Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 204 reviews
on September 9, 2017
Had a hard time keeping my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2014
I really enoyed this book. I assume I was reading true facts from someone who was in a position to know. Whatever, the book seemed to be very fair and balanced betweeen Diana and Charles. It showed more of Diana's true personality, and I identified with her. No one in her life had the idea that any young girl should expect to marry a man that was just true to her. How sad. She had that dream and good for her. if she had just been able to cooexist with Camilla then everything would have been fine. Appreciated the fact that the book covered a lot of details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2007
The book is very well written, probably one of the better "Diana" books to come out this year. You won't find much that you haven't read before (big bibliography at the end, if you've heard of it- it's in there), the most irritating thing about it is that the extensive footnotes are also in the back of the book and they barely lead you to the point of interest on the revelant page. History book style, not tabloid like Christopher Andersen's "After Diana".

No point in rehashing all 542 pages except to say that Ms. Brown would probably get her face slapped by the Princess for some of the content (I think sometimes even fairly so, but it might balance out in the end), she quotes Paul Burrell many times- yet never misses a chance to bash him (that seems to be a very popular thing to do among Diana writers), and has no use for Camilla.

It's worth reading but I won't be taking it off the shelf very often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
Learned a lot, very entertaining. Details I'd never heard, let's you know the true Diana and all the Royal family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2017
Kept me engaged and provided good insight to to the non public Diana. I definitively recommend this as a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2007
i have always been a fan of diana as we were only 6 months apart in our age. this book is very informative, i believe unbiased and gives the facts from both sides. i had never read the actual details of her crash so that was informative. i found i could not put the book down. i couldn't wait to get back to it. i learned so much about the dynamics of the monarchy, and you get the humaness of diana and the struggles she had living in the stuffy rigid monarchy, and her quest to still be herself, and her forever struggle to find love, but yet you get the monarchy's take on diana too. this is a great book!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2007
I could not put this book down! I found my thoughts creeping back to the pages I left behind while I was going about my daily routine of errands & appointments. At first I thought this book would be very anti-Di, but Tina Brown was fair enough to share Princess Diana's positive side as well as Prince Charles's other faults aside from Camilla. I wish though there was more inside scoop on the growing fondness post-separation between Charles & Diana. It would have been super if Tina Brown added pictures! Wonderful read with lots of inside scoop as well as clarifications on some of the myths, rumours & conspiracy theories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Knowing that Tina Brown wrote this book, I purchased it expecting a witty but not necessarily incisive rehash of the life of the late Princess of Wales. I was pleased to find not only plenty of wit and lots of glamour, but also a deep, well researched biography. Brown relied not only on published sources but also on interviews with many of Diana's friends, servants, and relations. This, along with her own experience as a journalist and editor covering Diana, makes The Diana Chronicles an excellent read.

Diana Frances Spencer seemed destined for either obscurity or greatness from the moment of her birth. She disappointed her parents, who desperately wanted a son and heir, and spent her early childhood being more or less ignored in favor of her two older and brighter sisters and her younger brother. Her parents divorced when she was five or six, increasing Diana's isolation and insecurities. During these years she began to develop the maternal instincts for which she became famous and the vindictiveness and cunning for which she was also well known. Brown does an excellent job of describing Diana's antecedents. The Spencer family had been servants and supporters of the Crown for centuries, but as Brown makes clear, it was a Crown and Royal Family which they and other Whig aristocrats controlled and helped create beginning in the eighteenth century. Diana's family home was Althorp House, a magnificent mansion filled with portraits and memories of years of power and influence. Diana was very aware of her heritage and saw herself as a reinforcer and reviver of her family's fortunes.

Diana seems to have hoped and planned for a great marriage from an early age. Brown emphasizes Diana's determination to "keep herself tidy" during her teenage years, when most of her contemporaries were partaking of the benefits/problems of the pre-AIDS Sexual Revolution. Diana's self-control paid off when Prince Charles decided that he needed to get married and needed to marry a girl without a history. Diana was in the right place at the right time, seemed innocent and malleable enough, and most importantly had the blessings of Charles' real love, Camilla Parker-Bowles.

After Diana's marriage reality quickly infringed on the fairy tale. Brown does an equable job of detailing the numerous sins and errors of both Diana and Charles. Like most people she finally comes down on Diana's side, pointing out that had Charles been willing or able to give up Camilla forever Diana would happily have had 10 children by him and been content to become a willing and cooperative member of the House of Windsor. However, Brown also takes care to critically examine and in many cases debunk many of the stories Diana told about the miserable treatment meted out to her, so that Charles and the rest of the Royal Family come out far better than Diana intended.

The best parts of the book deal with Diana's final years and the tragedy of August 31, 1997. It was heartbreaking to read about and re-experience those sad days, but gratifying to see Brown's justification of and sympathy with the actions of the Royal Family during that time. I also appreciated Brown's sympathetic treatment of Diana's numerous physical and emotional problems, including bulimia. These chapters heightened my sympathy and concern for Diana's sons, who must still have psychic scars.

Another reason to read The Diana Chronicles is that it is a chronicle of our own recent history. Diana so dominated the popular press in Europe and America for so many years that everybody, even those who otherwise paid little attention to royalty, saw her as a familiar figure and acquaintance. I saw Diana from a distance several times in the 1980s, and I was interested to find in Brown's account corroboration of things I remembered noticing at the time. I watched her at Trooping the Colour in 1987, when she seemed to be ignoring her husband and actually turned her back on him on the Palace balcony. A few days later, I saw her arrive at the Guildhall in the City of London for a function. As she got out of her car the flashbulbs starting going off and I saw her put her head down and grimace before seeming to take a breath and force herself to go on. The Diana Chronicles helped me understand better what she was probably dealing with at the time, and will help others who never had the chance to see her recognize the pain, sometimes self-inflicted and sometimes not, Diana and her husband and family went through.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2013
This book was very well written and does the very difficult task of showing sympathy to both, the royals and Diana. It is entertaining, but doesn't have the salacious feeling that most gossipy writer's would. I would highly recommend this to any interested parties and thought it was well worth the time spent reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
Very well written with depth and excellent resource material. I might even read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse