Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Luke Bryan Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 29, 2016
Other reviewers don't understand evidenced-based entrepreneurship. It is the new way to build a business that doubles a person's chance for success. At its core is the customer development (CD) method developed by Steve Blank out of Silicon Valley. Trouble is CD is not easy to grasp, and this one book helps tremendously. All depends on finding the right prospect and interviewing them correctly. Cooper's book does that well. His Chapter 8, "8 Steps to Customer Discovery", is gold. How to find prospects, how to reach out (interview) prospects, and the problem solving fit. Don't be critical o such a valuable book to lean startup followers. Clinton E. Day, MBA, entrepreneurship professor/author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 31, 2016
I recommend this book to my students and to clients. It's a fast read and a great compilation of information from multiple sources in a single condensed volume. I read it in an afternoon.

It covers some of the essential principals of target market identification, of bridging the gap between early adopters and primary audiences and some of the key elements involved in getting market traction — particularly for a startup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2016
What I like about this book is Brant Cooper's prescriptive approach to "getting you out of the building" and interacting with potential customers in ways that help you shape your product and eventually sell it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2015
Like anything, being an entrepreneur is a solitary journey. As a successful entrepreneur, I found many of the steps over explained and too simple for someone already in the field, but I would recommend it to people who are starting out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2012
This book is very straightforward (and short) when it comes to explaining Steve's book so it does exactly what it sets out to do.

I read that some people are annoyed with the 'tweets' throughout the book - To me it helped emphasis what was important.

The graphics are hard to read on a kindle but when I approached the writer (Patrick Vlaskovits) I got a pdf of the book on the same day which was very nice of him.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 19, 2017
Abbreviated by design but great insights into thinking about your startup and the critical ingredients necessary to have the best chance at success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 2, 2014
Loved how condensed and to the point it was. I am generally too busy to sit down and read so I normally just listen to audiobooks
while driving however this didn't take very long at all, which was great.

Really helped me put 'Four Steps to the Epiphany' and 'Running Lean' into context and understand how they all overlap
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2014
This is one of those thing you haven't thought if before but that once you know them you can't buy go "it is so obvious..." Wether you're building a startup or have a consolidated but stagnant business you need to read this, and then get out of the building.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 24, 2013
This book shows that it is bundled with a coupon for their new book. NOPE - that is only for purchases from their website.

As for the content - I think you should just by the original "The Four Steps to the Epiphany: Successful Strategies for Products that Win"
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2010
I wanted Blank's book but needed a digital edition. This is a great intro with very specific actionable items. If you're looking for fluff or tales of VC derring do then look elsewhere. If you want real advice and a proper plan then this is your book. Grab this now, read every post on Steve Blank's blog, and GET OUT OF THE BUILDING!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse