Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 82 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 212 reviews
"The Art of Deception" was recommended to me by an instructor teaching a CISSP prep class. It is both an enjoyable and informative read. Mitnik is the "real deal" in exploiting social engineering techniques and his books should be required reading by corporate security policy makers (and I am sure it is for many already).

This book illustrates various techniques for bypassing established corporate physical and information security security policies. I have actually inadvertently used some of these techniques when troubleshooting network issues or having forgotten my passcard to gain access to systems and rooms. It is often easier to bypass the rules than to go through the steps needed to obtain proper access and people are surprisingly willing to cooperate "just this one time".

This book will help you sensitize your employees to the risks of bypassing security policy and recognize when this might be occurring.

Highly recommended!

CFH
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2002
After reading it, the book makes one more aware of what to be careful when giving out information of any kind and how to protect yourself and your company's assets. I've heard alot of "Don't ever give out your id/password", "Always have firewalls on your network." One hardly ever hears about 'make sure you're giving information to someone who's supposed to have it'. There's tons of books on security with respect to technology but this is the first one I've seen that actually focuses on the weakest link when it comes to security - the human element.
All the firewalls and software can't prevent a social engineer from getting in if he/she knows justs how to act and/or what to say to get what they want. Reading the scenarios really opened my eyes. Theres a scenario where a social engineer pretended to be a manager of a video store. After enough talking to another employee at another branch, the social engineer was able to get enough information to obtain the credit card # of someone who owed money to the client the social engineer was hired by.
In reading the scenarios, I'd seen examples where I'd asked for the type of information described for perfectly legitimate reasons. I'd never imagined how someone could take just 1 or 2 pieces of information and create chaos for a person or a company. If you're in the IT industry, or work in any kind of customer service, you really need to pick up this book. This book doesn't bash people for being as helpful as they can be (team player, etc). He's just saying to be more aware of what's going on and when giving out any kind of information, being a little cautious doesn't hurt. As humans, we're not perfect to begin with, but a little awareness will make it just a little harder for that social engineer to get what they want.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2017
Ghost in the Wires is way better and ruins this book if read after.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
Very comprehensive and informational, Kevin knows his security and its scary in one respect that systems all have some way of being broken afterall they were designed by humans. I like how its written its captivating and uses lots of story lines to back up the topics of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 30, 2003
Kevin Mitnick has been arguably the most famous computer hacker out there. His story has been told by others in several books. But here Mitnick is not trying to really share his experiences - rather he calls upon his collection of acquaintances and others he knows to illustrate how people can be engineered. Most of the book is essentially a series of stories of social engineering (getting someone to do what you want without their realizing it) and then some superficial analysis of why it worked. He then tries to synthesize his earlier chapters into a set of practical security precautions, many of which are common sense, and most of which the reader would have already figured out from reading the book. The stories he chooses to share are fairly interesting, both in their daring and setup and in their simplicity. What this book would be best for would be handing it to a corporate manager and allow him or her a wake up call as to security. As we try to work together, have things automated and available on-line and as our organizations grow the catchword is results, even if you have to bend the rules a bit. This is what the social engineer can exploit. Many of the stories skate along the edge of the law, and Mitnick points out when it would cross into illegal. While interesting, after a while the book becomes more tedious in structure and what is being said. Still it is very accessible and would be a great book for someone not so familiar with computers and hacking to see how some of it is done. It should serve as a wake-up call for management as to some of the dangers we face every day. And while most of the stories presented are more in the spirit of curiosity, or fun, or revenge, it would be easy to take them up a notch into activities with serious corporate impact.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2002
This is the first book that I've read from cover to cover in close to 7 years. I could not put it down! Read it in 2 weeks, taking notes, evaluating the way I responded to calls at my companies help desk, reviewing some of the links mentioned in the book, etc., etc.,etc. This is one book that if you read it you will have the ability to better defend and better compromise anything and anyone, but if you don't read it you will eventually regret it because there is a wealth of information that I haven't found anywhere else. There are popular web links mentioned that I was shocked to find were still valid. The detail and instruction are immaculate and if you don't read it....simply put you are a foolish morron. Headlines should read, "Mitnick does it again with a simple Mitnick Message!". Kevin, you inspire me and I wish I had your knowledge and influence.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
Picked up this one to read about Social Engineering from a guy who used to wear a black hat. since it was written over 12 years ago, some of the technical stuff is not quite accurate, but the types of cons presented here in story from could still happen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2016
2.5 / 5. The bottom line of this book (and absolute truth) is people are gullible & not security conscious and literally need it beaten into them to "verify, verify, verify". With that being said, I'm not sure I can blame the authors for saying precisely that in about 99 different ways. Though with /that/ being said, this book was a bit difficult to get through after the first few chapters because it is so very repetitive. Some technical information is also very out-of-date. The examples in each chapter are also fictional; don't jump for this title if you're looking for real-life anecdotes of social engineering. All in all I can't say it wasn't informative, but I think I had long had my fill after about a third of the way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2016
Learn about the art of social engineering and the reasons for doing so. An interesting tale told from the perspective of a reformed criminal. If you get a good price (i.e., used for 1 cent + shipping) then go for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse