BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch $5 Albums Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
The Balloonists
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 13, 2014
This is her first. She's one of the best nonfiction writings working right now. Somehow, she's able to connect plane crashes, her parents divorce, her own relationship's ending, with a larger existential struggle. It's unlike anything you've every read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2003
"The Balloonists" reads like a surreal autobiography. The author breaks-up the prose into small, focused beats that seem like disjointed observations and memories, yet come together to tell a story, like the panels of a comic book. As a young adult, I found the settings, characters, struggles, and visions, contemporary and very pertinent. From daily life in New York, to memories of childhood, to musings on life and marriage colored by the example of parents, I found much I could relate to. I recommend this book to anyone who questions themselves and others. It is a short, but dense read that can be enjoyed in small sittings as well as read straight through. I want to thank the author for sharing their beautiful writing, I found it helpful in my own life.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
Poetry that reads somewhat like a journal - interestingly woven into a whole - Biss is one of our finest writers today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
Eula Biss writes a terrific collection of prose investigating the root of identity and the idea of family and its influences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2012
This is the story of an ill-fated expedition to the North Pole by three intrepid adventurers, told in the form of a diary by Major Crispin, engineer, mathematician and team leader, whose motives (as he says himself) "are not entirely clear". Is it lust for knowledge or glory, the lure of the abstract, or mathematical fiction, or as he suggests, something closer to the desire for a woman? Is Crispin a sorcerer rather than a scientist, perhaps a fool or a swindler? Or someone who's been overwhelmed by love and must travel north to escape - or to indulge in - what he calls "carnal matters"?

He and his comrades undertake their journey in an advanced form of transport, a hydrogen balloon built in France, rather than relying on more conventional means like snowshoes, skis or sledges. But this is far more than the diary of an expedition, it is also a love story, and a mystery novel, with many clues and hints dropped along the way, and with philosophical reflections thrown in.

The first entry is 12th July 1897. The three and a few helpers are still waiting at the northernmost tip of Spitzbergen for a wind that will blow them to their destination. Their physician, who is doing his utmost to deter Major Crispin from his folly even at this late stage, and who by the nature of his job knows his patients rather more intimately than Crispin would wish, asks him to reconsider: "Flesh has its limits, and different flesh has different limits. What you are concealing in this matter is more than an indiscretion, it is a crime. Besides I think you will find that this mischief you have made will defeat your own purposes."

Clearly this warning has no effect, for as soon as Crispin reckons that the wind is strong enough, the ropes that tie the balloon to the ground are unfastened - and the gondola lifts off. Almost from the first moment up in the air it is obvious that the steering mechanism is anything but reliable (even though Crispin did try it out earlier, on a memorable trip to Finland ...) and that this means of transport is not going to make for a trouble-free journey.

The story is told in an old-fashioned manner, with the sort of fascinating detail that will intrigue anyone interested in science and technology, but also in the fashions and mores of the late 19th century. The descriptions reveal the author's curiosity in aeronautics, geomagnetism, aeroelectricity, the laws of physics and in fact anything scientific. These interests are present in Crispin, but also in Waldemer who is an enthusiast for the inventions of the 19th century, be they bicycles, a tea-maker, a sanitary apparatus or tinned beef. And they are very prominent in the highly intelligent and equally emancipated Luisa. With Macdonald Harris you feel you're in the hands of a story-teller who has all the time in the world, and yet the rhythm and the dynamism of the prose drive you along relentlessly, making it very hard to put the book down.

Even more so because Harris is a true master of character description, too, and has a keen eye for female characters. Here, as an example, is what he says about his first encounter with the unconventional, very intelligent and very female, Luisa, the heroine. She looked "somewhat like a llama. Her dog was a pug, naturally, and she carried too many things in her purse. She was one of those marsupial women whose security lies not in a home but in this little portable womb they carry about with them, filled with pocket combs, handkerchiefs, vials of cologne, foreign coins, hair ribbons, smelling salts, unread novels, stubs of pencils, dinner mints, scent, tweezers, ends of theatre tickets, mascara, tiny powder boxes that play Swiss waltzes when opened, even a china egg."

It's a sheer pleasure reading about the glimpses Crispin gets of the life of the rich and famous in the salons of Paris and the way Harris captures the allure of the first flirtatious conversations with Luisa where she expresses an interest in a balloon ascent. "It was difficult for me to explain to her why, given the mores of our time, it was impossible for a well-bred young woman to remain for fifteen or twenty hours suspended in a basket with a man without recourse to the amenities of civilisation. `I am sorry. It is not some sort of a picnic, you know. It's a serious scientific venture, involving hard work, boring details, and so on.'" To which she responds: "I am not afraid of hard work and I am not easily bored. Surely I could be useful. I could take readings of your barometer or something." But the balloon is designed for three, and Crispin is intent on taking Waldemer and a young man from Hamburg named Beispiel, a chemist, who is "as healthy as a performing seal".

Right at the beginning, on the first day, before they take off, Crispin reflects about the futility of his dream: "Who wants the North Pole! What good is it! ... (it) is something difficult or impossible to attain which must nevertheless be sought for, because man is condemned to seek out and know everything whether or not the knowing gives him pleasure. ... Behind us, perhaps forever, lie the Cities of Men with their teacups and their brass bedsteads." And yes, that is what happens in the end: The last ultimate Nothing, the great whiteness.

What a novel! Makes you wonder what else there might be in store from Macdonald Harris!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2010
I just read The Balloonists on a long snow day, drinking coffee and watching college students build snowmen taller than themselves. I'm going to order a couple of copies of this book as gifts for my literary-minded friends, as well as for my mother, who might never pick up a book like this on her own, but who I know will be as deeply surprised and moved by it as I was. I'm new to Eula Biss's work; I had just read her essay "Relations" in the 2009 Best American Non-Required Reading anthology before I picked up The Balloonists, and I was in such admiration of her gift with the essay form. Now this: a memoir built up with little woolly bricks of moments, half-memories, images and quotes. Astonishingly good. Buy five copies, immediately.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2003
Just spent the whole afternoon reading this book and found it so moving and well-crafted. Actually, I was drawn to the book by a review in "The Believer" which puts it more eloquently than I can.
"In the morally dubious, aesthetically risky, kind of great prelude, Biss crosscuts black-box transcripts with soundbites from family members, concerning her mother's own thwarted artistic ambitions. The brief, intimate impressions that follow read like carefully selected diary entries; something like Renata Adler cool-neon fragments, as melancholy as they are wry."
If you're interested in writing at all or modern families or women's writing or you want something really brilliant to read, I'd heartily recommend "The Balloonists."
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
Did not realize it was poetry. Quite good actually. I don't usually read poetry. I will stick with historical fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here