Hill Climb Racing 2 Vehicles Review Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc August Greene All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18_gno



on October 27, 2010
OK, I can. :-) Yet another "big book." This not my favorite in the series, mostly because it's not historical, but more the cartooning of the hysterical. Bigfoot, UFO's, ghost sightings, etc. That's not my cup of tea. If you like the Factoid Books and like this sort of things, by all means, this deserves a spot on your bookshelf. However, if you're considering a "Big Book of..." try one of the others first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 12, 2015
Love, Love, Love these books! Collect them all, full of all sorts of usful and interesting information!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2016
In excellent condition! Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 20, 2010
The book is in amazing great condition and I have read the book from beginning to end 4 times already and some of the stories that are talked about in the book will make you laugh out loud-great job!-thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2011
the format of this book is black and white comic book style . if u are over 20 and wear glasses,might as well trash it, that is where my brand new copy is going.i would not have purchased, if informed it was a comic book. total bummer...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 15, 2004
The Big Book of the Unexplained seeks to explore unexplained phenomena in comic book form. Subjects touched on include: aliens, the Loch Ness monster, glass skulls, mummy curses and many perhaps too many more.

There are some obvious benefits to exploring such phenomena in graphical form. Namely a picture is worth a thousand words. After all when one is talking about a photo of a UFO or the Nazga plains, having the visual evidence there is much better than describing the visual evidence. That's a nice theory but it doesn't happen. Almost all the illustrations are artist's conceptions. Also because there are no photographs, only artist's drawings from photographs, this book actually eliminates or distorts visual evidence for UFOs and Nessie. In both cases photos exist and have been central to debates on the existence of the phenomena so it is stupid to omit photos.

This book could have used some focus. It has something like 40 chapters each covering a different topic and some as short as two pages. However the topics tend to overlap and so does the information presented. For example the same photo allegedly of Nessie's flipper is brought up and referenced in bad drawings at least three times. This leads me to believe the book was very poorly outlined before being written. Coverage of subjects is broad, not deep and sources for information aren't given, so The Big Book of the Unexplained is sure to disappoint scholars and the curious alike.

The Big Book of the Unexplained fails. Avoid this book. It isn't up to the quality of other books in The Big Book of.. series. At most one could pull some names and dates (which aren't always given) from the book and go from there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 13, 2011
Just love The Big Book of the Unexplained and most work by Doug Moench. My favorites here are "The Kentucky Goblin Spree!","El Chupacabras", and "Bigfoot Alien Connection", proving Moench and these many fine comic artists aren't afraid to go to risky or P.I. places in search of the unknown. Charles Fort was an amazing researcher, ahead of his time, and (along with Nick Pope) the forerunner/prototype for Fox Mulder et al. I like how they allow the unexplained to remain so, even while relaying information very clearly in a comics format. As frustrating as it is to not have the answers to so many phenomena and odd critters, this book and comics format make it well worth the ride. A must-have for adults and kids who are curious about our mysterious world. We need mystery in our lives and this is a good place to start looking...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2001
This book is usually advertised as a companion to the Big Book of Conspiracies. Although both are written by Doug Moench, this is not really true. There IS some crossover (for example the BBOC deals with some supposed coverups of UFOs, and UFOs are featured prominently in this book), but only superficially.
As noted by one harsh reviewer below, this book does not go very far into presenting evidence. However, I know that many of the stories covered in this book are actually just as well-documented as most historical facts having read about them elsewhere (in fact, when I lived in Waterloo, Ontario, I lived down the block from the owner of the famous crystal skull depicted in one of these stories). And if you require more proof, there is an extensive bibliography. What Doug Moench does is use his limited space (the comic book format is not very good for presenting vast reams of evidence) to give a nice overall picture of paranormal mysteries. He even manages to point out various patterns, connecting together incidents usually only covered in isolation. And this is an important contribution, after all by now people who actually pay attention to evidence should have reached the point where they are more interested in understanding the phenonmena described instead of just trying to justify their beliefs. Of course, some of the stories herein are based merely on testimony given by witnesses, but eyewitness testimony is considered the strongest form of evidence by the courts and is still enough to get people sentenced to jail for life in this country (meanwhile fingerprints are only circumstantial). What matters is the credibility of the witnesses, how many unconnected individuals corroborate each other, and whether or not there is an ulterior motive for such testimony. Besides it would be ridiculous to reject all data on the basis of a few charlatans (after all we still believe in science depsite apparent hoaxes like cold fusion). And for every redneck there is still the occassional Jimmy Carter and Neil Armstrong who have also reported witnessing UFOs. If all people could be so readily dismissed for what they say or write on other subjects, no field of knowledge (history, science, etc.) could exist! But I prefer to be amongst the camp of people who, e.g., do not have to personally build and explode atom bombs or travel back in time 56 years to Japan to believe that the bombing of Hiroshima occured (the photographs, consistent testimony, etc., is enough for me). This book does (and it admits so) go out on the limb occassionally, but it does also point out some incontrovertible facts that skeptics just choose to ignore. But even if you lean more towards skepticism, this is a highly entertaining and well-illustrated book that is far more credible than the Warren Commission or most newspaper coverage of the Middle-East.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 28, 2002
I've owned just about all of the "Big Book of" series published to date, and this is clearly the best. In fact, it is the only one I kept when it was time to move and I needed to lighten the load. It is just so darn entertaining- and you find something new every time you pick it up. That is why I bought it in the first place, instead of being a rehashing of stuff that I already knew about for years, I actually learned some significant new things. If you are jaded and think that there is "nothing new under the sun" try reading this, it will expand your horizons. It covers everything from crop circles, synchronicity, the crystal skull, ancient high tech, space/time anomalies, alternate dimensions, alien abduction, death of the 5th sun, etc., etc., etc....
And it is all tied together in a humorous way by the character of Charles Fort (The Book of the Damned.)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 1999
I have become a huge fan of this book series since I picked up the Big Book of Little Criminals. This book does a great job of describing all the wierdness this world has to offer. The best thing about this book and the others in the series is that you can show an article to someone who would not otherwise be intersted in the subject, since the "Comic" format is so easy to read. Highly, Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse