Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 9, 2008
Overall, I thought this was a good book. It gives a good history of the team and the pictures that are used throughout the book are fantastic. Unfortunately, there are quite a few minor factual errors that were made that take away from the experience.

For example, when talking about the Cubs' collapse at the end of the 2004 season, they said Ryan Dempster blew a 3-0 ninth inning lead against the Mets in a game that kick started the collapse. While the blown game and the way in which it was lost is correct, it was LaTroy Hawkins who blew the game, NOT Dempster. In fact, they even said Hawkins had the day off and that was why he was not pitching.

Another example is just one page later when they are describing the Cubs' off-season moves before the 2007 season. They said that the Cubs "re-signed" Mark DeRosa. The problem with that is that DeRosa didn't play for the Cubs in 2006, so they didn't re-sign him, they just signed him as a free agent.

There are other errors like these throughout the book. While they aren't huge errors and don't take away from the overall feel of the book, they are simple factual errors that should not have been made when giving a history of the Cubs, especially considering the relative ease in which the correct facts could be found. If not for these mistakes, I most likely would have given the book five stars.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2007
I have more than 125 books on the Cubs, and this certainly ranks among the top three or four. Not only is it an informative and detailed history, but it's readable as well. The pictures alone are just fascinating to browse through and pore over, and it's obvious that a skilled editor oversaw the entire project. A must-have book for any Cubs fan.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
As a native Chicagoan and diehard Cub fan for many years I find this book to be an excellent historical account about the Cubs that every baseball fan will enjoy reading. Go Cubs Go! Finally, I think this is the year of the Chicago Cubs.
So I encourage every baseball fan to read this book, I give it five stars, and I'm Marvin P. Ferguson, author of Boys On The Gold Coast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon February 15, 2013
There is much to recommend this book. It is about as thorough a history of the Cubs as I have read, one that gives ample coverage to every era in Cubs' history, even reaching further back than the founding of the National League in 1876, during the era when the White Stockings (the predecessors of the Cubs and not to be confused with the team from Chicago's South Side) toiled in the National Association. Moreover, Glenn Stout, the author, writes in a lively, engaging fashion, weaving in statistics (which, when relevant, as they are in this book, are never boring) with enough interesting anecdotes to keep every Cubs fan satisfied. Stout is willing to share space with a number of other authors, such as Scott Turow and the late Mike Royko, whose essays grace the pages of this book. Finally, a significant number of photographs break up the monotony of the two-column text and provide a sense of presence to the reader.

So, why isn't it a great book? For whatever reason, the author chose not to include any color photographs. I realize that so doing would probably add to the cost of the book. But this being a "coffee table" book, one that is not cheap to begin with, a few dollars more wouldn't have made much difference. Some color photographs would have considerably livened up the presentation.

Finally, a few more charts in the Appendix would have proved useful. While Stout includes a chart that gives the Cubs' record each year, where the team finished in the standings, and the name of the manager for that year, listing the yearly leader in average, homeruns, wins, ERA, etc., would have been a welcomed addition. (Also, for some reason, the Cubs' record for 1876 is missing. For those who want to know, the Cubs finished first in the initial season of the National League with a 52-14 record. Albert Spalding was the manager.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2007
If you are looking for a great gift for a Sports Fan and better yet Cubs Fan then this is the best book! I bought this for my boyfriend and he loved it! The book contains great history and facts that even I didn't mind reading. The book also looks great on a coffee table and was way cheaper than at Barnes and Noble!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
Hubby said that this was an awesome gift, he read it front to back in 1 day, he works a very busy schedule so that was amazing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2007
I am very pleased with this book. Going to make excellent gift for the Chicago Cubs history buff in my family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2009
I gave this to my boss for Christmas, and he seemed very happy about getting it. I had it shipped to him, so I didn't get to see quality or look through the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2007
I have just about all "Cubs history" books, this is the best. Real depth, not just BS and "oh why can't we win". This gives REASONS and reality plus great history and unique pictures. Well worth the cost and time reading. You won't be so quick to chew Wrigley gum either as a lot of the blame goes to P.K. that we just can't seem to shake off! Anyway, its 99 years and counting and NEXT year has to be our year, we deserve one every 100 years!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2016
My grandfather is a lifelong Cubs fan and has enjoyed this tremendously!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse