Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 306 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 332 reviews
on August 20, 2016
A basic plot is brought to life in this highly enjoyable, insightful movie by Masterson. Masterson allows the story to unfold, while allowing the actors to bring things to life. The entire cast is great, Dern is a scene stealer. That being said, there is no movie here without Stewart. Kristen gives an amazing performance, somewhat reminiscent of DiCaprio's performance in What's Eating Gilbert Grape. Yes, both played characters that had their own personal and physical challenges, but I mean the sheer force, and talent of her performance here is amazing. She's an extremely skilled actress, that I only hope continues to push herself, so we can all enjoy her amazing beauty, screen presence and talent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
This was probably one of Kristen's Stewart's better roles, exceeding the crappy Twilight movie trilogy I struggled through watching several years ago. I did not have to struggle through this movie. Her portrayal of the neurologically disabled girl, Georgia, was realistic and convincing. It was almost too painful to watch the female lead twitch, shamble and lurch her way throughout the story.Although we know from the beginning, that the prognosis is poor, the main character's drive to be like everyone else overshadows this negativity. Overshadowing,even the awkward relationship she has with the needy wounded boyfriend, Beagle. Is it any wonder that this guy has a dog's name? The other two relationships with the older family members (Beagle's brother and their widowed father) were stilted and lackluster serving nothing to enhance the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an emotional story about human love in a rural American setting. As such it will probably bring tears to your eyes. I know it did to mine. The script by Jayce Bartok and the direction by Mary Stuart Masterson are carefully composed to create a celebration of love that defies convention.

BEWARE SPOILERS

Georgia (Kristen Stewart) is a 15-year-old girl suffering from Friedreich's ataxia. When her to-be lover, cafeteria worker Beagle (Aaron Stanford), asks if she is going to get better, Georgia says, “No, this is pretty much as good as it's gonna get until my heart gives out.” She has invited him into her bedroom to help her with her homework. At one point she says, “You can kiss me if you want to.” Stewart plays the part with limbs all askew and dangling almost helplessly. Yet her face is so, so pretty and healthy looking that the contrast is striking. The next day they go to a motel. She is determined to experience love before she dies. The idea is so touching.

Also sure to pull your heart strings is the older and mostly secret love affair between Easy Kimbrough (Bruce Dern) and Marg Kaminski (Elizabeth Ashley). Bittersweet is Guy Kimbrough’s (Jayce Bartok) realization that his girlfriend Stephanie (Miriam Shor) has married and started a family in his absence.

All of this could easily go from pathos to bathos to the maudlin except for the careful direction by Masterson and the fine acting all around.

What I have been trying to figure out is why the movie is entitled “The Cake Eaters.” What came to mind was Marie Antoinette’s infamous, “Let them eat cake,” but I couldn’t see the connection.

--Dennis Littrell, author of the movie review book “Cut to the Chaise Lounge or I Can’t Believe I Swallowed the Remote”
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2016
I am NOT a Kristen Stewart fan at all but this film was perfectly lovely. The acting was wonderful and genuine. It was one of a few films she didn't just play herself in different costumes. She did a good job trying to mimic a palsy. The script was the real winner. The obvious end to have her drift off to heaven after fulfilling her bucket list must have been tempting, but the writers tried to be real. I love that they had her mainstreamed into the high school. The wheelchair issue was a subtle reference to what really happens in our schools, administration usually tries to insist on making the slow or awkward child dependent on a wheelchair thus disabling the child more, simply because they think she might bump into someone in the hall. I liked that that issue, so real and on point. The mother was a piece of work cashing in on her child's suffering. Really? Making a child with neurological difficulties in her movements pose in a singular position while she fiddled around? Ah! Clueless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
I didn’t really know much about this film before watching it. I figured I’d give it a shot because it was recommended to me and because I love Kristen Stewart. I find that sometimes it’s good to go into a movie blind because you don’t have expectations. You’re not waiting for things to happen, you can allow yourself to just get lost in the flow of the movie and in the performances and that’s what happened to me here.
Cake Eaters isn’t a great film, it might not even be a very good one. It’s slow, there isn’t a lot of substance to the story and it doesn’t have any real kind of style to speak of. However, the beauty of this film lies in the performance of Kristen Stewart. The transformation she makes for this film is simply astonishing. You can go ahead and add Cake Eaters to her already long list of mesmerizing performances in her stellar career. The film loses momentum whenever she’s not on screen. I didn’t really click or care about any of the other characters or their arc. Bruce Dern gives a good performance, but there isn’t much to his character (you can really say that about all the characters) and Jesse L. Martin’s talents are underutilized here. Most of these characters lack true personality, so it made it difficult to care about what was happening to them.
Good, not great. Good performances, dull characters. There are things to like storyline wise; it just doesn’t give you enough. If you’re already a Kristen Stewart fan, then you should enjoy this movie (or probably have already seen it). If not, then I’m not sure there’s much here for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
A little quirky, but a cute little story. Probably the only role Kristen Stewart played really well. It wasn't cringe-worthy at all, and was actually a good performance by her. The rest of the reviews will tell you what the plot is about, but with no expectations prior to watching this, I actually did enjoy it. On the surface, it is mostly a light-hearted drama/romance, with undertones of a deeper plot, which the movie only touches on here and there. Under the surface, it asks a question that people with similar conditions probably ask themselves: Will I find love before it's too late?. It was a good plot, with a good mix of characters, and a believable premise and setting. It ended with a few un-answered questions, but for the main characters, it is pretty clear what happens at the end. If you are familiar with the movie "The Other Sister", it plays out very similar to it, but not as extreme, and in the vein of a more Independent movie. Overall, it was good movie, and an unexpected surprise. Also.....still a better love story than Twilight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2015
First and foremost, the casting works and I mean really works. Bruce Dern as the grandfather pulls off the part with the gentle approach of the consummate professional. Somehow he holds together the family despite his flaws. Kristen Stewart manages to pull off a convincing Georgia so fragile yet refusing to stay within boundaries her family would set. Aaron Stanford plays the love interest looking to be both shy and uncertain yet again in the plot refuses to play a sunshine role as he was the primary caretaker of his dying mother.

Mary Stuart Masterson really needs to do more movies as she handles a bittersweet plot with aplomb. Set in upstate NY the background of just getting by resonates without anyone referring to it. Scenes linger exactly long enough to set the mood and no more. The plot remains as it should be, character driven.

The writing stands out giving the actors all that they need to work with. No one over acts and here both Stewart and Dern really excel. Nor does the plot sugarcoat anything. Georgia knows she is going to die and is determined to explore love while she can. She encourages and confronts Beagle until she achieves her goals of having an intimate and ongoing relationship with him. It is a recurring theme in the movie. Easy will not be the loyal spouse, Guy is forced to admit he has hit rock bottom and failed everyone around him. Georgia's mother has to face the fact that Georgia will not be controlled.

There is no such thing as a perfect movie, still Masterson comes very close.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2016
This was all in all a good movie. It was entertaining and kept the viewer wondering what is going to happen next. If you knew you were going to die at a young age there are so many things you will miss out on. This is a realistic story about what one girl wanted to do before she died. The ending of this movie was rather disappointing as it left you wondering what happened to this young couple, and how she felt after her goal was accomplished. I would not recommend this for a younger audience as it does involve a lot of sex talk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
An interesting story that rises above a "disease of the week" movie because of Kristen Stewart's performance. I never saw the Twilight films, but I did get the idea that fans of the movie were not enamored with her performance. All I can say is that I was so taken by her performance in "Still Alice" that I searched out another movie of hers. Her speech, her body movement, her expressions and gestures were all elements of a first rate performance. There are several relationships explored and this was where the script lost focus. Because almost every character was eccentric and colorful, it grew tiresome. The central relationship was sweet without being saccharine and would have benefited from more focus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2016
This movie gets two separate reviews from me. The movie as a whole seems to be missing something that would cause me to feel more connected to these characters. There just wasn't enough time to truly develop them. Therefore, I gave the film 3 Stars. The one exception to this is Kristen Stewart's performance as Georgia. She packs a lot of talent into this role, done before all the "Twilight" madness. Her performance saves this film and makes it worth watching more than once. Stewart's performance gets 5 Stars from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.49
$7.99
$13.95

Need customer service? Click here