Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 78 reviews
on August 29, 2016
This is one freaky movie!. But it was interesting. Bizarre but the story line was good The acting was very good, And it was more creepy than scary, But I liked it. It was an older film but the movie was still good. Perfect for weekends and winter nights.Never seen a movie like this it was different for sure
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
This must be "David Cronenberg, most personal film . For some reason , I find " The Brood" similar to " Alien" , both films made or released at the same period ( Sorry for the Pun ), both show procreation , well not in the conventional way, and disturbing. "Criterion Blu-Rays , have the works
interactive menu's with Bookmarks or Timeline as indicated with the software. The 2K Transfer is perfect , I watch twice, on second viewing , it was even better..
Thank You ...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
Excellent film and stunning presentation from Criterion. The image is clear and sharp, contrast and colour hues perfect. Grain becomes more noticeable towards the end in outdoor sequences but is dud to age of the elements and stock used. Would highly recommend this region A locked blu ray
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
This was kind of weird viewing for me, but my lady friend loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
My husband I and I are "rabid" cronenberg fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
Delivery was great, sorry to say that the friend I bought it for had received the same copy a couple days ahead of time. (But this edition is fantastic along with great commentary). Definitely suggest this for fans. Also thank you to Amazon for a flawless return policy and execution of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2014
It's Definitely been a long time coming over 10 years actually
that David cronenberg's the Brood has finally been given a U.S. blu-ray release by Criterion collection
the only U.S. release this film had was on dvd back in 2001 by MGM which only had the original trailer as an extra
Criterion have done an excellent Job bringing this classic Horror film to life with an all new 2k HD transfer
supervised by Cronenberg himself,
the picture quality does look excellent in 1:78:1 ratio very nice sharp & clear quality, hardly no Grain or Dirt
also very nice colour restoration
the sound quality has been boosted aswell to a new master audio 1.0 stereo mix, much better than the old Mono sound
Criterion have also added new special features which is a first for this film
a new retrospective making of Documentary just for this new blu-ray version
BIRTH PAINS- new interviews with cinematographer Mark irwin, Executive producer Pierre David
assistant Director John Board, Actress Samantha Eggar, special effects make up man Rick baker & Joe Blasco
talk about making the Brood their experience working on the film etc
DAVID CRONENBERG THE EARLY YEARS- an interview with Cronenberg from 2011
OLIVER REED interview, archive interview from 1980
MEET THE CARVETHS new interviews from 2013 Actors Art Hindle & Cindy Hinds talk about their experience
working on the Brood
also David's second film from 1970 CRIMES OF THE FUTURE also on this Blu-ray with a new 4K HD transfer
plus the usual Theatrical trailer, Radio spots, TV spots plus a booklet about this blu-ray version and the film
Criterion's blu-ray is region A locked as expected , so U.K. fans need a all regions player
some more info for the U.S. fans
U.K. Distributor Second sight films have also released the Brood on blu-ray about 2 years ago now
you'll find this on amazon uk
Second sight also added new special features & new HD transfer aswell in 1:78:1 ratio
which also looks fantastic, hardly no Grain or Dirt
even thou the second sight's transfer is not supervised for cronenberg, it still looks excellent, very sharp & clear picture quality
i already own the U.K. Blu-ray anyway
So here are the extras
PRODUCING THE BROOD- new interview with Pierre David
LOOK OF RAGE interview with Mark irwin
MEET THE CARVETHS- interview Art Hindle & Cindy Hinds, criterion took this new interview and added it to their blu-ray
CHARACTER FOR CRONENBERG new interview with Actor Robert silverman
DAVID CRONENBERG THE EARLY YEARS a 2011 interview David
again Criterion took this interview and added it to their blu-ray
i have both the U.S. blu-ray & U.K. blu-ray's
5 stars for each blu-ray, time to throw out the old dvd version, time to upgrade to either blu-ray or buy both blu-ray versions
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
I had this originally on DVD. When I saw Criterion Collection was putting this Classic Cronenberg film finally onto Blu-Ray, I said "I have to buy this!!!!!". Well I bought it & well........what can I say? I LOVE it!!!
They really know how to give a treatment to a classic movie (and not just to Horror Films Ladies & Gentlemen).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
I mean... How much more perfect can you get? It's the brood in criterion!!! The way Cronenberg wanted it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2005
This is an early David Cronenberg film in which we get a taste of what will come later. It is about all those 1970's self-help "I'm OK, You're OK," therapies. Oliver Reed stars as a psychiatrist who has developed "pyschoplasmics" - a therapy that gives its patients physical manifestations of their inner traumas. His patients develop cancer and skin diseases.

Samatha Eggar stars as his prime patient: someone who gives birth to "children of her rage" - little monster humanoids who vaguely resemble her daughter. When Eggar is mad at someone - her mother for beating her, for example - the demonic children go to exact revenge.

Like all of Cronenberg's films, it is gory and disturbing. Stephen King praises it in his Danse Macabre. It is a must-see for any true horror fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here