BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Russell Dickerson $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

The Faculty
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 29, 2017
Loved this movie way back when it came out. Great '90s teen horror. This movie is funny, creepy, gross, and SO good! The acting is excellent, the music is awesome, and the plot is fun and exciting. AND it's directed by Robert Rodriguez!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
This movie came out along with a very similar movie by the title Disturbing Behavior. This was the far better movie, both commercially and critically. The Faculty is highly derivative of the 50's "Red Scare" movies, particularly Invasion of the Body Snatchers. It also borrows very heavily--particularly in creature effects--from John Carpenter's The Thing. Nevertheless, it does so more so as an homage, and it in no way feels cheap or a rip off. From this standpoint it does rip off Wes Craven's Scream, with characters directly referencing horror movies as a way to understand the problems they are facing in their own movie. Nonetheless, the movie is great fun and a pretty good horror movie.

The Blu-ray treatment is quite good. My main complaint is that there is definitely some digital enhancement going on here, particularly with edge enhancement. It never completely oversteps its bounds, but it is definitely there. Otherwise the picture looks very strong on all fronts. The audio has the original theatrical Dolby and DTS tracks, as well as a stereo downmix for headphone wearers. The extras are mostly fluff. All in all, fans of the movie will really enjoy this Blu-ray. It is a very solid disc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
This is still a well made, acted, and filmed movie. It was a uniquely different film in its own time and still brings it today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2016
Love this. I've watched it a few times, and I like it more each time. It's scary and fun and light-hearted all at the same time. If you're looking for a fun movie to watch, then this is it. It's got a surprising number of well-known actors, including Clea Duval (Girl, Interrupted) and Josh Hartnett, along with Elijah Wood and the estimable Piper Laurie. Plus others...including Jon Stewart.

It has staying power, even once you know who the bad guy is. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
Movie is still great but the title screen stuff is really cheaply done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2016
This movie is awesomely '90s but still good. It's amazing how many actors became stars after this and it has a fairly solid plot, which makes for a nice change in a horror movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2004
Look, for my money... this is both Williamson's coolest script and Rodriguez's coolest flick. (Scratch -- now it's "Sin City", mod. 4/2/05.) I say that because sitting through this precocious rehash of "Puppet Masters" and "The Breakfast Club" (along with a little bit of "The Thing") is an absolute breeze. Though not without its share of suspense-dread and red-herring scares, the movie ably demonstrates the social symptoms of overall teenage distrust through a handful of characters that should be one-note yet inject a uniquely disparate perspective of the goings-on. Those goings-on are too familiar to us by now: a parasitic alien infects leagues of human hosts with the simplicity of an airborn virus and essentially renders individuals into becoming somewhat 'optimal' zombies. Alright, if aliens chose to overpower the Earth through brain manipulation, why choose Ohio to start? Because... who the hell ever thinks about Ohio, the same ill-fated state as "Heathers"? Where this movie excels is Williamson taking the pop culture UFO phenomenon (through movies and literature) and ingesting it with the posit that, instead of attempting to be secret leaks about such subject matter, they are actually devised to divert our attention away from the seriousness of it when it actually does happen. (Much the same way Williamson approaches his post-mod horror projects.) Drawn from legitimate personal experience, though dismissed as pulp fare or daydream fantasy by anyone else. Yeah, sure, it's ludicrous, yet the possibility is undeniably intriguing. So Rodriguez comes in and smoothly milks this angle, and aptly, I might add. I always think his better films are those he does not write himself (but that still won't stop him from being the cameraman, re-recording mixer, co-producer, editor and director on this movie) and "The Faculty" is a case in point. His hyperbolic style fits right in with this type of writing, and Williamson delivers his slickest dialogue yet (see review title). One more thing (and let me know if I'm crazy, here): this has got to be one of the most violent high schools depicted on film, and of course it's only violent while the students are still human. (Although, Stokely does endure some harsh blows during the aliens' siege.) I understand it ain't gonna make the AFI 100, nor be regarded as seminal viewing by 'Cahiers du Cinema.' But it's dependable. Whether you want some laughs, some scares, some mental repairs, this is one that you won't have to feel guilty about reaching for.
P.S. Keep an eye on the ongoing undercurrent about methamphetamine.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2016
This was a nostalgia fest of late 90s teen movies. I loved the mix of practical effects and early cgi. It's breakfast club meets invasion of the body snatchers. Can these teens keep it in their pants long enough to survive. It's not a great movie but I laughed a lot. Mostly about what life was like before smart phones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2016
Started watching and didn't think I'd like it, but it's good. I couldn't figure out how it would end. Surprised to see Jon Stewart and Salma Hayek in it. My only complaint is it has no closed captions and the sound track is one of those where it's either way too loud or so low that you can't hear the dialogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2016
Great scifi in the best tradition of teen angst driven horror. Transformations occurring way beyond pimples, friends turning into enemies and other things. Good fun, good acting, good Friday afternoon fare, but then...I love scifi

Good acting job by the lord of the rings elfen dude, Shmendrick of the shire, was that his name?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse