Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on December 22, 2013
I gave this book four stars largely because of its importance in LGBT history. It was the fist successful book about a gay man coming out in a straight world. At the time it was written in the early 1970s gays were viewed by society as being mentally ill, sick and certainly not normal. This book helped to change that view in that it showed a child growing up in a loving home doing much what all children do and being very successful in school academically and socially. As an adult he realized that the difference he had always felt from other boys was that he was homosexualcontinued. With this insight, he came out to the world and since then has continued to be successful while experiencing a fuller appreciation for who he is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2009
Andrew Tobias writes a poignant and touching autobiography of his young life as a closeted boy coming of age in the Northeastern US in the 50's and 60's. He reflects deeply on the issues and feelings which keep him closeted. He also is very open in reflecting on the dark side of his nature fostered by his self-deprivation and years of denial. His strong intellect, sense of "duty" to his family, as well as other components of his life and personality help him succeed in stiffling his true nature for years. I found myself almost continuously relating to this journey into manhood, self-acknowledgement, and then finally, a degree of self-acceptance. At the book's closure he has gradually risen out of the closet although he is still a very young man working on the life issues that we gay men still work on today.
The book is quick reading and very reflective. It is filled with bits of wisdom, and humor. I would strongly recommend it as core reading material for all gay people in or out of the closet, as well as anyone who might be struggling with acceptance issues regarding gay loved ones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
An account of a respectable young man from a very middle-class family whose struggle with, denial and coming to grips with, in a manner of sorts, his "shameful" lack of interest in "girls" and secret crushes on "boys". This experience was lived during the times that it was outright dangerous to be openly gay, so "John Reid" was exceedingly successful in that respect. I felt that he could have shared this account with less intimate detail of his sexual experiences and put more emphasis on the social and political climate of the mid to latter 20th century gay experience. Clearly, at the time, it was a break-through book whose subject matter needed to be expressed objectively.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
It was honest, enlightning & revealing to myself as a straight woman. I grew up with a gay sister & more than aware of the need to be someone else if your going to succeed in this world. She is a successful business woman & I'm proud of her as well as "the best little boy in the world". The book leaves you smiling because happiness is attainable for everyone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2014
I read in my youth and I loved this book. One of the first PRO GAY books!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2016
Classic tale, well written, charming and heartfelt.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
I had heard about this book, but never got around to reading it until a recent vacation. Andrew Tobias writes with a compelling truth. Those of us his age or older, can relate to many aspects of his story. To those of a younger age, it shows how many of the same struggles continue, yet many things have changed. I've become a fan of Mr. Tobias.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
Book was well written, interesting, often funny and very informative regarding the author's life and lifestyle; often very touching as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2006
I could have written this book but I didn't. It's taken me nearly 60 years to do what Andrew Tobias did in his 20s. How many "best little boys" are out there somewhere? The personal telling of his story - with delving soul-searching analysis and a great geal of humor - makes this a necessity for anyone who has lived a secret life and learned the accepted norms of society in the days when there were no real choices.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2016
What can I say? Anything written by the inimitable Andrew Tobias is a must read. A good introduction to gay male sexuality for gay and straight men alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse