Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
122
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 80 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 122 reviews
This is a Great album it got critical acclaim but was only a moderate seller but a lot of bands debut releases are it definitely showed the greatness that was to come as a live band Gregg as the singer song writer and Duane as the leader! what these songs became as live numbers was great to take a song that's four minutes long and turn it in to a 20 min. jam when played live is great not to many bands can do something like that. The Grateful Dead & Led - Zeppelin are the only other two that I can think of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
The debut record from Georgia's finest, The Allman Brothers Band, is nothing short of a classic. Establishing their blues/country/rock hybrid sound, the band is on fire from the first note through the last. These mid-90's Capricorn remasters are definitely the best way to hear these recordings, too, so don't hesitate for a second the order one up. Perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2016
Great debut of the Allman Brothers!! It might not seem so relevant this late in the game, but when this one hit the streets I'm sure it was a game changer and helped pave the path we all know and call Southern Rock. I was a bit late discovering this album, but I think it's fairly easy to see and hear that it was a new sound at the tyme of it's release in 1969.

Not going to review each song, there are way too many other reviews here for you to get that, just saying this is a solid release and highly recommended!!

Free Hugs!!
Keep A Rockin' In The Free World!!
Be The Change You Wish The World Would Make!!

Outlaw X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2007
The Allman Brothers are one of those bands that I have "discovered" rather late in life. Years ago I worked in radio for a year and we were able to bring albums home from the station to borrow overnight if we wanted to listen to something. I remember borrowing "Eat A Peach" and "Enlightened Rouge" and thought they were both good, but it did not make we want to run out and buy a bunch of Allmans stuff. Over the past 10 years I have discovered a growing appreciation of blues based music and thus went back to re look at the Allmans. The result was basically falling in love with their material and I have since picked up much of their stuff. The first Allman Brothers album has to rank up there with the best debut albums of all time. The album contains classic after classic, "Not My Cross To Bear", "Don't Want You No More", "Trouble No More", "Dreams" and the band's most well known classic "Whipping Post" The album is solid all the way through and formed the blueprint of all that came after.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2017
A must have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
GREAT!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2016
Probably the most classic Allman Brothers band album - the one that led to their eventual fame. A great mix of rock and blues all backed by Duane's fantastic guitar and Greg's soulful singing at its best. The fidelity is a bit poor by today's standards but sure beats the hell out of my old album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
I'll admit that I am NOT a big fan of "southern rock music," if by that you mean Lynyrd Skynyrd, but this bluesy 1969 debut album by the Allman Brothers Band is superb, even hauntingly beautiful, filled with sadness, passion, and soul. The SACD version sounds excellent and is well worth the additional cost. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2017
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2016
Earliest ABB recording showing their raw blues/rock/soul sound with howling vocals and soaring guitar solos. They lead the way for other southern bands like Lynard Skynard. The sound quality is really how you want to hear this one: further refinement not needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.39
$8.99

Need customer service? Click here