Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 78 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 117 reviews
on April 16, 2016
Brilliantly disturbing. Terrence Stamp is a revelation of complexity in a remarkable performance. There are fear and fire, stunted child development and lustful adult desire to name just a few of the enigmatic contradictions in this absorbing character study. This is just one of many awesome "angry young man" films coming out of Britain in the sixties. Stamp stands shoulder to shoulder with Burton in Look Back in Anger, Harris in This Sporting Life and Finney in Saturday Night and Sunday Morning. And so many more anmes (O'Toole, Connery, Caine)....phenomenal group of peers earning every accolade they got and were to receive. Check out Stamp many years later in The Limey. Spectacular!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
It was a fantastic movie from 1965, and although most of the movie involved the interaction between only two people, a psychopathic Freddie Clegg and his captive, beautiful art student, Miranda Grey, it was exciting as each part of the movie unfolded. The movie begins with Clegg, having won $200,000 finding an old Tudor House with a large root cellar which he turns into something similar to a dungeon. Clegg follows Miranda, who is now his prey, as she walks home and then he kidnaps her. A superb performance by Samantha Eggar as Miranda was both dynamic and compelling as she tries to understand and counter Clegg's psychopathic behavior as his prisoner. Terrence Stamp also gives an excellent performance as jailer Freddie Clegg as he disguises Clegg's true madness until key parts of the movie, however it is Samantha Eggar's superb performance that makes Miranda come alive and grab your heart and cause you care for Miranda's wellbeing. You want to help Miranda, but then you realize that she is alone with a madman and that you are only an observer and there is nothing you can do to help her. The key scene in the movie is where Clegg starts an argument with Miranda on the book "Catcher in the Rye" which is Miranda's favorite book and he calls the book pointless. Miranda defends the book only to find Clegg show excruciating anger as he realizes that Miranda has not fallen in love with him and today is the day that he has promised to free her. You cry for Miranda as Clegg storms out of the cellar, locking door behind him as a crying Miranda lays at the bottom of the door saying "O let me be free". Your expectations of Miranda's wellbeing is now changing and you are not sure if she going to come out this ordeal alive. The movie is full of these sort of twists as you watch Clegg descend into greater madness and become more of a threat to Miranda's survival. There have been suggestions that the "The Collector" should be remade, but that is nonsense. William Wyler 1965 version is so superb that a remake would be nothing but disappointing as it is the definitive version of "The Collector" and likewise Samantha Eggar is the definitive Miranda Grey and Terence Stamp is the definitive Freddie Clegg. Toward the very end of the movie, Samantha Eggar's sensitive performance grabs you by the heart again, as a very ill Miranda try's to convince Clegg take her to a hospital for medical treatment. Miranda says to Clegg, "that she doesn't want to die because there is a painting that she wants to do" and then she describes the painting. At that point in her performance, tears begin to flow in Samantha Eggar's eyes. As I watched the scene unfold, tears also formed in my eyes, as I considered Miranda's situation. It is also in color which utilizes Samantha Eggar's beautiful face, exquisite auburn hair, and wonderful creamy complexion.

I recommend that you purchase "The Collector" DVD for your DVD collection as it such a gem of a suspense movie. I have purchased several copies just in case they stop producing this wonderful 1965 version of "The Collector" as it is movie that you will never forget, once you have seen it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2011
I've been a big fan of William Wyler's The Collector since I first saw it on television in the late `70's. Even pot-holed with commercials, John Fowles' tale of the lonely and creepy Freddie Clegg and his victim, Miranda was totally absorbing. The end was a complete surprise and the legend of how film got pass UK's rating's people is almost as interesting as the film itself.

Many people over the years have already covered the range of impressions of the film, the acting, the plot, etc. This review will concern itself with the recently released (late 2011) Blu-Ray version of the film.

First off, the transfer from the 35mm print to Blu-Ray is excellent. The image is a full 1080p along with the original aspect radio of 1:85 - 1. The film's length is the same 119 minutes that's been standard since the original VHS release more than 25 years ago. So fans looking for that elusive Eggar frontal nude shot will not find it on this release either.

What you will find are colors that are in perfect balance and, at the same time, really pop.
Picture details of Clegg's cellar, the grass and bushes outside his home, etc that are amazing. Who knew all these years that Stamp wore different colored BLUE suits? All this new clarity brings to life (art director) John Stoll's and (set director) Frank Tuttle's marvelous work. By the way, don't be discouraged by the close up shots of Eggar and sometimes Stamp that appear slightly out of focus. They were intentionally shot that way (soft focus); an old camera trick that dates back to the `30's.

The voice and soundtrack is mono. Nothing we can do about that. Seems to me the sound's been EQ'd a bit for better fidelity, that's about it. Overall this is, by far, the best version of The Collector you can see. My only wish is that additional extras including interviews with the two leads (or better yet, running commentary) would have made this Blu-Ray absolutely perfect.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
Saw this movie a long time ago and found it on Amazon of course, Amazon has everything I swear! Love this movie! It is a classic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2013
I'm not much of a writer But I just want to say that this Movie was one of my Favorites. I was 15 when this came out and I remember seeing it at my local Movie House That has been long torn down. I had a VHS copy of this that I was happy with till this awesome Blu Ray was released. For a Low budget movie I really didn't expect much other than a copy that out last my VHS. Much to my suprise this Blu Ray blew me away, I would advise anyone who is a fan of this classic to pick up a copy on Blu Ray, I know you will be thrilled. A review that I had read said there was a scene cut out but damn if I can pick it out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
When I first saw this movie, it scared the hell of me! The more I watched it, the more I saw how amazing Stamp and Egger are in it! Mr. Stamp absorbs himself into the character of Freddie. You see the loneliness, the frustration, the longing for a love he wants but lacks the social skills needed to achieve this. Ms. Egger captures the all of the emotions of a captive bird, who wants to be free and knows in her soul that no matter what she does, she will become part of "the collection."
Great movie! One of my favorite of Terence Stamp's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
Although this film came out many years ago, I think it still holds up pretty well. You get to see a very young Terrance Stamp and a lovely, beautiful, young Samantha Eggar. I had the good fortune to travel onboard a cruise ship with Ms. Eggar back in the 1990s, specifically around Australia and Tasmania, I believe it was. (I was a crew member and she was a passenger). As I had a few opportunities to talk to her, it made seeing this movie even more special to me. In the movie, Terrance Stamp collects butterflies and it appears that he's also starting to collect beautiful ladies, beginning with Samantha Eggar.Stamp's character alternates between being passively and actively creepy. Certainly not a nice fellow! Not sure how well known this movie is here in the States, but it's one which I can highly recommend as being a definite dramatic thriller. 100% British in look and feel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2017
Saw it when it first came out and it still gave me chills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
oh to be loved...! That is the question? or does the end justify the means?

Wonderful movie on so many levels.
It is reminiscent of Peeping Tom (1960), The Servant (1963), Lilith (1964), and Blind Beast (1969).
A profound study of deep emotional struggle with ones psychotic infatuation, border-lining on serial killer/stalker instincts.
Terence Stamp is perfect in the role of a young man obsessed with finding love---but not in the conventional type of way.

Bottom line:

-very Hitchcockian
-this is one sick movie
-great study of human psychological despair
-all future psychologists should watch this
-innovative topic for its time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2017
Great classic film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99

Need customer service? Click here