Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
23
5 star
96%
4 star
4%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$26.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on April 20, 2017
The artwork within is of course beautiful. A modern master of comic art. Made all the better by the fact he uses more natural proportions but can still pull off the "heroic" look and feel. He makes a good argument that all comic art should be using more natural proportional for it's characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
I believe this is historically one of the BEST books for all aspiring comic book artist or artist in general. Each and EVERy picture within this book wields amazing reference to the human anatomy and serves as great source of reference to use for yourself if you also create art. From the paintings, to the storyboard sketches and character concept sketches everything is done with expert detail, but hey it is Alex "FREAKIN" Ross!!! What more would you expect. Anywho, I could go on, and on about how phenominal the art is in this book so I'll also say that it opens ones eyes to other outlets in the comic world aside for the powerhouse companies of Marvel and DC Comics. Alot of the heroes/heroines portrayed in this book I've NEVER heard of, yet (even though they tend to come off as very OLDSCHOOL), all of them look amazing and are interesting. One of my new favorites so far is Black Terror! With that being said if you are an artist go and buy this TODAY!!! If your are someone who appreciates very well done arts this is a definite buy. My only complaint is that this book is a hardback other than that...GO BUY TODAY!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2011
If you own Mythology, this book is very similiar. It's oversized pages filled with amazing artwork is not littered by alot of narrative explanations of his work, it simply speaks for itself. It's brilliant in every way. The book boasts hundreds of covers and dozens of character studies that really does come from a different place than we've been used to.

Most people are accustomed to all of his majestic, almost god-like depections of the DC universe. This book seems to come from a deep recess that goes into much darker characters. By doing that, you can really see the array of color use in his work. Ross' range of ability is absolutely stunning in this massive hard cover. If you're a fan of Alex's work, this is a MUST have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
A good artist book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
I am a collector of art books, and Alex Ross quickly became one of my favorite artists more than anything because of his attention to detail! This book is just as good if not better than his DC art collection book "Anthology"! Everytime I start to look at this book, I find it hard to put down, my arm gets a workout from holding it up for long periods of time! You can't help but be taken away from all these spectacular images!
I waited quite a while for this book, I must say it was worth every second to wait, you will not be disapointed with its contence!
A MUST BUY in my collection!!
Luis Sterling Jr.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
Unlike the other two books by Alex Ross, this one focuses on his work with independent publishers. The art is superb, as always, but I do not see very recognizable characters but old and discontinued. However, it is remarkable to see how struggles to revive old series and characters (like The Green Hornet, for example) with a touch and modern depth. This book is a gem for fans of the art of Ross.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2016
Bought this as a Christmas gift for my cousin who's getting into figure/comic sketching. He finds this to be an excellent source.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Dynamite Art of Alex Ross

Great illustrations as well as renewing old characters. With watercolor Alex Ross stands out as one of the all time greats of comic book artists in skill. Plus this thick hard cover version is very reasonably priced with many, many, Super Heroes and heroins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2013
This is a great book, that highlights the art work of Alex Ross, that he completed for Dynamite art, as well as some Marvel issues of the Invaders. This book is gorgeous, and the art work outstanding. For a hardcover book, the price is DYNAMITE!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2016
PERFECT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here