Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on June 11, 2015
This is a well researched and well written on a subject of great interest to me - film noir. Mr. Hirsch explains the background of noir, lighting, camera angels, femme fatales, plots and subplots - and all done clearly and well. If you are a convinced student of film noir or you've just been introduced to the genre, I recommend this book highly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
Love this book,one of the best ones on Film Noir
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Illuminating book on Film Noir. I'm learning a lot in my class. I also recommend The Dark Side of the Screen: Film Noir by Foster Hirsh, which may be a little more readable.

Be sure to see the late film noir movie from 1966, Seconds, with Rock Hudson, free on YouTube. Another good movie on YouTube is The Hitch-Hiker, from 1953 - riveting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
Wonderful book, definitely the ' go to book' on film noir.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
The author presents an encyclopedic analysis of the evolution of the genre. This is not a how to that defines what is or is not a noir or how shoot a noir, it's an authoritative collection of a genre through a specific time period that shows the reader what to watch to understand the tapestry of noir better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
A superb and in-depth study, one that is highly informative yet reads like anything but a dry textbook. I recommend that any new fan of film noir delve into this book first before reading others. After this one, see Nicholas Christopher's 'Night and the City.'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
My sons loved this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
Yeah!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
The more I read the more suspicious I became of the author's personal judgments - they seemed old-fashioned. I finally checked the copyright date: 1981. I had wanted a more up-to-date study.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
I had a boyfriend, and he was a fan of Film Noir, a genre which I know little about. But he said he liked it, and that it was good, so I trust in his opinion about it(but nothing else, ha,ha...)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse