Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 144 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 166 reviews
on July 5, 2016
Follow the advice in this book to the letter, and you will achieve wealth beyond your dreams. The chapters on advertising and perseverance are elementary, but so necessary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
This book so far, is a MUST READ! I love the facts presented, the explanations and the scenarios used. I would recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2017
interesting thoughts and ideas, his autobiography is a bit more engaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2012
PT Barnum was a famous showman, but also a student of life and money.

He wrote this book long before Napoleon Hill wrote Think and Grow Rich, or before the many financial and self-help advice books of the past few decades.

Yet his advice is just as good.

Keep your expenses below your income -- but use good judgment to do so.

Avoid debt.

Don't keep up with the Jones.

Find a career that suits your talents.

Avoid tobacco and alcohol. He called tobacco "poisonous" many years before anyone connected it with lung cancer.

He starts out by saying it's easy to make money in America. Keeping it is the hardest part.

In this financial recession some will dispute the first assertion. We're no longer the frontier. Still, there's no arguing with the second. He advocates saving money and investing for income so you you're wealthier in the morning when you wake up than you were when you went to bed the night before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2010
A lot of these books about getting rich (or at least getting richer) repeat the same ideas, over and over again.

1. Save part of your income and invest it.

2. Make the decision: do you actually want to BE rich, or do you just want to LOOK rich? If it's the former, do NOT buy that Mercedes-Benz; keep your old Honda for another ten years and put the car payments in the bank.

3. Do the job which best suits your abilities.

4. If you have something good to offer, tell people. Advertise.

5. Honesty and respect for the customer are always the best policies.

In American folklore, P. T. Barnum has become something of a legendary hoaxster --- and nothing could be farther from the truth. He provided genuine entertainment, and got rich doing it. In a way, he was the Walt Disney of his time. If you want to glimpse his real character, read this book. It's short, sweet, and to the point.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
Essential for getting in the right mindframe to make money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
The "book" is very thin and more like a pamphlet. It is very simple, to the point, and short. It is good if you are looking for basic information, but I was hoping for more of Barnum's money making wisdom. This is mostly basic knowledge, but I can see how some would find it helpful and a good start to money education. I feel like I have learned more about his money secrets from other books he has written about his curiosities than I did with this book due to more examples and strategies. But, for a couple of dollars, it was worth the read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2016
I picked this up on more of a whim and to take a break from more of the modern business books. It was an interesting read that not only changed my impression of the author, but it also showed me that much of what Barnum discusses can still be relevant for today's entrepreneurs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
I was listening to a Puff Daddy interview online and he mentioned PT Barnum as an inspiration. I came back and read this a second time. PT being a gifted communicator is unlikely source perhaps on personal finance, but his direct and common sense approach makes this an entertaining and quality read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and it only took about two hours. It has a lot of great insight for an open mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse