Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The 100-Year-Old Secret (Sherlock Files)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
36
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2012
Purchased this as one of a group of books requested by a 10 year old. She finished it in a few hours and was very dissapointed as she felt it was written for much younger kids and boring. I looked at it myself and have to agree that there is no challenge here; might be good to read with your children from ages 4 to 8 - I agree that anyone older would be bored. The writing is decent, but the book stoops down instead of challenging up - solutions to "mysteries" are easy and obvious. So definitely for the younger set. I would recommend the Enola Holmes mysteries by Nancy Springer as being infinitely superior to this for children 8 and up.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2009
This book is terrific! Mystery, adventure, history, and lots of fun characters. I can usually solve the mystery fairly early, but this one had me hooked to the end. I look forward to Barrett's next mystery!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2009
My neighbor's daughter includes Tracy Barrett in her list of all-time favorite authors, and THE 100-YEAR-OLD SECRET is a perfect example of why. Everything about this book - the characters, the premise, the setting, the mystery itself - made me remember how much I loved mysteries as a kid. If your child adores a good whodunnit, this is the perfect book for him/her.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 7, 2011
Whenever I read Encyclopedia Brown I think of those bathroom books - you know, the ones with the five minute mysteries and logic puzzles. I think the Brown books are great at introducing the idea of deductive reasoning, but because of their episodic nature they really don't work too well as sustained works of fiction. That's why my hat is off to Ms. Barrett for this series.

Think how hard it is to come up with a decent mystery, and reasonable characters, in a short book intended for younger readers. Well, these Sherlock Holmes Files books probably come as close to pulling that off as can be expected. The sibling protagonists are appealing, and the usual sibling rivalry/teasing is kept to a minimum. Secondary characters are stock, but fairly effective. Everyone is very cheerful and helpful, and clues do just sort of poke out here and there, but I'm not sure there's anything you can do about that. The Sherlock Holmes connection adds a nice dash of color, and the references to actual Holmes stories will probably amuse adults who are helping or are reading to the youngsters.

So, if your reader likes hidden secret type mysteries, or if you want to try one out, this is a perfectly fine place to start.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
This book is the first in a series of four that introduces a young reader to the Sir Arthur Conan Doyle mysteries of Sherlock Holmes via Sherlock's great great grandchildren, Xena and Xander. Although written at a preteen level, this book (as well as the other three sequels) is very well written and was enjoyed by a 73 year old grandpa who loved Sherlock Holmes mysteries as a kid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2014
My new favorite series! I've just read book #1 of The Sherlock Files, and I must say it is awesome. Tracy Barrett has made a way for the modern generation to connect to our favorite detective.

The modern-day descendants of Sherlock, a brother and sister sleuthing duo, Xander and Xena Holmes, are Americans going to England with their parents. Once there, they come into possession of Sherlock's casebook of unsolved mysteries. As any curious child would, these siblings embark on the adventure of a lifetime... following in their Great-Great-Great-Grandfather's footsteps and using modern tools and hindsight of history to locate clues and make their own sharp deductions. Even Watson's Great-Great-Great-Grandson is part of the hunt!

The book shows how children truly can be intelligent if they'll just use their brain. I love how the author incorporated "the game" of deciphering who or what a stranger is, just by taking in the clues. She truly capture the mental spirit of Holmes.

Recommended for young readers who enjoy a good mystery. Or for adults of any age who would like a fresh glimpse of Sherlock Holmes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2008
This fun and suspenseful whodunit is sure to delight readers!

When American twins Xena and Xander move to London, they learn they're direct descendants of the great detective Sherlock Holmes. After they're given his casebook of unresolved cases - complete with clues - the twins enter a surprising journey of mystery and intrigue that take them all over London and its suburbs.

Sherlock Holmes fans will appreciate how author Tracy Barrett masterfully weaves bits and pieces from the original Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle into her book.

I couldn't put this page-turner down! Complete with a quaint English village, Henry the Eighth's mansion, boarding schools, and numerous art galleries, this book will please thrill-seeking readers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2008
My daughter who is ten loves mysteries and she really enjoyed this book. She is looking forward to other books in the series.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I would have loved this book when I was a tween/teen but my kids thought the action was unrealistic and the characters too goody-goody. The story involves siblings Xena and Xander Holmes, who are visiting London with their parents; while there they discover that they are indeed descendants of Sherlock Holmes and they've inherited his book of unsolved cases. In this first outing they search for a missing painting and use deductive reasoning to discern its location. The mystery is interesting and the reasoning are plausible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A good mystery read - my daughter picked this up at the school library. Xena and Xander Holmes, an American brother and sister living in London for a year, discover when they are inducted into the Society for the Preservation of Famous Detectives that Sherlock Holmes was their great-great-great-grandfather.

This is an accelerated reader (AR) book. My kids have to read books and take AR test as a part of their reading grade so I'm always on the look out for a good AR book. AR RL: 4.4 - AR Pts: 4.0
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse