Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 188 reviews
on April 5, 2017
This is one of the masterpiece and game changer of movie history. It has a lot to say about many topics especially raising a kid. You can have a great insight about 50s life in western countries how it was not different from eastern cultures. Actors are great. Totally worth to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
This is a film that displays one boys defiance to protocol, he will not fit into a mold, he will try different things and innocently pursues his minds interest. He will not be held down by any guidelines pre-existing. There are hints to the causes of his behavior but ultimately I think he was born to be free! Nice capture of the innocence of defiance and the many explanations that can be attributed to behavior. Not just his, but all the characters surround him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
I have always loved this film. As a former caseworker in child welfare, I always empathized with this poor kid's behavior. Not receiving a hang of a lot of love or support at home, nor much care or encouragement either at home or school, he turns out more or less as the grownups 'predicted' he would, which is to say, how they 'created' him to be. So sad really. The story continues every day in every part of the world today, I saw it daily at my 12 years at ACS here in NY.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 24, 2014
Recently, I conducted an experiment where I watched three movies by great directors. I watched a Fellini movie, an Ingmar Bergman and a Francois Truffaut. The Ingmar was rather like reading Cormac McCarthy-great quality but sometimes difficult to understand and just plain sad. The Passion of Anna was bleak and depressing. 8 1/2 by Fellini seemed mad cap, zany, but good. I've read that one needs to view this movie multiple times to understand all the meaning inside the film. My favorite by far was The 400 Blows by Truffaut.

Truffaut brings his rough childhood to light in this tale of a young, misunderstood youth with a bad teacher and frustrated but removed parents. This is a survivor's tale with wonderful acting and a story you don't need to go to film school to understand. I read this is a trilogy staring the young man who plays Truffaut and you see Jean-Pierre Leaud grow up in these films which is quite a unique experiment. I look forward to watching the rest of the films. Truffaut has a very honest approach in this film which shows the innocence of youth being looked upon as bad character. This is a very, very good movie.

Jean-Pierre Leaud is brilliant in this movie-such talent for being so young. The backdrop of Paris is stunning throughout the movie. I could definitely watch this movie again and probably will-The Passion Of Anna, I don't know if I could stomach a second viewing.

I am thoroughly enjoying watching films from the masters of the world of cinema and I look forward to watching many more films by Truffaut.
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2016
This movie feels real! I do not want to ruin this movie for you by spoiling it. So I'll just say this. It is about a boy living with a poor family, and struggling with life, and he doesn't have any good influences by his parents or some of the kids. And soon he does get in trouble with the law!
You kinda have to be in a right mood for viewing this film! All in all, it is a very powerful movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
This may be my first taste of French Cinema, and it is off to a good start. This feels to me like a French version of Rebel without a Cause. The boy knows that the society he lives in, his parents, teachers, other boys, etc, are not the pillars of society that they may think they are. Rather he sees first hand the hypocritical nature they hold. As a boy who has had a rough childhood we feel sympathetic to his plight and are glad at the uplifting ending. He really is the only relatable and likable person in the movie. If Truffaut really had a childhood like this and wanted to make a movie that had a clear directors stamp on it he succeded greatly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2017
A deserved classic. One of the best fils ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2016
Great movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2017
Came in perfect condition. Exactly as expected. Plays beautifully. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
Great film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here