens either in or around the Zoo in the space of a few hours on a Friday night.

Enjoyed the fun characters and classic dance music. Takes you back in time and you feel like you are part of the zaniness taking place in the disco. Cheesy 70's fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
This is not a great movie truth be told. However, it is an interesting look at the styles and themes popular in the late 70s. For those who were not alive, the clothing and styles in this movie are very representative of the disco style. The music is good, and there are a few genuine laughs. Cinema buffs will find it interesting to see Jeff Goldblum and Debra Winger before they were stars.

As long as you go in without high expectations, and you are looking for mild entertainment, the 70s style is worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
One of my favorites of the era! Jeff Goldblum is on target and does the perfect job of playing a sleezey night club owner and kept me laughing. The music is great and the show moves at a decent pace to keep the viewer's interest...unlike many disco themed movies of the time. There are some groaner jokes and situations but for the most part, this movie is super fun to watch. And of course Donna Summer! and The Commodores!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
I was very active in the Disco scene back in the late 70s, and early 80s. I had the clothes, shoes, and even a afro. This movie comes closer to capturing the way it really was, more than any other movie. I hear the same kind of music now, but it's called something else. The days of Disco were a fun time. People dressed up and danced, danced , and just had fun. I lived for it at that time, and this movie brings back a lot of fond memories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
My second most favorite disco movie. The laughs are classic, and the up and coming stars in it were nice to see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
GLORIOUS AND STAR STUDDED... JUST FUN
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
A wonderful story set in the disco era of the 1970's which stars a young Donna Summer as a struggling singer trying to get a foothold in the magical era of dance music. Her performance of one of her greatest hits of all time, Last Dance, is a gem!!!! She is young and beautiful here and NOT to be missed. She is gone now, but this movie will always stand as a watermark for her great talent. And besides that, it's just a FUN movie which is authentic in its portrayal of the 70's dance era.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse