Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 72 reviews
on December 2, 2016
Actor James Woods said, "There is Bette Davis---and then there is everybody else." This is one of her greatest films, for some reason, rarely shown. It's a feminist story--as were many of her films--but it's also a tale about the fight against provincial thinking and despair. Kids who take their educations for granted, should see what people used to go through if they wanted a real education, and what they were up against. It's a story of realized hopes, dreams and ambitions against very intimidating odds and attitudes. Inspirational. From the stage play, and with a fine, ensemble cast, this will become part of your library, and a go to film, when you are down. Buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
In my earlier years, I really didn't have an appreciation for Bette Davis. I believe this film was the turning point for me! I had seen it on TCM at one time and was completely taken by the performance she gave, and I immediately began seeking out her other films; I have not been disappointed.

In this movie, her role as a feisty, determined, dedicated school teacher in a working class village in Wales conveys a depth of spirit and wisdom that carries the film. She is unflappable under stress and undeterred by obstacles, qualities which are sorely needed to educate illiterate coal miners' children and their kin. Her star pupil is at once reluctant and eager, cooperative and stubborn, a nice match for Davis' staid and determined position. His achievements are her reward, and they give her the impetus to keep going when it looks like she has met her match in a situation which threatens to undo all the good she has done. Not wanting to inject a spoiler here, let it suffice to say that she overcomes the obstacle with grit and determination and saves the day.

The setting, scenery, and contributing skill of the other actors in the film lend a great deal to the overall beauty of this drama. I especially liked the lighting, shadows and interior shots of the rooms where Davis ("Miss Moffat") resides and works--they cast a glow and sense of serenity in the midst of the harshness of the hard reality in the lives of the townspeople.

I love this film and am thrilled to have it my collection!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
The Corn is Green is a classic movie. The DVD is excellent quality, but it doesn't have captions or subtitles. What gives? The setting for this movie is in Wales, and all the characters are either English or Welsh, some with strong accents. Without captions, you struggle with accents, miss a lot of the story, and it's certainly not as enjoyable as it should be. When this movie is shown on Turner Classic Movies, it has captions. The makers of the DVD cut corners. Normally, I'd give this movie 5 stars, but without captions, the best I can do is 3 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
Bette Davis at her finest. I always enjoy watching this and have seen it numerous times. A must see for all classic movie buffs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2017
Classic Bette Davis in a softer, sentimental role than what is the norm for her. The film is based on the autobiographical novel of the same name and is a wonderful story of the young coal miner Davis' character mentors along the road to higher education despit huge obstacles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2012
This is a great classic film based an a classic play with incredible characters, endearing plot and a wonderful performance by Bette Davis playing a beloved character. I don't understand why this film has not been released as a DVD. It is a charming story with a restrained and very effective performance by Bette Davis. I saw this films many years ago on TV and used to own the VHS. The film is very memorable and I hope someday to have the DVD. There are lesser Bette Davis movies on DVD, so why not release this great one!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
This movie wasn't well known as a Bette Davis hit. It should have been. From the moment she walks onto the screen you get the bang for your buck. A middle aged school teacher moves to a poor mining town where illiteracy runs rampant. Boys at a very young age quit school and work in the mines to help support their families. Along comes a school teacher who wants to change all of that. One student in particular catches her eye and she spends her time educating him so he may go to college and leave the poverty stricken life he would have had if not for education. There are also some twists and turns almost keeps this young man from his destiny. A terrific movie. I highly recommend this movie and believe it will become one of your favorites too!+
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
Anything Bette Davis does is worth the watch, but The Corn is Green is, in my estimation, the jewel of her career. It took far too long for this wonderful film to come out on DVD. But, it's here, and is a must for yourself or as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2009
The Corn Is Green is fine film by the renown Ms.Davis, that gives us a look at the life
of a teacher and her students in 19th century Wales.
With the exception of How Green was My Valley, (who's plot line runs similar.) there aren't many film set in that beautiful country.
But my question is, Why hasn't this wonderful movie been included in a Bette Davis
dvd film collection yet? Or offered as a dvd single?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Beautiful performance. Bette Davis is mesmerizing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse