Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,383 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 4,148 reviews
on April 20, 2016
I want to tell future readers of this book in this way. I read it first when I was 14 or 15. I thought it was a book on how to smartly fight a war. Then I re-read it when I was 28 and it occurred to me that it may be an instruction book on how to navigate an honorable life. Years passed and I recently found it at the bottom of a box in my closet. I read it again at age 56. I realized it has more to offer. If you read this book, you will actively have to replace Sun Tzus' ancient terms and placement of hierarchy and apply them to modern situations and people. Family, bosses, neighbors, employees and the list goes on. It is my belief that this "manual" can help solve minor and major disruptions in life if used correctly. It is a book meant for good.
44 comments| 366 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2016
This is more a historians review of various works related to Sunzi. The first few parts are interesting, while latter parts of the book goes flat latter on with lines of wisdom, wit, and paragraphs trying to give meaning and intelligence to those lines.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2015
This book is the classic training manual for the military. He covers all the areas that the military needs. The statements are short and precise in the phraseology of the past. You have to interpret the language into modern English. It is easy to imagine the scenarios he describes. It is very enjoyable reading. He hints at the interference of the politician into military affairs, not for the best results.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
The ending of this book clarifies to not always as a leader let your follows know the entire plan is finished until it takes place! The killing of spies is not an easy part of this book to swallow? Christ did say "He who lives by the sword shall die by the sword?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
I love having this book as a digital book because I can find passages easily . I have had this book for many years, but it is now much more reader friendly. The book itself is a roadmap to enjoying a stress free life. It's like having a mentor by your side at all times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
Art of War is an ancient Chinese text on the practice of warfare, both physical and psychological. While much of the treatise is metaphorical in expression, with a little critical thinking the axioms of warfare are true in many aspects of life. This edition includes many annotations which relate the expressions to other Chinese texts on martial activities and commentaries on the manuscript itself, which can be helpful in understanding the metaphors.
When reading, one should bear in mind that while the text particularly relates to warfare, the values which are promulgated therein can be readily applied to principles of business, multiple levels of security, and personal life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
Very pleased! It also has a hard cover for the book itself that the book slides into. The physical quality of the book and cover exceeded my expectations, as did the literature itself. I am highly recommending to all!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I read it in College but forgot most of it. The tactics, how to use psychological and mental warfare are all there in this book. This information can be used in your professional life, politics and in getting ahead in life, work, etc...After all, this can sometimes be like war as well.
It also helped me to understand and comprehend what we see in military leaders and why they often make the decisions they do in regards to current wars and what may be going on. A must read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
Excellent book! applicable to every aspect of life and is as relevant today as when it was first written. Sun Tzu found a language and way to approach life which transcends time and is adaptable to anyone. Do yourself a favor and learn the teachings of this master of the human condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2017
The book has basically 3 or 4 profound insights into managing competitive situations be it war or business. Unfortunately, the 3 or 4 main points are tediously conveyed with verbose footnotes that are part of the text rather than indexed at the end of the book. For example, the fact that deception is key to any battle plan is reiterated in too many manifestations of the same idea. However, some of the footnotes do refer to wonderful examples of historic battle strategies that have failed or succeeded and these provide enlightening tangential google searches for the keen reader. Worth a read for free. Tip: don't get hung up in the minutiae and you can complete reading of this in a couple hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse