Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14 reviews
on May 11, 2011
The Double Traitor is a very readable story set in pre-WWI England. It involves the German spy system (that many were worried existed) and their activities in England to sap the will of the English and prepare for an eventual invasion.

The characters are well done. It's easy for me to root for the main character (who loses his job as a diplomat in Berlin for having dinner with the wrong woman) and I found the main German spy likable as well (of course, that was part of his role to be likable.

It's a fun read.

This review is for the free Kindle version.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2012
With the police hot on his tail, Peter Ruff decides to turn from a life of crime to the more lucrative (and personally safer) life of a private investigator. With his ties to the underworld and his skill at disguise, Peter is the perfect sleuth. Along with his trusted and beautiful assistant, Violet Brown, Mr. Ruff is brilliantly successful in his new career. As his reputation for solving crime grows, he is noticed and adopted as a leader by a large conglomerate of criminals who have chosen to turn their skills to good. Unfortunately, his success also gains the enmity of many people, including his former fiancee's new husband and a notorious German spy. How he outwits these two men-and others-while satisfying his taste for adventure (and possibly falling in love along the way) is told in this delightful collection of short stories by a mystery writer whose talent, unfortunately, has been forgotten by many people. If you are a fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle or Maurice Leblanc or other writers of their ilk, you're sure to enjoy this collection. I certainly did!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2017
Another great spy novel from the past. Even though it is about WW1 it gives great instite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2014
I loved this book the first time I read it. It sorta reads like watching a really good movie. The male hero is not a testosterone and adrenaline driven 300 lb gorilla. He doesn't have a gun. Nobody was subjected to cruel and unusual punishment.
The one dead character was a case of mistaken identity.

This book is a thriller with excellent dialogue, no words were wasted on describing the fashions of the period. It does, however, assume that you know something about what led up to WWl. It's not The Thirty Nine Steps, but another very good book about the same period. I have several Oppenheim books and all are worth taking the time to read them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
There are actually two books with similar titles. This one "Peter Ruff and the Double Four" was published in 1912. The other one is simply entitled "The Double Four" published in 1911. "The Double Four" is a completely different novel. Nevertheless, both are equally well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
Story is set just prior to WWI and is interesting on several levels. Oppenheim builds on the English mentality before WWI and how many of the English just did not believe in a threat from Germany. I like history so getting history with a spy novel with a little love story to go with it was fun to read. I am sure you will enjoy this novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
E. Phillips Oppenheim was an author I originally found at a junk sale. His work is addictive. Peter Ruff has been my favorite of 6 of these works so far. It keeps you interested and wanting to go back to the book to get to the next chapter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2014
Great Transaction - would do business with again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2009
if you're like me and enjoy learning about history through the eyes of fiction, this book is an interesting and enjoyable read. Written after the outbreak of WWI, it covers what people knew about how the war started, but then plays on the suspicions and xenophobia of people towards others. A bit simplistic, but a good read that likely struck a responsive chord at the time. Read in that context.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
This reprint is the poorest quality I've purchased in years. The font looks like an old typewriter manuscript, and the print is quite faint and hard to read. I would have given it one star except for the fact that all the text was presumably included and this title by Oppenheim is hard to find. But I'd rather search for a better copy, even it costs a bit more. I returned it for a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here