Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on May 26, 2015
An update of a classic text. It is a popular account of the history of life from the formation of the earth to current day. While this, sadly, is the most recent edition is at least 14 years old--it is still the best comprehensive, popular account. The writing is excellent and even from the multi-authors. The graphics very helpful in keeping straight what happened when. More recent books give refinements and confirmations but essentially all of this account is still valid. Highly recommended as an initial and reference orientation to the history of life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2012
This is a great book for someone high school or college level. I'd been looking for something to learn more about evolution (I went to a high school where it wasn't allowed to be taught, and in college it was assumed we already knew, so I had only very basic knowledge of it) and this is the perfect book for it. Shows how life started from the simplest forms, all the eras, and periods. It is nice to have some basic science knowledge to grasp what you are reading. But I understood fine with only into biology classes from college and basically nothing from before that. Great book for anyone interested in the subject.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2017
Came in in great condition. Great price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2011
I bought this book after previewing it at a local book store, I check online and amazon had a significantly lower price. The book is great. Big, color paintings, and some insightful reading on evolution. I had read reviews about partial or incomplete information in this book, but I bought it simply because I thought it looked like fun and interesting information, with beautiful renderings of prehistoric animals. Which is what it is. If you are studying evolution for school, I'm sure by now youve been recommended the newest edition for your studies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2007
...a little behind the times and anthropocentric. These failings are admitted in the book, however, and do not much detract from its being a useful work.

Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2002
You would have expected more time and detail to the ermergence of the nervous system and the Cambrian Explosion. A more up-to-date section on human evolution (no mention of Ardipithecus Ramidus) but on the whole the book is a good synthesis of the state of the knowledge in this field.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
I found the book both intersting and informative. A couple of features I especailly liked was the easy to follw way that it presented the time periods in Earth history. I also liked the family trees connecting the various life forms. They were complete and easy to follow. If you strungthem all together you would have a looooong chart showing the evolutionary history and relationships of all of the forms of life on earth. A fairly short book that gives a complete story of Life on Earth that is fun and easy to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
Great many references for NOS and illustrations that I can use in my biology classroom. Book can be a little wordy and take a long time to read, but good information and graphics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Awesome book for evolutionary biology
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse