Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Luke Bryan PCB for Musical Instruments $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 27, 2017
Reading this book i already felt the extra air and space awaiting me and granting me degrees of freedom and bliss. The book not only speaks in clichees and general slogans. It goes into everyday examples and raises the questions we are usually ashamed to ask. And, of course, answers them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 15, 2017
Very attractive and persuasive narrative, but it doesn't tackle any of the severe criticism launched against the actual practice of the 10-day process, easily accessed on the web. Difficult to assess the practice as a result. Take your chances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 21, 2017
This is a great beginner's introduction to Vipassana meditation. Goenke presents a straightforward traditional form of Buddhism that may seem somewhat strict and by the book, but the essential points are right on. As a practitioner of Vipassana, I appreciated this read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 24, 2014
Been practicing Vipassana since 2005 and i read this a long time ago and had bought it for someone. The book is okay to wet your curiosity about vipassana, but after that, you really need to attend a 10-day course to understand it's potential at all. The courses are donation based, so no need feel obligated to pay more than you can afford. Spend 10 days studying your mind and body, in what better way can you spend 10 days of your life??
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2015
Great Insightful Book. I more than halfway through it and I am enjoying every bit of it. It has changed my outlook on the world & life in general. I am a more relaxed person than I was before. I'm still a work in progress but no one is perfect and that's exactly what this book points out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 22, 2017
A great introduction to the practice of Vipassana Meditation, Dharma and living a liberated life. Good insights on how to live and evolve your meditation practice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2017
Great overview and teachings on insight meditation. Thank you for this gem! I'm really glad I picked it up to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2016
If you're considering taking the 10 day course, first yes you should and this is a good introduction. After the course it is a good review and a deep I g of the knowledge!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2012
Okay.. Vipassana has been around for 3000 years, this book, not quite that long. A direct.. no hand waving guide to sitting. It takes a long time, you will often wonder if you are wasting your time. You are most definitely not. It will change who you are for the better. I would suggest a few sources, but this is strongly recommended. Mostly, just practice, practice, practice. Without a doubt Vipassana did save my life though a difficult stretch long ago.. this book was one of the things that got me there. Metta!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 11, 2016
The book outlines the steps a meditator undertaking vipassana is likely to experience. As such it provides insight into the process itself. Well written, encouraging and succinct it nevertheless as with all books on the subject cannot replace the individual practice one must undertake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse