Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Listen for a chance to win STEM Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy Despicable Me 3 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 27, 2017
A superb journey through the Dark Ages clarified excellently by Waldemar Januszczak in 4 glorious episodes on the brilliant efforts brought to light in architecture, art and achievements of their time. Recommended for those wanting understanding of the art and historic events and accomplishments of peoples who have been obscured by popular history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
This is a great series. Januszczak is ribald and irreverent, but amidst all of the full-throated jocularity are some amazing insights into how the "Dark Ages" help to advance the arts, religion and science in the so-called Dark Ages. It's particularly insightful in its treatment of how Jesus is requisitioned by the Roman Empire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
Waldemar Januszczak takes you there and walks you around. What could be better than that! While one would love to go and see things first hand, unfortunately for some of us that just isn't in the cards financially. Keep up the good work Waldemar and I'll keep watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2016
Enjoyable. Informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2016
There's a lot of misinformation in the series, I had to stop watching after the first episode.

Constantine I granted religious freedom to the empire through the Edict of Milan in 313 CE. This allowed followers of any religion including Christians to worship publicly and prompted the return of property that had been seized by the state. [...]

This freedom was revoked in 380 CE by Theodosius I who made Christianity the empires sole religion. [...]
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2017
Very informative and entertaining. Januszczak makes art history fun and cool! Love all of his videos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
Great shows - except episode #4 is not watchable - it has been reported by many people but amazon is not fixing the issue
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2016
A fresh and very interesting look at a neglected and often misunderstood era in history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
The subjects addressed are very interesting. This guy's demeanor and voice are grating...they detract from the subject matter. Someone else should have been the host/narrator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2016
This is an interesting series that did fill in a few pieces of information that I had not known. Overall it is a great series, but less images of the speaker, and more shots of the subjects would have gotten it 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here