Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on April 25, 2016
First of all, like Preacher, know that this is an ADULT series, NOT for kids. And if you love your Marvel and DC superhero stories, you aren't going to like The Boys very much, or maybe you will. An open mind is a gloriously capable one. Ennis satirizes the superhero genre down to it's barest of bones here and not at all respectfully, it's absolutely delicious. And, as Garth Ennis fans have come to expect, the boundaries of what you can say and do in a graphic novel will be stretched.

In the end it's an incredibly imaginative story that is very well drawn, often utilizing the drawing style of the original "supes" that Ennis is Mocking. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
You're given a lot more story in the first volume than you were in the first but as a whole, It's pretty much on par with the first volume. We are given a nice little mystery story behind one of the heroes and the ending is quite fitting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
Great book, I love the series. Its good for a laugh and it is very entertaining. Recommended iif you want a little dark reading to satisfy a dark laugh and head shake at how the world really works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2017
Over the top comic book with tons of sex, gore, and profanity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2011
I don't always dig Ennis' vision on "The Boys" but I enjoy it well enough. I rated this three stars as the two stories that comprise this volume average out to three. I really enjoyed the first story about SwingWing and Tek Knight and the facade of tolerance given by the Supes. My only quibble with the story was the final page wrap-up which wasn't all that satisfactory. (And the fact that the color of SwingWing's hair changed, making it hard to realize who it was.)

The second story with Russia and Little Nina was, for me, a total bust. Little Nina could have been interesting - if she ever actually faced off against The Boys. Would have maybe been a good chance to give the Female something to do. Instead, they wasted an entire plot that really came to nothing. Like previous reviewers have noted, the fill-in art the last two issues was distracting. But it was the lack of a real story or interesting villain that bugged me the most.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
My absolute favorite comics. Ennius is a genius. I really hope rogan gets off his ass and the tv show does the comics justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
This needs to be made into a movie directed by Robert Rodriguez, staring Jason Statham as The Butcher, Simon Pegg as Hughie and Terry Crews as M.M.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2016
Unique Story that really clashes with the conception of super heroes being like their portrayed personas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2009
Not for the tame of taste or the weak of heart and NOT for the younger kids; this tale gives you an infinitely focused and demonstrably realistic examination of the potential for an alternate future with SuperHumanism as a regular occurring item and no small threat to the daily conduct of larger parts of humanity, especially any poor unfortunate humane that suffers direct contact with the "Supes"

When superheros misbehave, as they all pretty much seem bent on doing, then you would be VERY grateful for Butcher, Wee Hughie, Mother's Milk, the Female and Frenchman on your side. This volume does a very good job of some exposition on the "Supes" generally [and one specifically with a very hard problem to solve] as well as finding the whole team in frozen Mother Russia for a little visiting of old friends, a bit of drinking and a lot of save Save SAVE the stupid world.

If you have found Transmetropolitan to be entertaining to the eyeball and took any pleasure in the sour sweet tales of The Preacher and the beautiful depth of characterizations found in both then hopefully The Boys will slap you in the right places....

My understanding = this tale is promised for about six "volumes" so here's hoping it doesn't fizzle away like Desolation Jones - I'm going to find a Comix House and get MY subscript underway ASAP

I wish you Peaxe and excellent reading,
Rev. D.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
Not a whole lot was going on in this volume. The third makes up for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse