BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

The Beast Within [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$13.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 18, 2017
Blu-ray release of this critically reviled (but still cult fan favorite for some) 1981 horror film comes from Scream Factory in fine HD quality with two audio commentaries(director and star, also the writer) and the theatrical trailer. Previously available on a double feature MGM DVD with "The Bat People",, this is better off on its own, though the big "Beware" on the cover is quite apt in more ways then one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2016
Average early 80's horror-fare here... Notable actors at work in this one as a note. Confusing reveal (later in the movie) as to what/why/how the opening scene beast was werewolf like but the kid was more or less possessed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2016
Good Horror Outing-watched at the movie theater 1982.I have seen many times and it has aged well. Note most all of the actors are first rate so it does not come off like low-budget gorefest and yes the effects are a tad hokey now but the film still delivers! "Lord save us! He's been embalmed alive!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
Great blu-ray release of a cult classic. A huge upgrade over the previous MGM DVD release. The extras alone are worth the price. Great movie to watch every 17 years...just like the cicadas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2008
I don't know what are some people problem. This is a great classic from the 80's. The story is not bad, and the fx were good for that time. Some people are effended about the rape scene. I see more rape scene on basic tv. It's a movie do all movies have to make sense. I brought the dvd with pride, and enjoy watching it. People who are not into good horror should stop giving out bogus reviews.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
Oh boy how I love this film. The Beast Within 1981 is underrated and deserves more love. While on there honey moon or something a wife is raped by some swamp creature. 17 years later the son or offspring of the beast is changing. He murders and eats, people.
The creature looks cool and original. Be warned the last 30 minutes are shocking, weird, gross, cool, don't bother me but may bother you, and the transformation scene is cool as hell.pick this film up watch it and read the novel both are awesome.
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2009
If you like horror movies, The Beast Within is worth a look.

It's a little slow at times but there's enough action to keep you awake for sure. One of my favorite scenes is when everyone is gathered in the jail for protection. Keep an eye out when a target of the evil beast backs himself up to the wall, that'll get your attention!

If you watch this movie at night, you shouldn't watch it alone. Also, leave at least one light on!

This movie is "R" rated, contains some nudity and is not for kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
Awesome early 80's horror flick. The classic transformation scene still gives me chills even now thirty+ years on. Has quite a tangible atmosphere even for a movie of such age and production costs. Just goes to show you don't need to throw a fortune at movie making to get such spine-chilling result. Highly recommended!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2016
the story reminds me of another movie xtro2, some woman got raped and gave birth to some monster.... just this movie just asked me to sit for first 75mins to see some special effect in last 20mins? sorry, i get bored soon enough....
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2014
I bought this DVD because I remember watching this movie with my best friend at the drive in and we laughed uncontrollably when the big transformation scene takes place.
The story and acting is sub par but the make up effects are very good for that time period.
If you enjoy special make up and monster transformations, it is worth a look.
Don't expect to be blown away by the story and acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse