Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Thank You
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 13, 2003
If you are a passing fan and you just want the radio hits, this collection is one of the best of the MANY compilations competing for the boost from the 2003 holiday season sales. Unlike many of the rest though, the casual fan gets ALL the biggest radio hits (unlike Pearl Jam's 'Lost Dogs' or Tori Amos' 'Tales of Librarian') with no filler (unlike Peter Gabriel's 'Hit').
Serious fans will quibble about the song choices, as greatest hits does not equal best songs. (e.g., Only one song from "Shrangri-La"?!) But with any good band, reasonable ears/minds will differ, and besides, we make our own compilations anyway. Still, even for hardcore fans, there IS the decent new song, a harder edge tune titled "All in the Suit that You Wear", and the acoustic version of "Plush" from MTV Headbanger's Ball-1992 (which was a minor radio hit in an of itself).
I used to loathe this band back in 1992, when it seemed like they were just Johnny-come-latelies of Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Soudgarden, but I came to respect them more after I learned a little bit about the grunge scene (i.e., all the sonic similarities existed before any of these bands hit big). Plus I just can't get "Big Bang Baby" out of my head, and those chord changes on "Plush" and "Interstate Love Song" are truly infectious.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2005
4.5 stars

Stone Temple Pilots certainly proved all their detractors wrong. Initially written off as nothing but Pearl Jam clones, Stone Temple Pilots proved to be one of the most creative and vital forces throughout the 1990s. Although they borrowed from the Seattle soundbook with their debut "Core" (1992), they found their own sound with subsequent albums. STP never stagnated or suffered a creative bust. They always put out quality albums. STP was always mixing it up with each new release. All five of their albums had their own unique sound and vibe. As previously stated, "Core" was the most grunge sounding album in the STP catalog. It was grunge music made as arena rock. "Purple" (1994) was more refined and the songs were more skillfully crafted. "Tiny Music...Songs from the Vatican Gift Shop" (1996) eschewed the grunge style of the earlier albums, and instead opted for retro, 70s glam meets 90s modern rock. "No4" (1999) was a combination of the first three albums, and was also somewhat more rough-around-the-edges. The highly underrated "Shangri-La-Dee-Da" (2001) was a more refined, polished follow-up.

The greatest hits album "Thank You," is flawed, but great nonetheless. If you listened to modern rock radio throughout the 90s, you will undoubtedly be familiar with all these songs, as they were all radio staples, and remain so to this day. By listening to this album, you will see why STP was one of the best rock bands of the 1990s. They just wrote killer, killer catchy songs with infectious hooks. This CD is really a comprehensive overview of all their radio-hits. This compilation does an excellent job of representing the bands first three albums.

The problem with "Thank You" is its treatment of the last two STP albums "No4," and "Shangri-La-Dee-Da." As STP rolled on through the late 90s and early 00s, their music always stayed consistently good, and these are two great albums, but they are underrepresented on "Thank You." Only two songs from "No4" and one song from "Shangri-La-Dee-Da" are included.

"Thank You" serves as a greatest hits, as opposed to a best-of. The problem is that a lot of their best songs from the later day albums were not huge radio staples, and were not hits, but were great nonetheless. A CD can hold 80 minutes of music, but this CD holds only 60. About four additional songs from the last two albums should have been included (five, if they left off the acoustic version of "Plush" which was a cool rendition, but a waste of space). It would have been a great way for fans of the earlier albums to get into the later day stuff. "Heaven & Hot Rods" from "No4" should have been included, as should have "Too Cool Queenie" and "Hello, it's Late" from "Shangri La Dee Da."

A real comprehensive best-of album from Stone Temple Pilots would really need to be two CDs in length, with not only the radio hits, but also essential album cuts from all five albums. In addition, it should include the awesome cover of Led Zeppelin's "Dancing Days" and the Beatles "Revolution."

Apart from these faults, this is still a great compilation. "All in the Suit that you Wear" (recorded in 2002) is a great song, unavailable elsewhere and should please fans of the band. If you don't own any STP albums, this is a good place to start. But then I'd still check out some of the later day albums.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2005
The music disc get 4.5 stars. The DVD section gets the full 5 stars.

Stone Temple Pilots certainly proved all their detractors wrong. Initially written off as nothing but Pearl Jam clones, Stone Temple Pilots proved to be one of the most creative and vital forces throughout the 1990s. Although they borrowed from the Seattle soundbook with their debut "Core" (1992), they found their own sound with subsequent albums. STP never stagnated or suffered a creative bust. They always put out quality albums. STP was always mixing it up with each new release. All five of their albums had their own unique sound and vibe. As previously stated, "Core" was the most grunge sounding album in the STP catalog. It was grunge music made as arena rock. "Purple" (1994) was more refined and the songs were more skillfully crafted. "Tiny Music...Songs from the Vatican Gift Shop" (1996) eschewed the grunge style of the earlier albums, and instead opted for retro, 70s glam meets 90s modern rock. "No4" (1999) was a combination of the first three albums, and was also somewhat more rough-around-the-edges. The highly underrated "Shangri-La-Dee-Da" (2001) was a more refined, polished follow-up.

The greatest hits album "Thank You," is flawed, but great nonetheless. If you listened to modern rock radio throughout the 90s, you will undoubtedly be familiar with all these songs, as they were all radio staples, and remain so to this day. By listening to this album, you will see why STP was one of the best rock bands of the 1990s. They just wrote killer, killer catchy songs with infectious hooks. This CD is really a comprehensive overview of all their radio-hits. This compilation does an excellent job of representing the bands first three albums.

The problem with "Thank You" is its treatment of the last two STP albums "No4," and "Shangri-La-Dee-Da." As STP rolled on through the late 90s and early 00s, their music always stayed consistently good, and these are two great albums, but they are underrepresented on "Thank You." Only two songs from "No4" and one song from "Shangri-La-Dee-Da" are included.

"Thank You" serves as a greatest hits, as opposed to a best-of. The problem is that a lot of their best songs from the later day albums were not huge radio staples, and were not hits, but were great nonetheless. A CD can hold 80 minutes of music, but this CD holds only 60. About four additional songs from the last two albums should have been included (five, if they left off the acoustic version of "Plush" which was a cool rendition, but a waste of space). It would have been a great way for fans of the earlier albums to get into the later day stuff. "Heaven & Hot Rods" from "No4" should have been included, as should have "Too Cool Queenie" and "Hello, it's Late" from "Shangri La Dee Da."

A real comprehensive best-of album from Stone Temple Pilots would really need to be two CDs in length, with not only the radio hits, but also essential album cuts from all five albums. In addition, it should include the awesome cover of Led Zeppelin's "Dancing Days" and the Beatles "Revolution."

Apart from these faults, this is still a great compilation. "All in the Suit that you Wear" (recorded in 2002) is a great song, unavailable elsewhere and should please fans of the band. If you don't own any STP albums, this is a good place to start. But then I'd still check out some of the later day albums.

As for the DVD, you really could not ask for anything more. It's three hours of all live performances, (some professional, some bootlegs, all awesome), and all their music videos. And unlike the CD, their whole career is given a comprehensive overview.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2003
I'll just start off by saying that I have every STP CD there is. I've been a fan for a long time, but when I found out they were coming out with a greatest hits CD, I had doubts. The CD isn't as great as a greatest hits should be, and it definately is not a list of their best songs. When I found out that their would be a special bonus DVD, I almost fainted. I have been waiting for a good Stone Temple Pilots DVD for as long as I can remember. The fact is, this is the best bonus DVD I have ever come across. Three hours of music videos, live concerts and bootleg video is all that I could ever ask for. It's a great buy for someone looking for an awesome DVD. If your going to just buy the CD, then I recommend saving your money and buying them all, because thats the only way you'll get a true dose of STP.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2003
The CD/DVD set of "Thank You" was a tremendous way to exit the scene for Stone Temple Pilots. Its intention was for the guys to give one last gift back to the fans on their way out the door, and it really does just that. The CD is a terriffic compilation of the band's A-side singles, and the DVD has over three hours of incredible live footage, a photo gallery, as well as most all of the original music videos for the "Thank You" compilation of songs. This really is a classy effort by the band, and a great way for the fans to remember them. This is truly a must-have for not only any STP fan, but any early 90s glam rock fan as well. A+++
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2003
Finally, an STP best-of and DVD all in the same package!!!!! OK, first of all, the best-of CD is really good, but at 15 tracks and only 58 minutes (in non-chronological order), it could have included more tracks, so here's what I would have put instead:
1. Plush
2. Sex Type Thing
3. Wicked Garden
4. Creep
5. Crackerman
6. Vasoline
7. Interstate Love Song
8. Big Empty
9. Unglued
10. Pretty Penny
11. Dancing Days (Led Zeppelin tribute album cover)
12. Big Bang Baby
13. Lady Picture Show
14. Trippin' On A Hole In A Paper Heart
15. Down
16. Sour Girl
17. Days Of The Week
18. Hollywood B***h
19. Revolution (Beatles cover & 9/11 charity single)
20. All In The Suit That You Wear (new track)
21. Plush (acoustic version)
However, the DVD ROCKS!!!!! With 3 hours worth of music videos, live performances, bootleg footage shot by friends and family of the band and other material, the DVD makes this a 5-star set!!!!!
(P.S. - check out the video for "Sour Girl"...it has Sarah Michelle Gellar - from TV's 'BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER', for those who don't know - on it!!!!! Mmm, BUFFY!!!!!)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2005
Stone Temple Pilots were nimble rock craftsmen. They tasted the peaks of success, and they also tasted the valleys of trouble. Selling nearly 30 millions albums worldwide, Stone Temple Pilots certainly dented a niche for themselves in the rock world. They were tagged by critics and dismissed as "Seattle wanna-be's". But they survived and won over massive followings, and while there are still people out there who don't like them, they don't matter (just like the people who don't like Cannibal Corpse, so what?) because the fans matter most to the band. THANK YOU is a retrospective that, while not perfect, contains some really good songs and a bonus dvd with over 3 hours of music videos, live footage, bootleg footage, and much more. It makes the tracklisting on the disc portion forgivable.

On the plus side of this collection, you get the big hits here like the majestic roar of "Plush"; the acoustic crawl of "Creep"; the terrific drive song "Interstate Love Song"; and even the powerful and mighty "Big Empty". Most of the great songs are included on here, but then there's the cons of the collection. Missing from the selections: the riff monster "Dead & Bloated"; the thrashing "Unglued"; the full-throttle stomp of "Heaven & Hot Rods"; and the terrific cover of Led Zeppelin's "Dancing Days". Even a song like "Tumble In The Rough" should be on here, but so should "Pretty Penny". Anyways, you get the picture. This does not encompass all their best songs, but it certainly contains a number of their big hits.

The DVD portion is an STP fans dream. You get all the videos, tons of concert footage, and bootleg performances that are mostly decent in quality. It's worth the price of this set alone. You should set aside three hours and more to sift through the excellent DVD that's been included here.

THANK YOU isn't the best "greatest hits" to grace music stores, but it certainly is a solid collection. While leaving off some really good songs that would have easily fit in (the disc is only 58 minutes long), the companion DVD is phenomenal. THANK YOU is a fond and memorable farewell to fans who, for more than 10 years, were intrigued, enchanted by, and rocked their heads off to these four rock stars from southern California.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2003
Has it really been over a decade since the debut album of Stone Temple Pilots? I remember when these guys got roasted by critics for jumping on the grunge bandwagon and for allegedly ripping off Pearl Jam. But I always believed that STP got a bad rap and was truly a good band that never got the respect they deserved. Over the years, the Pilots were able to fight back their haters by releasing a string of five solid studio albums, all of which have gotten either gold or platinum. "Thank You" is a compilation of singles from those CDs, and it's a great snapshot of the very best of STP. I, for one, am thrilled that this CD contains the acoustic version of "Plush," which I always thought was far superior to the original. Other standouts are "Vasoline," the sing-a-long groove of "Lady Picture Show," the catchy "Days of the Week" and "Sour Girl." It's an hour's worth of power glam rock with Scott Weiland singing with all the charisma of a funky cross between Bowie, Iggy Pop, and Jim Morrison. "Thank You" is also available as a limited edition release with a bonus DVD featuring a very generous 3 hours worth of music videos, live performances, and other goodies. Fans can get the CD without the DVD if they choose, but they would only be cheating themselves. In my opinion, it's worth forking out the extra cash for the DVD, which, by the way, presents the music in a solid 5.1 surround sound. With Weiland having just started his latest project Velvet Revolver, it's not certain when (or if) Stone Temple Pilots will regroup. In any case, "Thank You" is a worthy compilation from one of the most energetic rock bands of the 1990s.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2004
If this is the last STP album ever, it's a great way to go out. It's pretty much like your standard Greatest Hits compilation, all of the hit singles put on one disc. Add in the unreleased track "All in the Suit That You Wear" (which I heard was originally supposed to be on the Spider-man soundtrack) and you have yourself a great disc. STP is truly one of the most underrated bands to come out of the 90s. They suffered through all the early critic bashing of being Pearl Jam clones (which I NEVER understood since they sound so different) and survived Scott's drug problem to put out 5 solid studio albums. STP has been a favorite band of mine since the beginning, and I am a bit upset at the possible end of the band since Velvet Revolver seems to be doing quite well. For those of you out there who have really only seen Scott's work with VR, then this cd is for you to get a good look on the band that started it all for Scott. But you shouldn't stop there, because this cd only skims the surface of the STP collection. Each of the other 5 releases are great albums and I enjoy listening to everyone of them. Here's to hoping that someday STP will reunite and put out another studio album!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
I recently saw a STP tribute band and forgot how much I loved Stone Temple Pilots. When I went to my music library to create a playlist, I realized my STP collection was lacking a bit. Thank You got me up to speed and then some. The acoustic version of Plush was the big selling point for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.99
$4.99
$9.99

Need customer service? Click here