Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 399 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 548 reviews
on August 29, 2016
This tongue-in-cheek comedy was a delight to watch, mainly because of its series of peculiar unfolding events that befall three estranged brothers making their way through India by train and taxi to seek their recluse mother, an improbable situation at best. "It's all about the journey", as other reviewers have noted, although one could glimpse a deeper meaning to the odyssey if it weren't quite so silly. Alternatively, one might imagine following long-ago tracks of the Beatles, who did stints in India to help make sense of all the money they were making. Anyway, three rousing cheers for director Wes Anderson and the same for colorful India itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
This was the third of Wes Anderson's movies I had seen other than The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou that I saw at the movies and didn't like. The Grand Budapest Hotel,which I loved,was second. I loved this film too and the performances of Adrien Brody,Jason Schwartzman, and Owen Wilson were excellent. I found it at times hysterically funny,poignant and sad. I felt like it was going on vacation to a place you really love and before your trip has ended,already thinking about the next time you'll go there.Seeing this prompted me to buy most of Wes Anderson's other movies.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
This sort of movie I always say, takes "an adquired taste". If you liked movies such as The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (The Criterion Collection),The Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore, then you will be right at home with The Darjeeling Limited.

A story of three brothers traveling through India; this tale will have you scratching your head from time to time. It is amazing how the director always acomplishes a feeling of familiarity and weirdness that makes each movie a rare jewl in their own terms. This movie is not for everybody, some of my friends have found it to be boring and pointless, but like I said above, if you have seen any of the movies I've listed, then you will pretty much understand the formula of each.

At its current price, The Darjeeling Limited shouldn't be passed. I would recommend you watch the ones listed above to truly appreciate Wes Anderson's style. This has been another weird, yet familiar ride that I enjoyed from start to credits.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
A film that deals with the relationships of brothers, and of course as all Wes Anderson movies do, with dads, The Darjeeling Limited is a literal and figurative journey for the Whitman brothers struggling to deal with the death of their father. Through the brothers' interactions and a single flashback we learn a lot about the family's dynamic and the boys spend the rest of the film on brother Francis' (Owen Wilson) spiritual journey trying to fill the void left gaping by their father's death, forcing them to deal with their own issues with eachother. Although this was one of Anderson's worst reviewed films, I believe it to be one of his best. If not for the "on the nose" symbolism of their fathers baggage, this would be an almost perfect film, in my opinion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 2, 2008
The first Wes Anderson movie I saw was "Rushmore," and it has always been my favorite--perhaps because it was the first I saw. I have enjoyed all of Anderson's other films, but "The Darjeeling Limited" is, like Rushmore - Criterion Collection a special favorite.

"Darjeeling" has the elements we have come to expect from Anderson: eccentric characters, exploration of family (and family-like) relationships, beautiful visuals and settings, interesting music. etc. And, of course, it features some of the familiar family of actors who have appeared in previous films, including Owen Wilson, Jason Schwartzman, Anjelica Huston and Bill Murray.

This is not to say that Anderson's films are all the same. Each is a unique journey, but the writer/director has put his stamp on them to make each a "Wes Anderson" film, as surely as other great directors have done. Where but in a Wes Anderson film could a train get lost and go off course?

If you have enjoyed other Anderson films, you will definitely want to see "Darjeeling." If you have not seen any of his previous films, you might start with this one and/or "Rushmore." In many ways, these two films may be his most accessible.

Although the movie is wonderful, the DVD is somewhat disappointing. The packaging is very plain and the only extras are the "Hotel Chevalier" short and a making-of documentary. No commentary track or other extras. Guess we have to wait for the Criterion Collection DVD for those.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
This is a fantastic film. The visuals are exquisite, the actors are hilarious, perfect. Three brothers,now leading totally unconnected lives, on an unexpected "spiritual journey" at the behest of the ridiculously controlling eldest brother (Owen Wilson)following their father's death, on a train. Searching (per eldest brother's plan) for their mother's who has bailed to a nunnery in the Himalayas. If you've seen a Wes Anderson film, see this one. Adrian Brody, the brooding middle brother, Jason Swcharzman, the lively sex-charged youngest. They just look so funny and mismatched together, and by the end, you see that they ARE brothers. If you haven't seen one of his films, start with this one. It is so funny, thought provoking, esoteric. Exotic scenery. Beautiful. Wes Anderson is a genius.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
What a brilliant film. Collaborative communication is a concept the world could use & be a better place IMHO. The movie is not one you can watch only once to understand it. It needs to be watched several times. I still haven't figured out the purpose of the businessman character played by Bill Murray. There is a scene with a young boy is holding a pistol… I won't give the plot away, but that too adds a factor that makes the movie so interesting to me. A definite 5 star film & one you can watch over and over without being put to sleep.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2010
While this got very mixed reviews from the critical establishment, I found I really enjoyed it. Wes Anderson's style is consistent with his earlier films; the same great use of pop music, great tracking shots, low key, oddball humor and detailed performances. But here, in the story of three brothers trying to re-connect on a trip to India, there's once again a human, emotional core under the absurdity. Not perfect, but better than 98% of what's getting made.

The Criterion Blu-Ray is really gorgeous, but I gotta say the regular DVD, non-Criterion release still has quite a nice image. Go for the Criterion if you can, but if cost is a big factor better to get the plain old DVD than not get the film at all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2017
Watched this for a film study class final paper and thought it was very entertaining, even though I was watching it very late into the night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2017
Great film. It went on a bit too long. But Wes Anderson is a unique filmmaker. Doesn't disappoint if you enjoy his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here