Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Big & Rich GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 98 reviews
on September 25, 2016
This is a book about the foundation blocks of a brilliant trader's intellect, temperament, and skill.

I am amused by some of the negative reviews which complain that Niederhoffer presents none of his trading methods when he clearly states that he would never reveal his secrets, and he advises those looking for get rich quick scheme to venture elsewhere.

The book is long, and yes, there are portions to be skimmed. But the writing is outstanding and if it were a fiction book, it would be just as enjoyable.

Niederhoffer learned from his grandfather and father about risk and the value of humanity and fairness. He was schooled on gambling and athletics in Brighton Beach. His squash career and musical interests are just as relevant to his trading as his heart-pounding escapes from the movement of numbers flashing on a screen. The stakes are high, and few of us could stomach watching 50% of our net worth vanish in seconds.

Niederhoffer admits his failings as readily as his successes, and his self-deprecating style is a refreshing change from Soros' writings which can be cold and arrogant (although I highly recommend his Alchemy of Finance). Niederhoffer is clearly a charming character whom the reader grows to admire.

I found the chapter on pari-mutuel wagering worth the read alone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2016
What a life he has lived thus far, I've enjoyed reading the book and he has a lot "life-experiences" thatI have learned from. He has a great way of really keeping you wanting to read page after page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
This book was delivered on time and in good condition. While I have found this book to be informative and insightful, it is a hard read. I am often left pondering why the author thought a story was relevant to trading. As a trader, we all try to find an edge but, i asked several times while reading this book, Is this guy just a gambler that came to the markets to ply his trade.

It seem he is destined to achieve head on a speculators fate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2014
As an investor/speculator it is exciting to look into another's life and see their methods. Some are sound and some seem superstitious but that is the ways of many major players. Victor is just one of many. A good read for anyone in the business
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Great Book! Tells YOU what to NOT DO! He NEVER heard of "TRAILING STOPS"! Or Wouldn'tve GONE BROKE! Ha!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
Loved this book, Niederdoffer walks you through the market with deep insight and wizardry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2001
This book is not about speculating at all. It is about how Victor plays checkers with a 90 year old, how to play squash, handball, tennis etc... Then if he wasn't talking about games he was talking about Brighton Beach, NY then about Artie (his dad). I am sure his dad was a great guy but I don't want to read about how his mother and father met and got married. Then every once in a while he will throw in something about the markets and some study that he has done. The studies and the text after them are really good if he would have stuck to that topic it would be a decent book.
Also it is very hard to read. In one paragrah he would be talking about his uncle Howie's strategy in handball and then burst right into speculating the next paragraph without really even trying to connect the two. When he does talk about trading he does talk about his losses which most authors don't and I found that refreshing. Overall though don't waste your money on this book. There are tons of other books much better about the markets and personal stories about speculating.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
The anecdotes are good and there are some good life lessons. I don't agree with his ideas about investing, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2015
Amazing book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2007
There are some weak chapters (checkers and music for me) but overall Niederhoffer gives an honest voice to what being a "trader" is really like, and especially from the buy-side perspective. The most refreshing aspect is that he disabuses folks of how glamorous the life is. I resisted reading this book for years, and now regret it. While wordy and at times brutally personal, it is quite real in a way that no other book on hedge fund and trading life has ever really captured. Strongly reccomended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse