Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 720 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 926 reviews
on July 26, 2016
One of my favorite movies and have watched it several times. The Alaskan scenery in the film is fabulous. Anthony Hopkins is great as always.This time he plays the protagonist, a very wealthy man married to a much younger, beautiful woman who has been unfaithful (naturally) with Alec Baldwin's character. Baldwin, Hopkins, and one other member of their team end up alone together in the Alaskan wilderness after their plane crashes and kills their pilot. Thanks to Hopkins' resourcefulness (his character is simply brilliant) he tells the other two that he can get them back to civilization because he is so brilliant. Nevertheless, the trip back to civilization is thwarted by a huge man-eating Grizzly bear and it becomes a battle of wits between Hopkins and the bear~who is the smarter? Very suspenseful because of man vs. man and men vs. nature!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2013
The bluray is good, a noticeable uptick in audio and video rez from the now ancient DVD, but there are still no extras and this film has an epic production story. Just read Art Linson's book and later film "What Just Happened," to find out the ridiculousness that went on behind the scenes, mostly concerning Baldwin's beard. Apparently from this and his current Viking Capital One ads Baldwin likes beards.

Isn't this film old enough that we can finally get the story without hurt feelings or impacting Baldwin's current gig as corporate whore.

Anyways, I consider The Edge to have temporarily closed the book on wilderness adventure movies. Not a frequently visited genre anymore, and strangely after this movie (it wasnt a hit) because this pretty much covers the philosophical, primal struggle of man in the wilderness. Not much left to cover on the subject. Top notch writing from Mamet with near every other line quotable, career peak acting from Hopkins and Baldwin (before he switched into permanent Jack Donaghey mode), Jerry Goldsmith's chilling response to John Williams' Jaws score and Tamahori's absolute best directing effort of his spotty career.

If you haven't seen The Edge because it always looked like two dudes in a Hemmingway impression fight to the death, than you have been missing a great film. Instead of watching the latest slog of bloated budget awfulness, give this not too old survival flick a chance, they don't get much better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
This film is one of my favorite Anthony Hopkins pictures. He plays billionaire Charles Morse who is taking a trip to Alaska with his beautiful and much younger wife along with his friend and fashion photographer Robert "Bob" Green played by Alec Baldwin.

The trip goes awry of course, but this is no ordinary action adventure. The characters are much richer and deeper and the relationship between Charles and Bob has many layers which are removed in beautiful fashion as the story moves toward its climax.

Definitely a film that will make you think as well as marvel at the cinematic beauty and harshness of the Alaskan wilderness.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
A story of revenge, love, jealousy and survival of rich versus wanna be rich. Baldwin's best could have been Glen Gary Glen Ross while Hopkins was 'Silence of the Lambs'' or ''Legends of the Fall..

Not a spoiler- A young man jealous of old WEALTHY man who has very young wife while on wild far-from-people adventure that goes bad and the struggle that is shared.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Great Movie!! Hopkins and Baldwin are excellent and Bart the bear is magnificent! Some of the most amazing scenery on Earth! I saw this in a theater when it first came out and sat through it twice! I had my own copy but it disappeared so I bought this one! LOVE IT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
One of my all time favorite movies starring Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin. Their performance, the Alaskan scenery, the plot, the intelligence of the actors and their dialogue, the light and dark of a human soul ... it is a must see movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
I have watched this movie twice and enjoyed it both times. I didn't remember it right away because it is a very quiet piece and not one of Anthony' Hopkins blockbusters. I liked it because it was such a diverse demonstration of the man who played Hannibal Lecture. I watched I kept looking for something that would remind me that he had the kind of capacity to be a serial killer. I failed. There was no way to see that man in this movie. What I did see was an accomplished actor who can command any role and bring it to life. This movie is well worth the time. The performance of Alec Baldwin should be noted as outstanding. He was second string but you would not have had a great movie without his performance. It was a guessing game all the way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2015
Great movie. Would have been excellent if they had left out the swearing. Bart the bear was in this movie. Bart died at 23 years old from cancer.
What a gentle giant. If I had poked my dogs the way they poked this bear my dogs would have bite me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2012
This was my first Blu-Ray purchase, because I was so tired of watching the old non-anamorphic DVD. The improvement in A/V quality is dramatic here, and a movie like "The Edge" deserves support for its crisp scenery and stunning landscapes. While it's a shame that no extras could be created for this Blu-Ray, I'm content just to finally view a quality presentation of it. Having seen the movie originally in theaters, it reproduced the experience quite well.

Oh, and obviously the movie itself is top-notch. Good, escapist entertainment and strong performances.
And, of course, a giant, man-killing bear.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
One of the best actors of his time, Hopkins impersonates to a tee a know-it-all who will have to use all his knowledge and brain power to confront a one in a million chances survival situation. Sure the story could have been more realistic. As a movie though, this tale remains riveting enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here