Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 50 reviews
on September 6, 2017
Great Book. And from a liberal to boot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
good job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2002
This book is one of the most compelling reads of non-fiction I have ever come across. Without a doubt, this is one of few books I found of real use in college, and I continue to read and reflect upon it to this day. In fact, I would call this book essential for any social studies curriculum.
Arthur Schlesinger takes the issues of a new PC nation and puts them into real perspective. He is both pro-culture and pro-heritage, but he stands against the idea that cultural identity means a seperation of the American People. Taking on a myriad of topics, Schlesinger explains with great simplicity, straight-forwardness, and honesty how multi-culturalism can be taken too far, taken to absurd conclusions. Essentially, Schlesinger is letting us know that not everything is best when it is presented through the eyes of multi-culturalism.
I read the book in a single sitting. Once I started to read, I was drawn in more and more. Even if you don't agree with his premise, Schlesinger writes in such a way that there is no ambiguity to what he is saying. Knowing Schlesinger's politics for some may make this all the more shocking, but I have to ask those who oppose the message of this book whether they are upset that he is saying these things in general, or if they are upset because a "liberal" is saying these things.
In my opinion this book is of critical importance to understand the second half of the 20th century in America.
11 comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
Received book promptly. Excellent book. Very prophetic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2014
thx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
this is a good book to pass down to family and friends. I didn't pay much for this book I really got my monies worth. Now my 14 old daughter is reading it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2014
This is a great and easy read. It fully explains what multiculturalism will and more important will not do for a country. It should be required reading for all teachers and students, especially at the high school and college level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2014
Excellent book by an advisor to John F. Kennedy. This message is critical to America and needs to be re-published.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Required reading...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2016
As boring as i thought it would be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse