Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
46
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 46 reviews
VINE VOICEon August 5, 2007
Okay, the 2008 United States Presidential Elections are more than a year away and it looks like there is no escaping it no matter how hard you try but despite the political upheaval of our country. The 2004 presidential election coverage was handled with style, slickness, and humor by Jon Stewart, Stephen COlbert, Samantha Bee, Rob Corddry, Ed Helms and their guests like Hardball's Chris Matthews, Ted Koppel, Senator John MCCain, and others. I love how they present the two hosting cities of Boston and New York City. It's kind of funny how New York City is categorized as the home of Greenwich Village, moral decay, Harlem, Spanish Harlem and English as a third language and hosting the whoops, The Republican Convention. While Boston hosted the Democratic convention which boasts liberal values like same sex marriages and abortions for everyone. You can't help thinking that the two cities should have been switched. Corddry visits his hometown of Boston. Stewart doesn't have to room with Boston University students. Stephen Colbert is always hilarious as well as Samantha Bee, Rob Corddry, Ed Helms, and others. Who can forget the Zell Miller incident at the Republican Convention challenging Chris Matthews to a dual. I keep reminiscing of the Saturday Night Live sketches with Chris Mattews and Zell Miller. My sister who lives and works in London has missed the Daily Show and COlbert REport so she got this DVD package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
After watching indecision 2012 on Comedy Central i decided to buy this, and i definitely do not regret it! This provides great coverage of the election and is also very funny to watch because Stephen Colbert is still one of Jon's correspondents, and because half of the videos are of Barack Obama and Joe Biden comes on the show, just strange to see them before they even ran!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2006
i live in sydney, australia and know very little about the machinations of u.s politics, but i do know from bill hicks , al franken , mike moore to a lesser extent and now john stewart, that it is ripe for parody.

this 3 disc set was for the most part pretty hilarious stuff, the comic timing of jon stewart is impeccable, i loved his appearances on larry sanders many years back, and he's just as sharp today.

his regular daily show episodes periodically appear on sbs (the cultural intelligent channel here in sydney...the same channel that shows "oz" and "queer as folk") but i'd never seen these before.

i'd love to see al franken and jon stewart join forces, man that would be something else.

but i have to say, the line that stephen colbert says at the republican party convention, when he's squeezing through a throng of people "boy , it's tight in here,.i feel like a turd of liberty being squeezed out through the colon of independence" is the hardest i've laughed in years.

stephen colbert is pure comic genius, as is mr stewart.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
Surely dated now but still funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2014
Fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2014
I watch the daily show with John Stewart quite a bit and he's always made me laugh so I figured that this would be a good buy. It wasn't. I've watched the whole first disk and I can honestly say that I've laughed twice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2005
Living in Australia we get a 20 minute Global Edition highlights episode of The Daily Show each week... if they actually screen it (Some weeks they just don't play it!). 20 minutes isn't enough so I ordered this DVD. IT IS BRILLIANT. These guys are frighteningly intelligent. It is gut-bustingly hilarious. The extras are worthy of a mention also (Steve Carrell dancing to "I Feel Good" while interviewing - too funny.)

There is nothing bad about this DVD. There is nothing boring on this DVD. There is nothing on this DVD that won't make you laugh out loud. PLEASE release more episodes of the Daily Show. Anything. Highlights DVD's would be great. Entire series. When will Australia learn that THIS is what comedy is all about.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
RECEIVED.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2005
This DVD set is fantastic. It includes all the shows aired during the DNC and RNC conventions, and the extras include many of the funniest election-related featurettes done by the correspondants. Jon Stewart is my hero, and it's great to be able to turn him on whenever I feel like it!

The best thing about "The Daily Show" is its ability to poke fun at blowhards on the left and right of the spectrum. Watching Jon Stewart's spectacular takedown of the people who marginalized Al Sharpton after his electrifying convention speech is truly a thing of beauty. Not even frequent "Daily Show" guest Brian Williams was safe. However, Stewart's liberal leanings are not easy to hide, especially when you compare his treatment of the Sharpton speech to his treatment of Zell Miller's similarly electrifying oration at the RNC. Both men have been guests of his on the show. (Well, Sharpton was actually Colbert's guest, and that hilarious interview is included in the extas.)

Also among the extras are the broadcasts of the election night coverage and the show they did after the first debate, an animated "School House Rock"-style demo of mid-term elections, John Edwards' announcement of his presidential candidacy, and commentary on select features. The set is well worth the money because it's chock-full of funny tidbits. And just like "America: The Book", every single part of it is funny, including the blurbs on the packaging.

My favorite extra by far is the rendition of the National Anthem that Samantha Bee, Stephen Colbert, Rob Corddry and Ed Helms do in harmony. It's funny, because everything they do seems to be funny, but it actually is an honest-to-goodness performance not meant to be humorous per se. Who knew they could sing? Maybe the next "Daily Show" project will be a CD!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2006
Having only recently been fully introduced to The Daily Show and the Colbert report on Comedy Central (I have no idea how I havent been watching sooner) I didnt know what to expect from this set, but being a big fan of politics, and especially shows that satire the subject, I had high hopes and wasn't disappointed. While the segments that didnt contain Jon Stewart or Steve Colbert (and Steve Carrell pre-superstardom) sometimes fell flat, the rest was pure magic. Watching Steve Colbert make Don King make a fool of himself was classic, and not to mention the irony of what actually ended up happening in the election and the continuing war in Iraq makes it an interesting watch. If you love political comedy, or "fake news" as Jon Stewart calls it, then this is the show for you
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse