Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$34.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 499 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 886 reviews
on March 7, 2017
After decades of waiting, I took a chance and ordered this even though it is a non-USA format. Had no problems playing it on the PC and did not try it in a DVD player (DVD players are so last century). I of course love this movie and turns out my kids also adore this and are constantly playing it and even have the tongue twisters memorized. Considering Netflix does not even offer this, the price was perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
Wonderfully entertaining movie! Danny Kaye is at his best, singing, dancing and clowning his way through this tongue-in-cheek tale, set in the time of usurping kings, brave knights and fair maidens. Other great actors like Basil Rathbone, Angela Lansbury, and Glynis Johns give terrific perfomances as well, in this story of court intrigue and mistaken identity. They don't make movies like this anymore-- beautiful color, clever dialogue, some lovely songs, and very funny comedy. It's adventure, laughs and music in one happy package! Rent this movie-- it's one of the old classics that you'll never get tired of revisiting, and for Danny Kaye fans, it is a terrific showcase of his truly amazing talents.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2017
I first saw this movie when it came out, loved it then, have loved it my entire adult life. While I quite like Danny Kaye, I don't like his every movie; in my opinion, "The Court Jester" is easily the very best one he ever made. Its only possible contenders in this category being "The Inspector General" and possibly -- I have seen it only once -- "Wonder Man." But the Jester wins hands down. Its excellence may have something to do with the fact that while "The Inspector General" has so far shown up on two of my budget DVD multiple-title collections, "The Court Jester" remains higher-priced and usually alone or with at most one other Kaye movie.
Unfortunately, this past December when I decided finally to give myself the Christmas present of this movie, Amazon had it available only in PAL. Fortunately, a player taking both formats became a necessity of life for me when I could get the Halas & Batchelor Ruddigore only in PAL. But I'm sure "The Court Jester" is going to reappear in NTSC. Perhaps eventually in Blu-ray as well. It's well worth the investment! Not only is it a superb spoof, but it looks as lavish as if it were an actual, serious Hollywood medieval epic of the period. And I think the swordfight between Kaye and Basil Rathbone has to be in the running for the best (if deliberately funniest) such swordplay ever filmed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
What a classic! Danny Kaye is so under-appreciated. This movie is one of his best—a great film. However, it is hard to find. But thru Amazon, I found a seller and it arrived ahead of schedule before Christmas. I'm hoping for a Danny Kaye BluRay collection one day. In the meantime, this DVD is a great find.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2017
I love the movie. However, the DVD released in 2017 is a dye-based DVD-recordable, not a true DVD where the data are physically imprinted into an aluminum layer. This disc is likely to degrade after a few years.

It is, however, unlocked, so it is possible to copy the movie onto your hard drive or an M-Disc archival DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2011
Without a doubt this is one of the most hilarious musical comedies. Danny Kaye at his very best with his play on words, fake foreigh language routines, double talk and comedic expressions. Also the rest of the cast is wonderfully funny, all of which are known for their serious dramatic roles. Angela Lansbury is both beautiful and wonderful as the princess. The film is a take off of every Robin Hood and Knights In Shinning Armor story, and the "Knighting" of the jester scene is fall down laughing hilarious. There are so many stand-alone funny scenes that it's hard to pick a favorite. The movie has always been a family favorite with both my children and now with my grand children. My six year old grandson asks to see it almost everytime he visits. This is truely a Family Film. Watch it together and after you will find yourselves repeating much of the routines, from "Get it-Got it" to the "deaf grandchild" and the "pellet with the poison" routine. The movie has become a kind of cult film among lovers of comedy movies and has appeared on several greatest comedies of all time lists.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2011
Cecil Parker is perfectly cast as the idiosyncratic usurper king. Basil Rathbone is excellent as the king's villainous noble henchman. Angela Lansbury offers the humorous love interest, with great aplomb and fine diction. Yet the whole thing is bound together by two things. First is Danny Kaye at his brilliant and musical best. Secondly is the script. If you take the trouble to analyse it, there seems to be not a redundant word, let alone a wasted phrase. Some serious film reviewers marvel at the climatic sword fight between Errol Flynn and Basil Rathbone in Robin Hood. The sword fighting sequence between Kaye and Rathbone is not only blindingly skilful but also incredibly funny. It is a sheer joy to watch, again and again and again!

Ian Hunter.
Author of The Early Years E-Love E-Dreams E-World
Three Interludes Love's Anatomy Conversations
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
Hilarious! I've watched this movie ever since I was a kid, and it still makes me laugh A LOT. Fun, silly, and very clever. A movie for when you are in a good mood and for when you need to cheer up from a bad mood. If I even mention it to my friends on FB, they start quoting it back to me. A true classic! No one should play the Jester except Danny Kay. Yea, verily yea!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2017
What can I say? This 1950s classic was so well produced that its production quality will always be fresh and shiny!
This thing showcases to the ultimate the talents of Danny Kaye, the young and lovely Angela Lansbury, and everyone involved in any way with the magical story it tells.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
This may be the best of the Danny Kaye movies. It's a wonderful take-off on age-of-chivalry period dramas, and Kaye is brilliant. And once heard, "the vessel with the pestle" patter is never to be forgotten. Mildred Natwick has great comic timing, and Basil Rathbone is the sly, dastardly villain. There are mistaken identities, doublets and hose, clever songs and dances, maidens in distress, and castles and derring-do enough for all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse