Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Complete Book of Finches and Softbills: Their Care and Breeding
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 7, 2003
I think this is a very good, detailed book for someone new to finches & softbills. At times, it flips back & forth between finches & softbills in a paragraph, which can be confusing for a novice, but it's easy to figure out. It has enough nice pictures to give a good overview of many species, but is not a "picture book" - it is for someone who is serious about the birds and their care. Early on it has a section of compatability which is useful and neccessary. It has a lot of details on aviary housing (many finch books do), and bird rooms, which isn't useful to the average home/apt. bird owner, but more information is better than too little. It is definitely a good resource book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2003
This book does not cover the different types of finches & softbills. It is very general information only, on breeding and care of finches & softbills, no help to the person wanting more specific info. on the different types of finches and their care.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2010
I found this book easy and very informative. It adds great valuable information and demonestrations about wide varieties of finches
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
This book is worth buying.
It is well written, informative and beautifully presented. The book came as a laminated "Paperback", not a "Hard Cover" as advertised. This is a shame because it would have made a really good Coffee-Table Book, but for the price it is well worth it.

I would recommend The Finch Handbook to anyone getting started in the care and raising of these beautiful little creatures. It is difficult to find information for the advanced bird keeper, so if you do not already have this book, I would read and enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
Excellent book for breeding info but was hoping that the book supplied an identification guide for finches as well which was not the case.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
Answered many questions about pet birds. It met my needs regarding my pet finches. I would recommend this to a new pet bird owner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2014
Mold on the back cover of book which was not put in the explanation. Book is a great resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2016
A useful book, but not as complete as Softbills: Care, Breeding, and Conservation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2003
This book encapsulates the best possible groundwork for the beginner to still leaqrning softbill fan. Comprehensive care and breeding "how to's"
I enjoyed this book immensely and learned some breeding tips even.Thanks
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2015
Great book that has been very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse