Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
23
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on March 12, 2017
Great doc...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2005
beautifully constructed of original 1960/70s footage and modern day reminiscences--great scenes and great, as well as realistic, view of hippie life and dreams--honestly showing the transformation that commercialization brought to a clearly doomed utopian experiment. If you were there, this is a great memory piece; if you weren't there, this might help you understand the power of that transforming time.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2005
I have played this movie at least three times a week since purchasing it. I never tire of it. It gives me inspiration to go out and face an excruciatingly dull and dreary world--even without dropping acid!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2011
The Cockettes were an in-your-face, hippie, drug-and-drag theatrical collective. There was nothing too outrageous or offensive that they wouldn't do. They existed for a very brief time in San Francisco but while they existed they became a local legend. We flocked to their midnight shows at the Palace Theatre in North Beach. Their performances made it possible for many later mainstream performers to present exuberant and outrageous shows. Without the Cockettes, John Waters would probably have been simply a strange little man in Baltimore, Ziggy Stardust would never have become a rock persona, Bette Midler would never have become the divine Miss M, and Divine would probably have just been an overweight Baltimore transvestite named Harris Glenn Milstead, instead of an underground legend.

This video should be required viewing for every student of contemporary American history, although it's guaranteed to turn conservative's hair white. For that reason alone it should be preserved as a cultural artifact in what has become a drab and dreary country.

Those were the days ...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
this film captures the real energy of the hippie movement before it got called that by Time magazine. while I was not there in SFO at that time, I was living on a commune, exploring many of the same things. The drug use at that time was so very different than it became later. It was part of the shattering of the rigid boundaries of society and reality and artistic expression. and while it didn't produce great art, it truly was a miracle of rare device. This film captures it all - the fun, the daring, the tawdry, the collapse, the ravaging effect of AIDS as time went by. A rare and precious window into a time we can still learn from!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2012
I was at some of the outrageous & hilarious live performances in San Francisco. 40+ years later I still remember them & the DVD helps me share those memories. My descriptions cannot do justice to their bawdy genius. I'm so glad it was available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2011
I had heard of Divine, only through her music and was unaware of his start. i had seen the movies BUT this archival documentary bring it all back into one place and a specific time. the Cockettes were a product of the turbulant 60's in USA but in San fransicso that could be anyone they wanted, and they were.
The inclusion of the old footage is well worth the price along, and most of these relic get lost or jusy thrown out.
It is a marvellious tribute to mostly now dead trailblazers.Well recommended,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
"The Cockettes" is a very well-done documentary on the "gender-bender" performance troupe during the late 60s and 70s. This was the "golden age" of LGBTQ San Francisco - before AIDS took the "p" out of "party" (a gross understatement). We can thank The Cockettes for introducing us to Sylvester and Divine who are, sadly, no longer with us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2010
This full two hour documentary does a great job of transporting you back to the early 1970s in San Francisco. Hippies and counter-culture and just the effort to be outrageous and original! The interviews and clips of their various art and theater projects are great to see and hear. Pot and poetry everywhere and The Cockettes creative spirit lives on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
what a story! Haight/Asbury San Francisco reminiscence. Shows the great difference between what was happening in California and what was the conceited attitude on the stages of New York.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here