Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 69 reviews
on July 27, 2017
Purchased this as a gift for a friend for Christmas. He loved the book. On my reading list!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
gift for my husband
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Perfect, thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Awesome book! Not just a book to read, but a book to internalize.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2017
Sanders does a great service to the church with this book. Sometimes it is thick, but it is worth the trouble. Surprisingly it is also very practical. Since our God is Trinity we ought to seek to know what that means and why that matters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2016
Purchased these for a friend in seminary. They are a book so should be 100% what you are looking for if you have the title and author right. I didn't hear of any issues with quality from him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2016
You know a lot more about the Trinity than you think you do, but maybe you don't think about it much. Sanders helps you bring all that and more back to your conscious mind and heart where you can examine it, tease out its implications and then revel and delight in who God is and what he's done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2016
I really love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2016
This is an excellent popular level study of the Trinity. Fred Sanders offers a profound, yet simple thesis that he successfully argues. Evangelicals have a tacit Trinitarian doctrine whether understood or not. Sanders makes explicit what evangelicals live implicit in regards to the Trinity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
Any discussion of the Trinity tends to be deep...or nonsensical. Furthermore, deep discussion of the doctrine of the Trinity leaves many Christians with unanswered questions and a nagging desire to know why the doctrine of the Trinity matters at all. The doctrine is touted as central to Christian belief and yet it does not seem to work itself out in day-to-day reality as the Christian life is lived. Or does it?

In The Deep Things of God Fred Sanders makes a call for Christians and Evangelicals, in particular, to “embrace the doctrine of the Trinity wholeheartedly and without reserve, as a central concern of evangelical Christianity” (7). This is because, according to Sanders, “the Trinity is the Gospel” (10). The more we understand the Trinity the more we understand the Gospel and the more we understand the Gospel the more we understand the Trinity. The Trinity and the Gospel are “internally configured toward each other” (9). The Gospel is actually an invitation to participate in the relationship that resides within the Triune God from all eternity. The Trinity contains within itself God’s character, rooted in love, which is worked out naturally in the Gospel.

According to Sanders there is no stream of Christianity more fitted to live in, experience, believe in, and display the Gospel in the Trinity, and the Trinity through the Gospel, than Evangelicals. Trinitarian theology forms the roots and contours of Evangelical Christianity and this tacit belief “must be coaxed out, articulated, and confessed” (12). When the contours of the doctrine are seen to be the very essence of the Gospel, these deep things of God change everything about our Christian lives.

Sanders works out his argument by setting the stage for the discussion at hand with introductory matters in chapters 1-2, then moves into a discussion concerning the Trinity and salvation in chapters 3-5, and chapters 6-7 consider the Trinity and its place within the important Christian practices of Bible reading and prayer. Of note, chapter 4 entitled “The Shape of the Gospel” is a must read. Here Sanders brings such clarity to the Trinitarian shape of the Gospel that salvation shines in new and bigger ways. Salvation history is shown not only to be a plan of salvation for the world but the very way in which God reveals himself (133). Through this revelation we are being invited to participate in the very nature of God as sons through adoption.

Sanders work is loaded with historical theology from known scholars and lesser know theologians that only add to and illuminate the very argument Sanders is making, and sometimes in very colorful ways. Sanders book is also helpful in the ways that it gets at some of the problems of Evangelicalism such as shallowness in theology and the reductionist tendencies of Evangelicals to only focus on the cross and salvation missing the life of Christ before and after the cross. His application of the doctrine of the Trinity provides phenomenal answers to these profound issues.

Sanders work is geared toward anyone with an interest in the Trinity and is aimed at deepening a Christian’s walk with the Godhead. Sanders book is profound and has changed the way I see everything. I highly recommend The Deep Things of God.

*This review originally appeared on [...]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse