Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on June 7, 2014
Most refreshing writer I've read in a long time, absolutely clearheaded in thinking about all sorts of topics. No wonder Russell won a Nobel Prize for literature. That he has dropped so far out of sight is a terrible indictment of our trivial times.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2017
Great collection of russell's works
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2015
Reading this book should keep you occupied for a month or more. It is all there! The physical size and heft of the book is daunting. The content, of course, being Russell, is most satisfying. Many, many quotable passages and gems of erudition. The man was amazing in his over-all grasp of the human experience and life's travails.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
Whether you agree or disagree with Mr. Russell's philosophy, he certainly presents his thoughts eloquently and intelligently. I reluctantly admit that some of it is over my head. I had to skip the mathematics chapter entirely. But the rest I find a good stretching exercise for my brain.

It is startling to see how so many of his ideas apply to today's times, and realize they were written almost a hundred years ago.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2012
It's not often that you find someone (writer, philosopher, politician, etc) with whom you agree on almost every point. For me Russell is one of those people. For someone who delved into pretty much every area of study available to him and to then be able to write coherently and succinctly about it is really amazing. This was one smart fella.

About the book itself: it is pretty big and there's a lot of material here. It's easy to read, too. Definitely a good start.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
This is a great compilation of some of Russell's best work; reflecting the depth of his thinking combined with his British wit and dry sense of humor. At slightly over 700 pages, this is not a quick read but rather one that should be slowly savored over time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2017
Product as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
An amazing collection of Russell's beautiful writing. Every library should contain a copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
This man was brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2014
none
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse