Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 51 reviews
on August 5, 2015
Michelle Rhee is the winner and the public schools are the losers. She took on the union and did not win -- but she is right. Viewing her in Waiting for Superman tells the truth about the problems with tenure in public schools and the penalty the students pay for very bad teachers. Coming from a family of teachers and instructors dating back over 100 years, I know of what she speaks. College professors earn tenure, public school teachers do not deserve it no matter how hard they work. Contracts and seniority are one thing -- tenure is not appropriate. Rhee is smart and can see the big picture, which many people have become blinded to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
The book successfully covers how Washington, D.C.'s Chancellor of public schools, Michelle Rhee, rose through the educational ranks to take on the country's worst urban school system. It details her courageous four year tenure, her "in-your-face" attitude to improve the schools despite turning off many parents, councilpersons, and union leaders , and the reasons for her eventual dismissal.
The book is not one-sided; it examines Rhee's considerable talents as well as her faults.
For me, the imprint left by the book is: is the chief goal of educational administrators to give children the best education possible no matter what, or to protect the jobs of those who work for educational institutions?
I wonder how often administrators say the former but in fact do the latter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2016
As an educator, I see the lack of success many schools experience. Like Rhee, I think teacher quality is the main problem. Additionally, a lack of strong administrative leadership is pervasive. I admire her fierce attempt to tackle the problems in DC schools. I hope she is successful with schools across the nation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
Did not just extoll the vision of Michelle Rhee but gave an accurate picture of the political cost of educational reform in this country. At the same time, the author points out the simple political gaffs made by Rhee and insensitivity that permeated her quest. A good lesson for those who advocate needed changes in education and are unrealistic about the impact those changes may have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
Have read about Michelle Rhee and the work she did in D.C. It's too bad, more teachers and administrators don't pick up where she left off. My granddaughter is working on her Master's in Education. I got this book for her as a present. She's an avid reader and excellent with children. Hopefully she will be inspired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
The product was really what I expected. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2015
Ridiculous no content will never buy this kind of publication again wish I knew what I was buying in advance but one never does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
I really enjoyed this book and was inspired by Michelle's determination even when it was difficult. Michelle certainly cares about education and about education for those in struggling systems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
The subject matter is great. The story is great. It could have been told in far less pages. Worth reading, however, if you want to read about the real world of schools.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2013
Got a little flat at the end, but overall very interesting back story. I enjoyed reading about her roots and how she became motivated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse