Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on February 21, 2012
This is an extremely short book. There's probably more content on the author's biography than on actual meditation.

But it captures the simple essence of Zen meditation that most meditation books greatly exaggerate -- probably to fill pages to allay the reader's dismay that there's nothing more to learn.

Zen meditation is simple. That's the difficulty of it. Practice is the core of Zen, not words written about it to enchant the mind.

Good read for the few minutes it lasts. That's Zen too. Things come and go, sometimes very quickly.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2013
This was an interesting read for me on the study and learning about medication and breathing right. A lot of good stuff in here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 12, 2015
Found it helpful in beginning postures and direction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 23, 2015
good price, fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 2012
As author of IN THE BEGINNING How to Meditate and Heal With Love Beginner Meditation Techniques (Luminous Being) and a meditation teacher, I really know what works in meditation. This book is a delightful, easy to read, first person description of the author's own Zen meditation practice.
It flows easily through all the important steps of practice -attitude, posture, breathing, stilling the mind, becoming aware, expanding that awareness and then taking awareness with you, away from the meditation and out into daily life--all are here.
The many illustrations are very good demonstrations of the author's points.
I experienced deepening peace and calmness simply by reading this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2013
A short and sweet advertisement about Zen meditation by an accomplished writer. No deep insights but an easy and enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 2, 2014
A well done manual on meditation, but if you want to experience the power of Howard Fast's words...read Spartacus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2012
I love spirituality oriented books, so when I downloaded "The Art of Zen Meditation" by Howard Fast at no cost whatsoever, I was a bit skeptical at first.

By my experience, there is no such thing as a free meal, if you catch my drift. After the first few pages, it becomes clear this work was written by someone who knows what Zen meditation is about from personal experience, definitely a plus.

That this author also wrote "Spartacus" and many other genius works of art becomes secondary, even though, truth be told, it becomes somewhat irritating to see more than 50% of the whole book devoted to Fast's biography and his life's work.

But if you're interested in Zen Meditation, Howard Fast's experience, shared freely, is definitely worth the read, I would brand this one "a gem". I'm furiously clapping with one hand, hoping it will make enough noise for all who are interested in "Zen" to hear.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 21, 2014
its important that we find a few easy routes to some of the most aspired but equally difficult processes in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 18, 2015
Good direct introduction to meditation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse