Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Nothing More GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 144 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 236 reviews
on April 20, 2015
This is an amusing, entertain,g revealing, honest, and slightly wacky documentary, in which Bill Shatner, the iconic figure of the "Star Trek" franchise, tries to do two things, and pretty much succeeds.

The first thing he tries to do is interview all the actors who have played commanding officers in the franchise to get their take on playing the role of captains of the Enterprise (or CO of Deep Space Nine or USS Voyager, to get technical), and their thoughts and feelings on the subject. What he winds up with are some memorable discussions and hilarious encounters...horseback riding with Scott Bakula, arm-wrestling with Chris Pine, piano-playing with Avery Brooks, and sitting in a box, waiting for Kate Mulgrew.

He also gets some serious discussion with Patrick Stewart about fame, Chris Pine about working with his father Bob Pine, Kate Mulgrew on the differences between stage and classical acting and TV and movies, Avery Brooks about philosophy. Shatner also reflects on the life of a young actor trying to make it in the theater in the 1950s.

The other half of the documentary is his appearance at a "Star Trek" convention, interacting with the world's craziest people, obsessive "Star Trek" fans. Now, I'm a huge fan of the original series, a good one of "TNG," but haven't seen enough of the "Voyager," "Deep Space Nine," or "Enterprise," to judge them. But I never wear "Spock ears." If I ever see a "Star Trek" movie, I wear the ballcap from the carrier.

So much for full disclosure.

But "Star Trek" fans are a devoted and wacky crew, with their obsessions over people in redshirts all getting killed, how Khan could have met Chekov if he wasn't on "Enterprise" at the time of that episode, and so on. I can understand why Shatner had trouble figuring out why his role in a show that only lasted three years and did poorly in the ratings would define him for life. After that stage set was struck, he had to go on earning a buck ("Barbary Coast," "T.J. Hooker," "Rescue 911"). He had trouble being seen everywhere as Captain James T. Kirk, born in Iowa, working in outer space, bopping green aliens. In real life, he was Bill Shatner, Jewish kid from Montreal, classical actor, father of two, horse and Doberman Pinscher breeder. Very separate lives.

In the documentary, as he talks with fans between talking with the captains, we can see how he begins to realize that being permanently identified as the "Captain of the Enterprise" is not such a bad thing in the long run. He goes from being the "Get A Life" punchline of the "Saturday Night Live" parody to being a genial father figure to an army of fans. It's a fascinating and warm transformation.

I would heartily recommend this to any "Star Trek" fan.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
I was really disappointed in this video for several reasons. Shatner never lets you forget he was the first captain in the Star Trek franchise. He spends at least half of the time talking about himself. The interviews are confusing (like what was up with arm wrestling Chris Pine instead of actually interviewing him?) Very noticeable was the awful and inappropriate (and so called) background music, which sometimes drowned out the interviewees. I think the most enjoyable interview was with Patrick Stewart; the others all left me wanting for more. I know this video was repackaged a few years later, so one could only hope that there were improvements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2017
I'm a bit of a Trek nerd, so buying this was a no-brainer. These people have a lot of chemistry together, so I enjoyed this, but it makes me somewhat sad that there couldn't have been a crossover with all of them. They do seem to have genuine respect for each other as actors and they all of course are bound by the unique experience of being associated with such a prominent entertainment vehicle.

It's also ridiculously inexpensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
Having been a devoted Star Trek fan since the first showing of the pilot episode in 1967, I enjoy this DVD very much. William Shatner does a good job of interviewing the "captains", perhaps giving viewers a better understanding of them. Glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2017
Awesome documentary of the lives of the actors who played the Captains in all the Star Trek Series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
For years the attitude that came across from William Shatner (played Captain Kirk in the Orig. Series - Star Trek) was that the Fans of Star Trek needed to "Get A Life". Now decades later, and after attending several Star Trek Conventions, and working in movies with other Star Trek series' actors..... he has finally come around to fully embrass the fact that he will always be remembered best for his role as Captain Kirk..... As he sits down with each of the actors who have also played Captains in the different off shoot series of the original Star Trek --- TNG (Patrick Stewart - Captain Picard), DS9 (Avery Brooks - Captain Sisko), Voyager (Kate Mulgrew - Captain Janeway), Enterprise (Scott Bakula - Captain Archer) and the new cast Captain Kirk (Chris Pine) from the 2009 movie Star Trek & Star Trek Out of Darkness.... he helps us to discover what wonderful actors who know their acting craft well, brought all that they had learned to the role of Captain that they played for the series they were in..... and how each embrassed the continuation of bringing their particular Captain alive for the series......... all are talented and deeply involved in their craft and met the challenges, long hours, and commitment to bringing their Captain's character and particular show to the caliber of the original Star Trek series. I enjoyed getting to know these actors better and to know how much they appreciated being a part of the Star Trek legend and how much they learned about themselves with the help of their cast members and the show. Star Trek fans will really enjoy this DVD!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
This film was fascinating. I'll tell you what I took away from it: those actors have lived rather sad lives. It makes me want to spend less time watching Star Trek and more time enjoying life. What I like about Star Trek is how it has opened my mind to so many possibilities and really made me think. So why not take that and use it real life, rather that spend an inordinate amount memorizing the small minutiae of all the series? Or worse yet, hero worshipping these interesting but deeply flawed people?

I'd rather be happy than be an great Trekkie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enthusiast: Star Trekon August 11, 2016
A more indepth discussion with the captains from the five series and how their lives where changed by being involved with Star Trek. Each captain remembers how it was like to be captain and what it was like to be part of a iconic show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
Star Trek fun and trivia booster. Enjoying William Shatner's ability to share and show Star Trek to all generations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2016
I really enjoyed watching this! I loved the camaraderie and insightful, revealing and at times soul-baring conversations. Also of deep interest to me was what each actor learned about themselves and their realizations during and after the years they played their respective captain's role. If you're looking for something thoughtful to watch, this is it and thank you William Shatner for this documentary!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse