Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 55 reviews
on January 10, 2013
I was looking for a more technical/scientific discussion, but this book is geared more for the whiskey drinker who is curious about the process from a very high level. Pictures are vivid and very detailed, but the "interesting" portion of the book, for me, was only about 25 pages in length.

If you're interested in the high level picture of how whiskey is produced, it's a nice book. If you're looking for any sort of details/science/process about the distilling process, this book is probably not what you're looking for.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2013
Hugely informative and very well researched.
The author manages to put forward a very persuasive case for the continuation of and growth of the alcoholic beverage Renaissance currently sweeping North America.

The whole of the book seems to have a playful and light tone about it as can be seen in a quote from Ovid along the lines of "There is more refreshment and stimulation in a nap, even of the briefest, than in all the alcohol ever distilled" At almost the very beginning of the book. The funny part?
The author retorts with a cliff note about Ovid being a "Notorious wet blanket."

It was almost immediately after reading that, that I knew the author and I were on the same page.
Both very serious about our enjoyment of spirits and the magic therin with a chuckling seriousness about the subject of something so timeless that every man and woman across the span of the globe has been able to appreciate since the inception of distillation.

You wont be disappointed by this book if you're looking for the history, production and enjoyment of spirits. Whether it is WhiskEy, Whisky, Scotch, Vodka- It doesn't matter, it's all in this book.
If you're looking for a place to gather information about the from scratch production of spirits, perhaps a few other resources would do you better. However, the author does make some allowances to those regards with diagrams of stills and notes about their operation.

On the whole, a very worth while read for anyone looking to refine their palates or just looking to broaden their horizons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
Whilst this is a great book to learn about the general process, terms and history of distilling Whiskey it certainly doesn't live up to the publishers statement "explore the actual craft of distilling in such detail." In fact, it covers the craft in quite a cursory manner.

That said, it would be an ideal coffee table book (can you have a kindle-based coffee table book?) or primer to the different spirit styles and histories.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
As an amateur distiller, I was looking for tips and tricks, and I didn't find them here. What I did find was a laundry list of different types of spirits throughout history that was very interesting, but not very practical.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2010
The book was in perfect condition but the title totally mis lead me to thinking it was about the art of distilling whiskey and other spirits../
it will never teach anyone anything about distilling
There are some brief overviews which are not in the least way instructional.

If you want beautiful pictures however this book is loaded with them. the pictures are of buildings and bottles.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
this book was enjoyable to read. Don't make the mistake of thinking this is going to be a how-to book. The author does a great job of giving a solid overview of the distilling process and a little bit of distilling history. He also devotes a chapter to each of the major spirits. The book also includes profiles of several distillers. Again, this is not an exhaustive how-to book...it's not supposed to be, but it's informative, interesting and the photography is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2013
The technical/detail in this book is quite limited. Nice photos of some of the craft distilleries - but their websites are almost as good. I WISH this text had more review & dialogue & info or other details abt distilling, but it comes across as a shallow picture book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2013
this is not a how to book. the author covers, in depth, the history of production as well as licensed distillers in current production.
it is a great read if you are wanting to know the origins of each of the different distilled drinks but it wasn't for me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2012
This book only provides a limited detail of still construction and the process of distilling. What it does well is provide you with the point A to B of how distilling took form, how our passion, lifestyle, and local resources have shaped the multitudes of flavors and how governments and responsive artisans have creatively delivered these fruits to you. This book will give you the knowledge to see how every brand at the liquor store has a uniquely designed flavor, which in turn will make the journey to your desired taste like a drive in a luxury car. If you have passion for spirits, you soon will have the respect for every last drop that is the art of distilling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
Did not tell me anything I did not already know. It is an aggregate of advertisements for various small distillers. Not worth the expense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse