Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on November 29, 2015
The idea of customer councils I believe is killer. But the book could have been edited much more to deliver the idea in a more succinct manner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2011
"The B2B Executive Playbook" is the guidebook for B2B companies as "Good to Great" has been for B2C companies. One of the defining principles in both books is how executives can "get the right people on the bus", and Sean Geehan explains that there is a significant difference in the "right people" when differentiating between B2B and B2C companies. This principal alone has the potential to save your company.

This book offers hope for the exasperated business leader or the successful B2C leader transitioning to a B2B role. It offers guidance to employees who are invested at a B2B company. The high-level reasoning and solution-oriented explanations are provided for the leader who knows they should be implementing a different strategy. A business student or someone who is starting their career would benefit from reading this book and then keeping it on their shelf to reference for the long-term.

Geehan clearly asserts, throughout the entire text, that he understands the risk of being a B2B company. Sustainable and predictable growth is imperative for survival when a small number of customers provide billions of dollars in revenue. This playbook will teach you, step by step and with practicality, how to develop relationships with your top customers so that you can have confidence about the future of your company. Charts, graphs, and templates show you exactly what to do, how to do it, and what the results will be.

This results-driven playbook, when utilized, will absolutely change the way you interact with your customers. Buy this book and start applying it today!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2012
Most of my involvement with B2B marketing has been in ad agencies that have B2B clients. Most of the time I had a nagging feeling that our clients' marketing strategies were a waste of time and money. (So too were our agency's B2B efforts in trying to land new clients and grow our own business.)

For example: Could ads in business publications or a trade journals really influence a B2B buyer who had to make a decision based on ROI? Was a booth at a trade show, without meticulous pre-show, in-show and post-show planning going to make a difference? Companies that sell to companies keep doing the same ineffective things.

I think we always knew, deep down, that the key to winning in the long term was based in Sean Geehan's premise: Get your executive customers to endorse you, in a big way. Find a way to make them part of your team - for developing business strategy, product strategy, and sales and marketing strategy. We've always known that their testimonials and endorsements are our most powerful assets. It seems so obvious, but so few companies make this the focus of their strategy.

B2B Executive Playbook provides that strategy in good detail. Mr. Geehan builds a compelling case for creating executive customer advisory boards. He reviews best practices and common mistakes, and provides case studies that show how deeply they can change and elevate the direction of a company.

What's powerful here isn't that it's a new idea. Customer advisory panels have been around for a while. What's powerful is a demonstration of how tightly they can be integrated into business strategy, and how a variety of companies are getting results.

It's not a quick fix. But it makes more sense than anything I've read on B2B strategy or sales in a long time.

I hope Mr. Geehan writes more on the subject, especially if he (1) uses case studies to more fully describe how his clients started and grew their executive advisory council programs, and (2) provides more advice for smaller companies and startups.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
Amazing insights
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
Sean's outgoing style and confidence in convincing business leaders to improve their SCM processes by including suppliers is the ingredient that must be added to his common sense advise. Unfortunately many of the small business owners like me who work both "in" and "on" their businesses never develop that level of comfort in community reach-out to implement this framework. I found the book to worth my time and money. How much of it I deploy, depend on placing myself and my team in Sean's "zone."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2011
Sean Geehan has provided a very smart perspective on the realities of leading your B2B business. Sean's step by step advice for inviting key customers to take a seat at your strategic management table is extremely insightful. The included case studies really bring to life the valuable lessons to be learned from this read. Awesome piece of work Sean!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
Here's the key take away from this book: form an Executive Council that consists of your top clients, ask them what business related problems they are having a hard time with this year, and then plan to solve their problems for them. That is the one and only brilliant idea in this book: the rest was filler, and I flipped right through.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
Very good book for each marketer, especially who came to B2B from B2C business. Very simple, very professional written book for everyone who doesn't want make wrong things.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
This book is simply ok. If you have basic concepts of marketing nothing will be surprising. The "plays" are not at all geared towards smaller companies or companies with small marketing budgets. Some concepts are interesting but nothing you can't pick up from a quick internet search. The core of the book revolves around getting input from your executive clients. That's really the biggest if not the whole take away. Listen to your customer executives, don't focus so much on users. They are who ultimately make the buying decision. Nothing radical there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2013
Interesting read, written so it's pleasurable and not so much like a text book. It is relatable with real world applications
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse