Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 685 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 946 reviews
on September 6, 2013
Errol Flynn's performance in the title role has thrilled audiences young and old for decades. His uninvited appearance at a dinner at Nottingham Castle honoring Prince John (Claude Rains) alone stands as one of the great entrance scenes of all time. As the outlaw Robin of Loxley, Flynn is brash, brave and loaded with charm, and despite his rather dainty costumes, he's a man's man. Because of these qualities, I think The Adventures of Robin Hood belongs among the movie classics for children -- particularly growing boys -- because it conveys important themes for them within the context of a fictional story. Yes, there was a King Richard the Lionhearted, and there was a Prince John, but there was no Robin Hood, and the lives of the real Richard and John turned out quite differently than portrayed here. This is no history - it's wish fulfillment, produced with all of the skills Hollywood's movie factory (in this case the Warner Brothers studio) possessed. It's the way you'd like things to turn out, which is why the story packs so much emotional punch when Richard finally returns to England. It's also a fine morality tale for children. There's heroism, humor, honor, courage and loyalty. There's also cruelty, deceit, cowardice, and treachery. It all shows without subtlety how good and evil people contend in this world. Set in England in the 10th century, the movie was shot entirely in California in glorious Technicolor, with a rousing score by Erich Wolfgang Korngold. Its look and energy remain undimmed, and Flynn's Robin Hood is the best ever. With his onscreen regulars Olivia de Havilland as Lady Marian, Basil Rathbone as Sir Guy of Gisbourne, and Alan Hale as Little John. Phil's Favorite 500: Loves of a Moviegoing Lifetime (2014 edition)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
I have loved this movie ever since it first came out in 1939 (?) Errol Flynn was my hero and as I recall, this movie was the introduction of Olivia de Haviland in starring roles. I believe she was around 18 or 19 when she made this movie. A great movie with a great supporting cast of Basil Rathbone, Alan Hale, Eugene Pallette and so many others. True to the quality of movies in those days this movie is suitable for all ages. No foul language, no nudity, and no open sex scenes. Just good and true entertainment!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2008
This 1938 TECHNICOLOR Classic is OUTSTANDING period!!!

The Standard DVD 2 Disc set is wonderful and if you have it with an up-converting DVD player it will give you near HD quality picture (480P)and sound for many years. This 65th Anniversary set is loaded with every extra including a day at the movies 1938 style with newsreel, cartoon and feature.

If you have a BLU-ray/HDMI home Theater System and want to know why buy a 1938 Standard Picture Movie NOW, here's the answer. This Blu-ray version includes everything exactly like the above 2 DVD set. BUT there is one unbelievable difference. THE FEATURES PRESENTATION (at 1080p if you have HDMI))AND SOUND (5.1) ARE TOTALLY INCREDIBLE. The clarity and sound are so fantastic it feels like you are there in the movie. Errol Flynn is young and quite alive for this enjoyable classic tale of Robin Hood.

Believe me the colors, detailed costumes, beautiful movie sets, brings the Technicolor to its best ever. This is a must have for your HD Blu-ray / HDMI Home Theater Library. A great family based film. Enjoy!!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2017
Wonderful classic movie to watch with your kids. Skip the gruesome updates of the Robin Hood tale by BBC and the like. Go to the source with this classic. It tells the tale with charm and humor and suspense and no unnecessary violence. Some worthy character lessons here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2017
This blu-ray is very well put together. Has excellent bonus features, the image and sound quality are great, and it was pretty inexpensive. I am so happy I am able to watch this classic in such fine reproduction. If you have never seen this movie please give it a shot, no other Robin Hood has been able to recreate the magic that this film has.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2010
Robin Hood -- In Like Flynn!

When I heard about the Russell Crowe version of Robin Hood, I recalled that there was an early version with Errol Flynn, the swashbuckler of the 1930s and wanted to check it out.

I have yet to see the Crowe version, but from the trailers I could see it was dark -- a freedom fighter who will stop at nothing for the freedom of his people -- we're talking Middle Ages Braveheart here.

Hey, how about accomplishing the same thing, but not be so damn serious about it? We're talking an all-star cast. The casting was just perfect. The Technicolor (this was new technology back in the day) is very good -- the reds are bright red, the greens are deep green, and so on.

And all the stories that we relate to Robin Hood are all here: the archery contest, the staff fight with Little John (played enthusiastically by Alan Hale, the father of the Gilligan's Island captain of the same name). Interestingly, Alan Hale played Little John in the silent film version AND the later 1950s version.

The DVD has all the stories and then some. The effeminate Prince John, played in a smarmy style by Claude Rains. Olivia deHalvilland plays the Maid Marion, who at first hates this interloper, but then recovers when she sees both Normans and Saxons being bled dry by Prince John.

I won't go deep into plot here. In short, a nobleman who was in good graces with King Richard (who went off on the Crusades and left Prince John in charge) is dismayed about what's happening to his countrymen. There is bad blood between the Normans and Saxons and to have a united Britain, Robin of Locksley feels he must intervene.

His lands are captured by the prince. The Sheriff of Nottingham is supposed to be the main antagonist but he is really there for comic relief. Basil Rathbone as Sir Guy, who is just as clever and just as devoted to his purpose as Robin, is excellent as the evil, angry nobleman. He likes his power and is not about to shirk it!

The swordplay is very good. The scene where Guy and Robin are jumping up and down staircases, slashing and parrying, it's just a marvel to behold. The actors were trained on sword fighting, so it was not the cut and wild swinging you will find in the silent film version.

The DVD is a masterpiece and will take hours to complete! Robin through the ages! Classic cartoons. The Robin Hood radio show from 1938. A synopsis of the film process Technicolor as told by Angela Lansberry. Outtakes from the film never shown!

There's just so much. Highly recommended!

OK, now where's that Russell Crowe version? Sigh.

Robin Hood and His Merry Sequels:

Robin Hood - Prince of Thieves (Two-Disc Special Extended Edition)
Robin Hood (Most Wanted Edition)
Robin Hood: Season One
Robin Hood [Blu-ray]
Robin Hood - Men in Tights
55 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
We've only watched this dvd about 12 times, lol! Very good. Amusing, colorful, good acting and safe to watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon July 31, 2009
The ultimate Errol Flynn swashbuckler. Olivia de Havilland in all her glory. A milestone in Technicolor photography. THE ADVENTURES OF ROBIN HOOD is all this and more. Based on the original Robin Hood ballads and stories, we follow Robin Hood (Errol Flynn) as he fights the corrupt rule of Prince John (Claude Rains) and Sir Guy (Basil Rathbone), and wins the fair hand of Lady Marian (Olivia de Havilland).

Warners originally intended ROBIN HOOD to be a vehicle for James Cagney, after he played Bottom in their all-star production of "A Midsummer Night's Dream" in 1935. When he later walked away from the studio following a dispute, the part went to virtual unknown Errol Flynn who'd scored a surprise critical and financial success in "Captain Blood" that same year. Olivia de Havilland, Flynn's "Captain Blood" leading lady, was reunited with him for what would be their second of eight wonderful co-starring assignments.

This is a movie that we really couldn't appreciate fully until the Blu-Ray release. The BD uncovers all the tiny details in sets and costumes, like the green crushed velvet of Errol Flynn's cape, the sheen on Basil Rathbone's blue satin collar; and the ruddy complexions of the actors. This is the exact same Ultra Resolution print that was seen in Warner's most recent double-disc Special Edition DVD set, but the upscaling to BD brings this masterpiece to life in a way that we have never really experienced before.

The stacked extras are identical to the standard Special Edition DVD release but are very worthwhile. Highlights include the TCM documentary "Glorious Technicolor" narrated by Angela Lansbury which charts the history of the greatest colour film photography system; and "Welcome to Sherwood!", an exhaustive documentary detailing the history and production of the ROBIN HOOD shoot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2017
I won't review the movie itself, just the DVD. After all, what can you say about such a classic movie? The DVD was well done. The colors were natural, the audio was clear, and the picture quality was excellent. I had the feelings that I was enjoying much the same experience as I might have if I were in a theater in 1938. This is a treasured part of my DVD collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
One of the great films of all time....My granddaughter (7 years old) went to a Renaissance Fair and came back with a replica bow and became Robin Hood this past Halloween. I visited her in Seattle on her birthday and had sent a DVD of this classic Hollywood film to her. When we visited Seattle we watched it and she loved the film and it prompted a lot of discussion. We watched it three times. Errol Flynn, Basil Rathbone and Claude Rains.....thanks for the memories......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$2.99

Need customer service? Click here