Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Evolution Deceit
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Ingrid Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
41
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 23, 2004
This is an interesting book for a number of reasons. I try my best in all my reading to cover all sides. I have read the "evolutionist" doctrine from one side. I have also read the "creationist" doctrine from the other. The author has obviously read about paleoanthropology, and has provided a clear and concise viewpoint. However, from the very beginning, as an explanation of that viewpoint, the author has decided what works for him and what doesn't.
There is much contentious evidence in the science. Paleoanthropologists will all agree with this. There is also a huge amount of consistent evidence. However, the author has written what amounts to an "encyclopedia of the contentious evidence in evolution". The bulk of significant and objective data has been ignored to prove a point. And although he tends not to state it to much, his viewpoint is purely one of religion.
I agree with some of what this book says. Many arguments thrown forward by paleoanthropology (and other sciences for that matter) have often not been as solid as the science would require for more credibility. However, the science itself does recognize this and is being far more self-critical than it has ever been. This is not to say that paleoanthropologists are becoming creationists. It merely says that they realize now that this is a far deeper conundrum than they previously thought. They are humble enough, at least, to question the doctrine that has been put before them by their predecessors. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the creationists
The problem so often with religions institutions is that it believes the sciences it wants to (i.e.. The ones that support what the religion agrees with), but discounts any that it simply does not like. However, the basis is purely one of choice. There is never reasoning as to whether a science is "good" or bad". Though a casual observer can easily guess whether a science would be considered "good" or "bad", simply by deducing whether that science disagrees with religions claims. If it does, it is "bad". This, however, is not thought and reasoned by the followers of the religion, but is told to them by a hierarchy.
There is certainly a great argument to say that life was created. The seed of life on this planet cannot be explained at this point. It is quite possible that it was created. Whatever was capable of creating the beauty and endurance of nature and the almost perfect plan by which it endures is worthy of a great deal of respect and note. However, it is only the arrogance of people that they cannot accept that we are only a part of that larger process of diversity. We are not a culmination of anything at all, but a step in the greater plan of nature to provide possibilities for development
SUMMARY
1) The author criticizes paleoanthropology for being subjective and yet selling itself as real. However, his own argument is weak for the same reasons.
2) Everyone has the right to believe what they wish. To try to educate fairly and objectively is a task for us all. However, to hard-sell criticism (of evolutionism or creationism) to meet the aims of yourself and those that already agree with you is not fair. At the point we stand now, evolutionists are striving to consolidate the evidence they have into consistent theories. Sadly, the same cannot be said for religious institutions.
3) Latin names are not created so that they sound official. It's called "binomial nomenclature".
4) Decide for yourselves.
22 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2006
I referenced Harun Yahya whilst reading Niall Shanks superbly erudite book 'God, the Devil and Darwin: A Crique of Intelligent Design Theory' Oxford 2004. While it is hard to credit deception on the scale that is evidenced in Haru Yahya's Evolution Deceit: The Scientific Collapse of Darwinism - even self deception - the theme is one that will resonate with creationists and other Christian extremists in the United States. That is, religion is never to be assessed in terms of objective consequences, and secularism [Darwinism in the context of science education] is the root of all evil. Niall Shanks further notes: In the hands of Islamic creationists anti-Darwinism involves more than a rejection of secular biological science. It involves a rejection of secular politics and the secular society that supports it. This last point is supported by an examination of the writings of Islamic creation scientists such as Harun Yahya. Yahya is quite explicit about the alleged connection between Darwinism and secular ideologies as diverse as facism and communism. In his book Evolution Deceit: The Scientific Collapse of Darwinism and its Ideological Background, in addition to parroting many fallacious claims about science that appear to descend with little modification from ICR [Institute for Creation Research] positions, he argues in curious ecumenical tones that darwinism is at the root of religios terrorism, be it done in the name of Christianilty, Islam or Judism [pp 10]. In summary I recommend Niall Shanks inciteful and rational scientific discussion in 'God, the Devil and Darwin: A Crique of Intelligent Design Theory', as an inciteful voice in an arena that is fraught with with absurdities and redolent with Creationist ignorance and regressive arguments such as outlined in Yahya's Evolution Deceit: The Scientific Collapse of Darwinism.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2011
In this anti-evolution book, the Muslim "intellectual" Harun Yahya rewrites many of the same arguments that he makes in his other books such as Darwinism Refuted and Atlas of Creation: Volume 1.. Though this particular book can be encouraging to a Creationist, particularly to Old Earth Creationists, even a layperson with an interest will be able to pick apart "The Evolution Deceit," as well as any other Creationist book written by this same author, rather easily.

Like most Creationists, Harun Yahya links Evolution to Atheism. On page 38, he shows a picture of Richard Dawkins with children; there is a subtitle underneath which says that he is "busy propagating evolution." This is the same old common tactic which completely overlooks that there are Theists (such as myself) who accept Evolution as fact. The association made with Karl Marx (page 28) is no better, committing the fallacy of guilt by association. The fact that Dawkins and Marx (two men I do not care for) were believed in Darwin's theory does not discredit it. Evolution should stand or fall on it's own merits.

Pretty early on in the book, the author mocks the "Punctuated Equilibrium" as an ad hoc theory to simply explain why there are no transitional fossils (pages 46-49). Yet later on, he cites "genetic homeostasis" as a barrier to evolutionary change (page 166). The irony here is that "genetic homeostasis" is an important mechanism for the "punctuated equilibrium." So he mocks the overall theory as untenable, and yet he cites the very same theory as evidence in his favor when it suits him. -- As further explanation, genetic homeostasis does not prohibit evolutionary change. It is the result of when a certain species becomes so widespread with unselevtive breeding that change that it then becomes resistant to change. That can explain why a species seems static in the fossil record for so long before a newer species replaces it.

Like a typical Creationist book, it contains an attack on the very concept that genetic mutation is a viable mechanism for evolution. The common claims are that there are no useful mutations observed, that all mutations are harmful, and that mutations do not add information; all of these are demonstrably false. A useful mutation is the CCR5-Delta-32 which causes resistance to the HIV virus. Also lactose tolerance is a useful mutation. As for when a mutation is harmful or not, it has to be pointed out that there will likely almost always be a downside, but evolutionary theory is not about escaping from all negativity. Whether a mutation is harmful or not can simply be determined by the environment or the trait that it enhances.

One of Harun Yahya's favorite arguments seems to be that of "living fossils," that is that there are animals of today that are identical to some on the fossil record today. This is based on a misunderstanding of how evolution works. Evolution does not predict that all species must absolutely change. If a species has found it's niche, then that can allow it to continue without much or any change.

There are much more distortions of Evolutionary theory in this book, but the given examples are enough to show how untrustworthy it is. The only thing I can say in Harun Yahya's favor is that at least he is not a Young Earth Creationist. I would recommend the book Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why It Matters by Donald R. Prothero
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2016
I like this book so much, specially the pages after the warning page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
Well written one sided study of evolution; a denial of what Nature teaches us!
A book for true believers only
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2007
While any person of critical thought will most likely see this book as another attempt to keep humanity from challenging outdated mythologies, the fact is that we live in a world full of humans who refuse to think for themselves and would seemingly much rather base their decisions on the idea that everything we see was snapped into existance by a god. While this appears harmless on the surface, it is in fact one of the most repressive forms of control over the progress of humankind. To perpetuate the brainwashing of the weak-minded is a crime, in my opinion (I was raised in a christian fundamentalist home), that needs to be confronted direct and confident reaction. I certainly don't claim that everything we think we know about evolution is 'right'(or that there is no god. Who can know!?!), but I can say that people like this author (and his followers) use faith to justify muddying the waters of learning with these ridiculous pontifications on creationism and expect us to take it seriously. Hate to break it to you, believers, but people believed in zeus, odin, and the white buffalo just as strongly as you believe in you god. I guess you are right and they were wrong? I encourage folks to read this book as it's a great example of just how screwed up the human thought process can be. Free your mind, ya sheep!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2003
this book canot be taken seriously. It's references are very selective, the author misrepresents a lot of evolutionary theory, he hasn;t realy updated his evolutionary theory since 1980s. Baseless crap really. Full of "slogan" words.
To read for a light nobrainer this is your book. But it screams propaganda to me, which is a shame because I was looking for a book that would give me an Islamic point of view against evolution but this is definetly NOT it. Karen Armstrong with her History of God book is WAY ahead of this guy's blanket bias.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2001
Yahya has done an excellent job of surveying the various arguments against evolution and for creation. He presents all of his arguments from the viewpoint of Islam, but the same arguments might be presented from the viewpoint of Christianity. The last few chapters of Yahya's book gets off track and does not present scientific issues addressing evolution. However, the information presented in the other chapters of his book is very helpful for those who desire to examine the various issues surrounding the subject of creation science and origins discussed scientifically.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2001
I am a medical scientist and have both M.D., and Ph.D. degrees. I have been indoctrinated into evolution dogma and never doubted it. I always reasoned that evolution is created by God and it was one of the God's plans. After reading "Evolution Deceit", I have been thinking and thinking and beginning to see holes, holes the size of the Grand Canyons in the evolution theory. I am still not certain that my original concept that God has engineered the evolution is still invalid, but certainly it has puzzled me and I am reevaluating my ideas.
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here