Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 25, 2017
I started reading this book solely for the purpose of researching vocation for a Master’s capstone project. What I received was a refreshing sense of what it is to be a follower of Christ. There is a transformation that happens to work and vocation when one understands that there is a Caller and we are called to be and respond by doing instead of doing in order to find who we are. Definitely a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2016
To anyone seeking their calling in life. Answering the questions, what is my true calling? How does God "call" people? How can I live out my life's calling?

The book considers all that our culture considers "calling" and purpose. It breaks it all down to help the seeker determine the truth of their own individual calling, and to discern it from all the noise and false callings in life. Many great stories of great people who followed their true calling, and also considers others who perhaps never knew their calling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2017
Love this book! Very good reading! Helpful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2017
Got this book because of what we are studying in church and thought it would make a great complement to it so great book that I highly recommend shipping was fast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 19, 2017
When a someone dares to look into the meaning of life without fear of an answer which might challenge conventional wisdom and his social comfort, Oswald Guinness' THE CALL is the book to be read.

After reading the book one realises that it was written not for any benefit of the author but to share a careful consideration of what man in his individuality has to fulfilled to be in harmony with himself as part of the scheme of existence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2012
Guinness has a rare gift (and calling). He can articulate complex concepts in simple sentences (though you may need to re-read some of the sentences a couple of times to fully appreciate them). He can also explain by way of penetrating examples. And in this excellent guide to understanding the Christian call, the examples he employs are a kind of tour de force of western civilization's best Christian thinkers (Lewis, Chesterton, Augustine, Aquinas, Kirkegard, Mother Teresa) and historical figures (Julius Caesar, Disreli, Washington, Churchill, etc.) who have wrestled with the extent and meaning of their call -- some to be followed, and some not.

Above all, Guinness is one of those who truly gets it. And using his gifts, he's able to explain the Christian life in a way that cuts to the heart of the matter. He also lays out a host of current day challenges to following "the Way", including those posed by a subset of the seven deadly sins, and those posed by the forces inherent in modernity. The later are particulary prominent in his unflattering assessment of fads in the modern church.

I know I'm going to keep this book close at hand, for clarity of guidance, for a long, long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2016
Knowing your purpose to find the true you.
You being called is not the end results. Knowing the One who called gave the ultimate power to your life with character, love, and purpose. We can't be known only by our jobs or careers path but by God, the Rewarder of our faith.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 4, 2016
this is a fantastic book for all who want to follow the Way.
understanding and realizing who has called us is so important
once we get that all else is secondary
loved every minute of reafing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 12, 2006
In life, one of the big questions you have to answer is "What am I going to do when I grow up?" To help you wrestle with the concept of what God has planned for you in terms of ministry and vocation, let me suggest an excellent book entitled The Call: Finding and Fulfilling the Central Purpose of Your Life. Author Os Guinness explores the concept that God has a calling for each and every Christian - a purpose for your life, something that will enlist and enthrall you, even captivate you! For most of you, your job will not be your calling; for some, it will be. But what's the difference, you ask - read The Call to find out!

The concept of a calling has been misunderstood and misapplied for centuries. Guinness even classifies the common misconceptions as the Catholic myth and the Protestant myth. But the idea remains important, even central, to every Christian's life and there is no time more critical to explore and answer the age old question about meaning and purpose in life than before you chart a course for your life in the waters of your career.

Guinness writes, "[C]alling is not what it is commonly thought to be. It has to be dug out from under the rubble of ignorance and confusion. And uncomfortably it often flies in the face of our human inclinations. But no idea short of God's call can ground and fulfill the truest human desire for purpose and fulfillment."

While the underlying concept of this book may appear to parallel Rick Warren's immensely popular The Purpose Driven Life, the similarity really ends there. Guinness' The Call is not an "easy read" and is written at the college level, in terms of vocabulary and depth of insight. This book is worth its weight in gold and your time to read. Dostoyevski wrote that "The secret of man's being is not only to live, but to live for something definite." My prayer is that you find that purpose to which God has called you to and prepared you for - The Call will be an invaluable resource in that journey.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2017
Very inspiring and God centered book on calling. However, 25 chapters with 3-4 points per chapter is too much and put in jeopardy the reader's ability to walk away with the key points for which to put into practice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse