Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$35.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 22 reviews
on June 27, 2013
A wonderful book that brings together how various scripture stories have been interpreted through the years- especially how commentators have struggled to make a positive story out of some of the more challenging narratives. A terrific resource for anyone interested in how the Hebrew Bible has been understood by Jewish midrash.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2017
If you enjoy Bible Study, you will find this interesting......bringing scripture to life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2016
Very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
Dr Kugel is a brilliant student and professor of ancient Jewish literature. I read this book in two days because I couldn't put it down. Though the material is complex and dry, Kugel makes it fun and easy to digest. He has already done the heavy lifting and we get to enjoy his many years of diligence.

Dr Kugel gives us the incredible backstory of the Bible (in this case, the Old Testament). It is infinitely more extensive than people know and Dr Kugel ferrets out the most fascinating details that are lost to most lovers of our wonderful Bible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2016
If you're looking for a breakdown of the original Hebrew and Greek versions of the Bible as they relate to today's English, keep looking. This book relies on interpreters who don't seem to hit the mark of what the parables in the Bible mean. Some of the explanations are silly. For example: rationalizing Jacob taking Esau's birthright by saying if he kept it he'd have been a sinner with his riches. Bs.

The author does admit that the original Hebrew text contains no capitalization or punctuation. So interpreters were in demand. I believed some twisted the book up so bad that it takes going back to the original Hebrew to truly find the meaning.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
this book was purchased for a class in Biblical Interpretation and Difference. The writings of ancient writers and philosphers are used to offer various interpretations of the Pentateuch. Many of the writings offer excerpts from books of the Aprocaphah which propose explanations for events in scripture. the writings offer an alternate view of some scripture. traditional readings of scripture are challenged by interpreters that delve into what they perceive the scripture actually says. while maintaining the core concept, the interpreters expand the scope of the circumstances and conclusions of traditional scripture readings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
I have not finished it yet. It is good to know how the interpretation of scriptures have evolved. As a lay reader I can only thank the author for the effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2014
This book is an excellent supplement to standard Biblical textbooks. I recommend it to other readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse