Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 58 reviews
on August 11, 2017
In the manner for which Neil Postman is so well known and loved, this book outlines the impact of social / media practices on our understandings of School and Education.
This is an important read for anyone involved in education -- K-12 or higher ed -- in the 21st century, and particularly for those of us struggling to advance the warrant for the importance of humanities education.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2013
Read the first few chapters and had to take a break - to contemplate on my own personal experiences through school both in Europe and in the US.
These are the authors and books that are worth reading - the once that make you think, the once that provoke you to question the status quo.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2017
As espected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2011
This is a very insightful read to the problems in Education today. This should be a required read for all new teachers and a good round table read for struggling school sytems. Do not be offended by Mr. Postman's use of the word god or think he is trying to inject religon, just read with an open mind about the concepts he is writing about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
The opening chapter is worth the cost of the book. Postman saw very clearly the foundational issues that plague our modern schools.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
Great service and great product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2014
Uggh... professor made us read this. Turns out I loved it. It is part of my permanent reference library.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2007
And I don't say that lightly. Postman is able to discern and illuminate why schools are failing, or perhaps more to the point, why our society has failed our schools, and has done so with such a unique perspective that my worldview has been forever changed. Read it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
A must have for all educators!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse