Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 39 reviews
on December 22, 2015
One of the best history books for those seeking to understand the political and military concepts that led America into the modern world. There is simply no substitute for this book if you study military history. Starting at the Revolutionary War and continuing through Vietnam and the modern era's conflicts Wrigley examines the underpinnings of American thought on strategy and national interests. There are new insights on almost every page.

Very highly recommended!

AD2
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
The best account of US military history there is. A complete history written for the novice and the expert. Well written, interesting, and not at all like a colege professor's lecture. You will come away with an understanding of our military and our military actions you can get from no place else and it is very enjoyable to read. It will also give an insight into possible future military actions. It is cited in just about any and every book about military affairs andmilitary history written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Important book to US military history historiography, but I agree more with John Grenier.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2013
I did not find this all that coherent and consistent-- in several sections he seems to state his thesis and then counter it with his text. I also thought he seriously under/misestimated several of the important thinkers of our military history; Jacob Brown, Grant, Bradley, etc. At the same time the book was worthwhile for a number of specific insights not previously encountered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2004
The material on Washington's strategy during the Revolution was excellent and showed that he actually pursued a brilliant strategy. Likewise, the analysis of the Civil War convincingly contradicted what I had learned about Grant and Lee's strategic abilities during college. Weigley also wrote the first really good analysis of the strategy of World War II that I have read. He discusses Jomini, Mahan, and others who influenced American military strategy.

The only gripe I have about the book is that the discussion of American strategy in a nuclear world got into too much detail of budgets and bureaucracy. Also, the discussion of Vietnam is weak, but that can be excused since he did not have the advantage of highsight (the book being published in 1973).

Overall an excellent and thought-provoking study of the evolution of American military strategy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
Well written book on the military history of the US. The author not only explains the history but puts it in context that can be easilty understood by the reader.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
Very good work which traces the development of U.S. warfighting doctrine. The bibliography is a gold mine of hard-to-find works. This is a foundational text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
Purchased this book due to it being required for a class. The book was well written, easy to follow, and actually provided a thorough and interesting insight into the details surrounding the Civil War.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2014
Great product for the price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
This book is a classic that reveals more with age. Many of Weigley's key points have been overlooked in most reviews - both positive and negative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse