Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New album by Luke Bryan PCB for Musical Instruments $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno



This was purchased for a college music appreciation course. It contains not just information about composers through the ages but also the genre of their music, how the music developed, the cultural influences that affected their music and how to recognize the different types of music. This is best used with the companion The Norton Recordings: 8 CDs to accompany the Norton Scores & The Enjoyment of Music. This will continue to be my source for music information in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2012
'The Enjoyment of Music' was actually enjoyable to read, for being a textbook! It discusses music from the Middle Ages to the present. For each song that the chapter covers, it contains a listening guide. The listening guides include some tips on what to listen for, what instruments are playing, the English translations for lyrics in foreign languages, and some other stuff for the music lover. It also has biographical notes on composers and historical notes on the time periods. The only thing I wish this book covered a little more thoroughly was the definitions of their words.
44 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2016
Exactly what I needed for class and cheaper than the school book store.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 20, 2016
I bought this to use for my intro to music class at a price I almost couldn't believe, and it came in great condition. It's also really good as a textbook too. Whether you're looking to major in music, or you're just interested in this class for a few extra credits, the text is very easy to understand and it reads in a way that's not overly academic or boring. However, definitely buy from here instead of wasting your hard-earned money at the campus bookstore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2013
This was purchased for a college music appreciation course. It contains not just information about composers through the ages but also the genre of their music, how the music developed, the cultural influences that affected their music and how to recognize the different types of music. This is best used with the companion The Norton Recordings: 8 CDs to accompany the Norton Scores & The Enjoyment of Music. This will continue to be my source for music information in the future.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2017
Exactly what was needed for the class at fraction of a price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 10, 2012
A few days ago I received a used textbook with NO CD_ROM. This order was for a new, unopened CD-ROM. For some reason, the "package" of both book and CD is not available anywhere except the publisher's website. You have to purchase the CD-ROM and textbook separately. Despite the mistake--and they do just happen--customer service from this seller was excellent. They did have a copy of the CD ROM that I ordered and their representative contacted me immediately to offer an exchange,they also sent a prepaid mailing label so I would not incur further shipping charges. This is actually the first mix up I've ever had with amazon and the savings on new textbooks are significant. I always try to order texts far enough in advance in case anything goes wrong, and this time it paid off. Happy shopping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 28, 2013
This purchase was to come with a DVD/CD listening guide as advertised. I ONLY received the text. Not happy considering what I paid for it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2014
No CDs with book and those were absolutely necessary for the class- so I had to buy a new book at the school. I gave this to a visually impaired friend that bought thee book and couldn't use it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse