Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now toystl17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
VINE VOICEon September 24, 2016
This was a thought provoking movie.

It is multidimensional. It examines the friendship and love between two ladies and their respective husbands. It looks at the effects of the World War on British Society. It deeply sups the well of the conflict between literature and art and practice and conflict.

This is a movie that you could watch time and time again and get new insights in every viewing.

At first, I thought that it was a story about the poet who was selected to aid the British war effort by writing poetry. He came off as a not so nice guy, and you were kind of expecting that during the film he would grow and change and become a better person.

*beware spoilers follow*

OK, that was not the case.

Why not?

Because, he is not the main character or the main point in the film.

The two ladies, his wife and his paramour, are the main characters. Their relationship is critical to the film, and both of them do grow.

Some so called "chick flicks" are really romances that anyone can enjoy.

This is a chick flick, because many men will have a hard time relating to the male characters. The strong characters are really the ladies.

The men are foils to make the excellent points in the film.

(Both of the main ones are really jerks by the way. Still, their women stick with them to the end.)

All in all, a very thoughtful romp.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2016
From the moment I saw Keira Knightley impeccably coiffed and lipsticked, I knew we were in for yet another period piece where not a hair--or an emotion--falls out of place. This is a good escape movie when you want to look at pretty scenery and people. But the sum does not add up to its parts. The "menage a trois" is not much of a menage. The relationships are comprised of making arch comments while smoking cigarets and wearing hats. Neither the women's friendship nor the "triangle" are passionate or deep enough to earn any of the angst that follows. Matthew Rhys is a fine actor but he lacks the screen presence to go up against the mesmerizing Cillian Murphy. It was hard to believe that Keira's character would be torn between a drunken brute of middling charisma and this sweet, impossibly beautiful soldier. Perhaps the problem wasn't with the actors, but because the script never gave me a good reason to believe why Kiera's character was passionate about Thomas in the first place. These are all good actors--Sienna was especially good, and Rhys was a convincing Dylan Thomas. But ho hum---why do I care about these shallow, self-absorbed people and their privileged problems? The exception to this was Murphy's soldier. He is always a level above even the best actors, and he always manages to break your heart. (In "Inception," he had the least amount of screen time, but his scene is the one that made everyone cry.) He gives this movie what little heart it has, and for his performance alone, I give it four stars. It's enjoyable for what it is--a nice escape on a rainy afternoon into another time and place, where the people are pretty. But it's not as great as it could have been.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 4, 2010
In this somewhat sleeper drama of 2008 starring Keira Knightley, Matthew Rhys, and Sienna Miller, The Edge of Love depicts the friendship of legendary poet Dylan Thomas between his teenage sweetheart and lounge singer Vera Phillips (Knightley) and wife Caitlin MacNamara (Miller). The film takes place in England and off the coast of Wales during World War II and shows the damaging effects of war on the fragile and sensitive, especially for those within the frontlines, Vera's husband William Killick (Cillian Murphy) and those waiting in the wings at home.

The movie centers on several themes, war, love, romance, and friendship that weaves elements of Thomas's life into a ball of fiction and nonfiction that is based on the book by David N. Thomas Dylan Thomas: A Farm, Two Mansions and a Bungalow that shows how the presumed long passed emotions between Vera and Dylan never quite went away and would eventually affect Dylan's marriage to Caitlin. Director John Maybury does an extremely exceptional job when presenting this aspect of Thomas's life and the vicious love triangle and the downward spiral that arises between the characters. Indeed, those scenes as well as one of the interesting parts of the film between Vera and Caitlin that show an inkling of a friendship that almost blooms but leads to misunderstandings, betrayal, and the eventual truth behind Thomas's carousing, emphasize the complexities of the life he lived.

The Edge of Love may appeal to Knightley fans and viewers who enjoy a period piece. Although the film starts slow in the beginning, it gradually builds by the conclusion with its subtle ironic ending.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
I did enjoy this movie very much, however it gets a bit tedious. The story is interesting, as nothing involving Dylan Thomas was ever dull! Matthew Rhys does a terrific job as Dylan and portrays a man extremely selfish and forever drinking. Keira always does a wonderful job in her portrayals, and I'd never seen Sienna Miller before in any part and she does one heck of a job playing a role that showed just how much Dylan's wife had to deal with. Thank God for his writings, however Dylan's self-love (or self-hate) pulled many down around him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2012
I found it pleasantly surprising that Vera's faithfulness to her husband William, stood strong in many parts; much more than any woman nowadays can endure. She also cared for Kaitlin enough not to let her feelings get in the way of friendship. Sadly, there's always that ONE time in which everything turns blurry, and you let your senses over power your beliefs.

The movie is missing a star, due to not making many things clear. Including the infidelity of both Kaitlin and Dylan at first. I was under the impression they were relaxed, outgoing and open minded people who were sadly poor. If you are not familiar with the real life characters, the fact that there are infidelities going on in the movie just flies inadvertently until you actually see them having sex (very artistically not loud at all).

I think the director took it for granted that viewers would be familiar with the life stories of Caitlin Macnamara and Dylan Thomas, so certain things might appear confusing at first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
Such a promising movie and definitely pulled me in but the directors tendency to add artsy moments took away. He threw everything in this. Maybe its just his style but it pulled me out ocassionally for those odd moments. BUT all of the actors deliver in their roles so I'm willing to overlook Maybury's quirks. The Thomas and Killick families didn't have a problem with the film so there may be more truth than fiction to this dramatization of Dylan Thomas's life. It certainly had me looking up his biography, which can never be a bad thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
Excellent movie.... Like readind a novel....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
This director has done a brilliant job of creating a movie from these historical events. I love each and every main character's portrayal by each of the actors, and when I researched their story, I found that the grandchildren of these people were appreciative of the movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
This was a really great movie though I thought it was going to be a little bit different. I just love Keira Knightley and Cillian Murphy and their performances were just amazing! This was a stunning movie even though I'm not the biggest fan of the old clips/portions they had in there, but that didn't even matter with the superb acting by everyone involved. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good drama and/or romance. (P.S. Tears MAY ensue, so get some tissues ready just in case)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
I'm not usually a big fan of Kiera Knightly but this was a good movie that had me stuck from start to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.99

Need customer service? Click here